BMW M3 (2010 and older) Sports

M3 (2010 and older)

The M3 is a 2- or 4-door, up to 5-passenger luxury sports coupe, convertible sports car, or luxury sports sedan, available in 3 trims, the Sedan, the Coupe, and the Convertible.

The Sedan is equipped with a standard 4.0-liter, V8, 414-horsepower engine that achieves 14-mpg in the city and 20-mpg on the highway. The Convertible is equipped with a standard 4.0-liter, V8, 414-horsepower engine that achieves 13-mpg in the city and 20-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (111)

Showing 1-10 of 111  
Andrew Miles   [Jul 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: BMW M3 E92 2 DR Coupe
Strength:

Balance - Balance - Balance. The E92 M3 is not a drag strip car, but the 50/50 distribution and steady pull all the way through its 8400 rpm range make it hard to beat. This car is fast against other production competitors and is very predictable and forgiving at high speeds. I have lapped with a Nissan GTR, and while I lagged behind post track-out through the straights, the back field turns allowed the M3 to fill the mirrors of the GTR every time. This car would work wonderfully with a novice or experienced club driver. Multiple selections of power and suspension combinations can be custom set and implemented with the "M Dynamic" button on the steering wheel. Traction control can be utilized while maximizing power, ride stiffening, and body roll reduction for higher speeds. Oh - and it drives around town like BMW should.

Weakness:

Interior is maybe a little too "cushy". Tends to suffer from a rather significant "understeer", or "push" as delivered on the manufacturer provided Run Flat tires. Lose the factory rubber and add a couple of minor suspension modifications to make this car a threat on the track.

I am an experienced race driver under the Porsche banner, and have owned a couple of Porsche street cars. One of my fellow Carrera enthusiasts suggested I drive a new E92 M3 prior to my purchase of my (almost) 3rd Carrera S in March of 08. I did - I bought - and have not looked back. I have lapped this car at Palm Beach International Raceway to very high speeds nearing 140mph; have driven it (howling) through the 318 turns in 11 miles of the scenic and twisty US 129 in Deal's Gap, Tennessee; and been amazed at the readiness this little V8 will grunt and roar through the paces with sure-footed confidence. After over a year of driving the car as a "Weekend Warrior", I can say for certain that BMW got this E92 version right.

Similar Products Used: Porsche 997 Carrera S, 2005
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
heggea   [Mar 30, 2008]
Model Reviewed: M3 convertible
Strength:

engine, brakes, looks, carbon black (neat color)

Weakness:

Not thrilled with the upgraded Harmon stereo. Audi has them beat here.

One of the most fun to drive cars around. Turn the traction control off and it loves to be driven sideways! It's also the perfect size, the backseat is small but I don't plan on having 4 people in the car very often. I test drove both the SMG and a 6-speed. The SMG is nice but would take some getting used to. I went for the manual 6-speed because its what I'm used to. I had narrowed my search down to a cts-v or an M3 after driving them both the M3 was the clear winner. You won't be disappointed with your decision.

Similar Products Used: Audi A6 4.2
CTS-V
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
iammarkhong   [Nov 13, 2006]
Model Reviewed: BMW M3
Strength:

POWER!!!!
Descent gas mileage.
LOOKs FROM EVERYONE....

Weakness:

Initial price

The greatest car ever built. I have owned many cars in the past, from a honda accords to ford probes, and this car is by far the greatest machine ever built. I bought a 2001 330ci with 225 hp, and loved driving it every minute of it, but my divorce left me with the ex driving the car. So I decided to make the leap into the car i always wanted. Yes, the car was expensive, almost a $20,000 above the 330ci that I had bought, but well worth the price of admission. The car i have has the SMG tranny, and for the most part, it works fantastically, but in times where I am stopped on a hill, the computer searches for a gear to goto, and stalls for a second. I needed some time to get used to it, and it turned out I have to select the gear before the computer would go searching for one. On hindsight, I probably should have gone with the regular manual. With all that said however, the ride is great, handles like on rails, and can easily do over 155mph, so be careful. cruising at 120 sometimes feels like 75, and as you are zooming by troopers, you need to look down at the speedometer to make sure you are not going too fast. I live in New York where the streets can be bumpy, so the ride can be a little harsh sometimes, but as long as you keep the 18" wheels instead of the 19's or the ridiculous 20's that are on mine, you should be ok. I bought new rims but kept the 18" with snow tires for the really bad winter, in snow it gets by. Mileage is great for a car with 333hp, i get a mixed 23mpg, and I am thrilled by that. The original tires lasted 40k miles, so I thought i would upgrade to toyo t1R tires, and in 12k miles, they are completely bald. Stay with the OEM contis. so far no maintenance or repairs to complain about, except the trunk light going out every other day, but I learned just to live without it. GPS nav screen is too bright at night to drive with, so for the most part, it stays off. I just wish the trunk was wider by another three inches to accomodate golf bags better, but it works.
I get a lot of looks while I am driving, with many teenage girls screaming for me, and older guys drooling on the car.
All in all, i am very happy with the car, can't say much for the back seat, since it has been used twice, never by me, but feels roomy enbough for two adults. I have to say that there is not another car I can think of that gets the power, room, looks, handling, gas mileage, and overall driveability as an everyday car than my M3.


Similar Products Used: 2004 Nissan 350z
2001 BMW 330ci
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Charlie Mazoch   [Sep 24, 2006]
Model Reviewed: BMW M3 Convertible
Strength:

Style, Beauty, Tracking, Quickness, Reliability.

Weakness:

Continental Tires

Nice car, strong at midrange, corners great, and still pretty reliable. Experienced some small problems in which BMW service was great and always accomodating. One main problem that really can upset a new owner.

1. Continental tire company should be "SUED" by BMW due to there quality of thier tires, of course getting a response from either party about the life of the tires was like someones rear, so to speak..everybody has one. But know one wants to admit there is a problem with the tires, blamed it on the driver??? Guess you can when a car is labeled "Sports Car". Bought new, the rear tires lasted 9K miles. Being they are $400 each, it is frustrating to drop 8 bills when you paid what you did for QUALITY!, even if you are Bill Gates! I replaced them with MICHELLIN P2's and now have 35K miles on the car....this means I have put 26K on the new tires. Let me help you, 26 - 9 = 17 THOUSAND more miles and have not been changed yet!!!! Buyer beware....Bulletin...DO NOT BUY A BMW M3 WITH CONTINENTAL TIRES! Make them change them out or have them discount the car the amount of the tires..I'm out!

Similar Products Used: Michellin Sport Pilot P2's
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
BrksdeBill   [Jun 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: BMW M3
Strength:

- intoxicating power
- intake sound
- cornering ability
- the 19" wheels
- the size of the car is perfect
- tight body and construction

Weakness:

- tough to shift smoothly
- the leather isn't the best quality
- the ride is a bit firm (I know, I know, it's a sports car!)
- needs rpms to get the power

A fast, fun car. An M3 had been my dream car for probably 8 or 9 years. Money and opportunity finally met and I purchased a carbon black metallic coupe last April. The speed is very good but in a Euro way--in other words, not a lot of torque but stay in the gas and the power picks up as the revs climb. Very different feel to the acceleration than my old Mustang GT (which had tons of torque but ran out of breath at about 4500 rpm). With 19" rims, the M3 looks gorgeous and turns heads. I've driven manuals for many years but must admit that this is the toughest to shift smoothly. And the shifter clunks into gear frequently. The car's cornering ability is waaaaay beyond mine. The biggest problem with this car?--I can't find a safe place to stretch it! (I'm not a track guy.)

Similar Products Used: Mustang GT
Taurus SHO
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
02 m3   [Jan 05, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Coupe 6 Speed
Strength:

Classic BMW looks, speed, handling, comfortable interior, well-made and good looking dash and buttons, decent warranty.

Weakness:

(1) Still can't get used to the tinny exhaust note. (2) I live above the rust-belt, so an M3xi would be perfect for snow! (3) Cosmetics: Stock and aftermarket rims are barely OK looking and a pain to keep clean (M5 rims would look better, but don't fit); Lacks a couple touches of the previous M3 (3 color stripe sewn into seats, Recaro-style seats)

Great, mostly-practical sports car. After 42,000 miles, I think it's finally getting broken in! Originally concerned with some of the querky noises common to this year (maybe worked out in newer models): "thunk" when shifting at slow speeds, slip-disk "thud" in differential when tight or uneven surface cornering. Considering it's a hybrid half race car, half German tank, I'll live with these "flaws." Receives a lot of criticism for its common, 3-series looks. However, the Germans are clever in utilizing economies of scale (i.e., producing one style of dash that fits 500,000 cars vice 5,000 keeps price of final product down). If it bugged someone enough they'd buy the Z8. It truly depends on what you're looking for. I like a very fast, great-handling, manual transmission, 2-door sports car that can fit luggage and two sets of golf clubs.

Similar Products Used: Lexus SC 300, Acura Legend, Acura NSX, Corvette
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
dinomite   [Jul 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: US M3 Coupe
Strength:

Best transmission, short of that in the S2000. Powerful engine with a flat powerband; good down low torque. Visually awesome. Very high quality interior which is very well assembled.

Weakness:

Glove box sags slightly

This car is absolutely beautiful in every way. It is glorious to ride in great comfort, thanks to the stiff chasis and high quality workmanship, and be able to outperform most cars on the road. The handling in this car is second to none; the only comparable cars are the Audi S4 and those made by Porsche and other more expensive manufacturers. Don't take that the wrong way, however. The M3 is in no way less than a Porsche 911 (993 or 996) in handling; Car and Driver rated the M3 the best handling car in America, ahead of the Ferrari 355, Porsche 911, Boxster, Corvette, NSX, Supra and others. It is no exagerration. Though some of those are a little bit faster on a track, the M3 makes very little sacrifice in driver comfort or intuivity for its performance. The M3 is incredibly well composed. When you get into it, you really feel like part of the machine, unlike many other sports cars. The steering, like that on all BMWs, is very direct without being harsh. The feedback that the steering and suspension provide is absolutely perfect, telling you every little piece o fthe road surface without jarring you to pieces. Unlike many other high-end sports cars, the M3 is perfectly suited to go to the grocery store and go around the track. The engine makes enough torque that around-town driving is very easy; it can also take autocrosses in 2nd gear. I take my M3 to the track occasionaly and the only thing I chang is the tire pressure. The M3 is the best deal you can find in a sports car that can be driven every day. My only complaint is that of comparison. In Europe, the M3 came with a more powerful 330hp engine. The US engine is by no means lacking, but man would it be nice to have another 90hp!

Similar Products Used: 1990 Ford Mustang Convertible (lacks the M3's handling and refinement)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
stranM3   [Jun 22, 2004]
Model Reviewed: BMW M3 coupe/smg ll
Strength:

8000rpm redline, 333horspower, quick shifts from the Smg tranny, solid feel, 19inch stock wheels with run-flats, and this car loves freeway ramps!

Weakness:

Brittle ride, neck jerking shifts, not an everyday drive car, tiny side/rear view mirrors, it drinks a lot of gas!

This car takes about a week for you to be comfortable with. Smg II is awesome, provides quick shifts and lets you hold the gear when you are coming out of a corner. I had this car for about 6 months and would not trade it for any other car within this price range. Very fast, dependable, and a lot of people doing double-takes at your car. I've only took this car to 150mph,(racing a Mustang Cobra)and it ran real smooth as if you were only going 110mph, I had total control of the car.

Similar Products Used: 1998 Gs400 (Lexus)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
m3neenja   [Jan 12, 2004]
Model Reviewed: M3
Strength:

Quality of construction, handling characteristics, reasonably powerful engine, BMW's inherent service for their customers.

Weakness:

Lack of the more powerful european engine

The BMW E36 M3 is truly one of the best handling production cars ever made to date. In its stock form the car handles and powers around turns like no other. With the modifications i have made to my own this car can out handle, i dare say, anyone. This includes some porsche and ferrari vehicles. The E36 M3 at its current costs is a steal. This car features handling like that of Ferrari's and many things to make one smile. I love the M3, i think you will too!

Similar Products Used: BMW M5, M Roadster, Corvette C5, Ferrari 360 Modena
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Khris   [Oct 28, 2003]
Model Reviewed: ///M3 coupe
Strength:

Acceleration, Comfort, Looks

Weakness:

Transmission - Hydraulic Pump

Well what can i say? when the car "worked" it was a dream to drive. however, it spent most of it's days in the shop because of Hydraulic Failure from the SMGII. the car would shift into neutral at will. very unreliable and dangerous car.

Similar Products Used: 2000 Pontiac Trans Am WS.6
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 111  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com