Chevrolet Camaro (2010 and older) Sports

Camaro (2010 and older)

The Camaro is a 2-door, 4-passenger sports car, available in 5 trims, ranging from the LS Coupe to the 2SS Coupe.

The LS Coupe is equipped with a standard 3.6-liter, V6, 304-horsepower engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 29-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard, and a 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is optional. The 2SS Coupe is equipped with a standard 6.2-liter, V8, 426-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 24-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard.

The 2010 Camaro is redesigned for 2010.

User Reviews (327)

Showing 1-10 of 327  
D ROGERS   [Dec 16, 2009]
Model Reviewed: CAMARO
Strength:

POWER
COMFORT ONCE IN
LOOKS

Weakness:

TRUNK SPACE TO ENTER

I BOUGHT THE CAR AS A EFFORT TO ENJOY DRIVING AGAIN
THE CAMARO ACCOMPOLISHED THIS WITH NO
PROBLEM

Similar Products Used: ONLY IN THE PAST NOTHING LATELY.
I'VE OWNED CORVETTES AND CAMAROS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jeff   [Dec 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: LT2 Coupe
Strength:

Fun to drive, great styling, alot of features, affordable

Weakness:

Seats take a few weeks to get used to, roofline is low for taller people

Simply an amazing car. The V6 has plenty of power and decent fuel economy, plus it uses 87 octane. The styling is second to none, and the interior is actually very ergonomic and has alot of nice features such as Bluetooth, XM and iPod hookup all controlled via your steering wheel buttons. The interior looks amazing at night with all the cool blue ambient lighting. For around $30k, I feel like it is alot of car, and it feels really solid, well made. I typically buy V8, but this six can move. I upgraded to an aftermarket Corsa exhaust, and the sound is addicting.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Todd   [Feb 07, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Camaro Z28
Strength:

Incredibly powerful for the price, my vehicle has been reliable (perhaps the result of meticulous maintenance since purchase at 20k miles). Aftermarket parts availability. Did I mention the performance?!?!?!

Weakness:

Interior could be better, difficult to enter/exit. Ride can be harsh depending on suspension setup.

This car has the ususal Chevrolet problems--difficult to work on, extensive use of plastic interior, leather of questionable quality. However, one stab of the throttle and you won't care. If you are looking for cheap performance, look no further.

Similar Products Used: Chevrolet Lumina Z34
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
mrgoodwrench   [Dec 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Camaro SS
Strength:

LS-1 Engine, T56 transmission, Brakes alright.

Weakness:

Changing sparkplugs or any other of the numerous things that break suck to repair on these cars more then others. Weak 7.625" rear end, GM must have been smoking crack on that one. Skip shift, Floorpan bump and other passenger compartment features suck. Still has styling white trash is drawn to more so then any other car. These cars are great when they run into a tree or other immovable object, as they make great drivetrain donors for a car that isn't a pile of crap. Sorry, just can't really say anything good when GM has far better cars to offer then this over-rated turd. Avoid like the plague, unless you are buying as a parts car.

Good Acceleration, Styling leaves something to be desired. Classic mullet car features, destined to be on cement blocks infront of a trailer someday, but seriously, the skip shift function is crap, the ergonomics of the interior suck, and the bump on the pass side front seat area is retarted, could have designed exhaust better and eliminated the bump needed for cat. clearance. These cars suck to work on. Hopefully they will all set fire soon so i never have to work on another one again. Driving a 4th Gen F-body is about as fun as recieving a handjob from a lumberjack. Rough, unrewarding, and just leaves you frusterated.

Similar Products Used: GM mechanic, so entire GM line of cars, after driving others i can see why GM discontinued them, hope the new ones in 09 arent as big of turds as the 4th gen f bodys were. Seems like the Mustang is a better car. Thats why the GTO gone also (overpriced piece of crap, but good parts car when it gets smashed up also.) Hopefully GM will remove its head from its ass and finally make a decent, affordable (28k or less) rear drive car that doesn't suffer from the Mullet stigma like the camaro did.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Mike Rosenthal   [Dec 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Camaro Z28
Strength:

Performance. That LT1 is a beast and has a ton of torque. Very fun to drive.

Weakness:

Everything else. This car will run your pockets dry. It's one problem after another. If you're looking for reliability, this is DEFINATELY not the car for you.

I picked this car up in November of 2005. When I test drove it, I LOVED the performance of the LT1. For $4500 I couldn't resist. I drove the car home and that's when the nightmare started. The second I got it home I smelled coolant and noticed the temp. gauge read a bit high. I popped the hood and noticed the radiator was leaking. There goes $350. The next week the ignition switch wires fried and it wouldn't start. That ended up costing $200. The week after the fuel pump went out and left me stranded on my way to work. That was about another $350. Here's the worst one. I drove the car up to NY from FL for christmas vacation. On my way back from NY, the thing started overheating in south carolina and died in FL about 30 minutes from my place. It turned out that the water pump took a crap and leaked coolant onto the distributor which ruined it. That costed me about $650 total. On top of all that, I was changing the oil one day and couldn't find one thing on the car besides the coolant that wasn't leaking. Now the thing is literally falling apart. The suspension and steering feels really loose. The interior is showing age and the plastic parts are getting very weak and brittle and are starting to break and crack. I refuse to drop another dime into repairs for this car so I will drive it until the wheels fall off. So bottom line is DO NOT BUY THIS CAR IF IT HAS OVER OR NEAR 100,000 MILES unless you want trouble. I have 2 friends that own a 2002 Camaro ss and a 1999 WS6 Trans Am both with an LS1 engine. They haven't had any problems with them besides maintenance issues. The performance stock in those 2 cars is amazing. I would definately consider getting an LS1 f-body but i'm waiting to see if my friends start running into issues like I did with the LT1. So far I have heard nothing but good things about the LS1.

Similar Products Used: LS1 F-body
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
blackrussin3   [Aug 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: camaro
Strength:

It goes from a to b.

I say go with the mustang 200 hp stock
the z28 came with 240hp wow sad

Weakness:

The v6 is horribly slow. The interior is made out of plastic. can hardly to anthing performance wise to the engine

And there making it again

I own a 1994 v6 auto camaro with 91,000
this car has 160hp stock. I feel that the v6 should have not been make with the lack of power right now im in the process of removing the engine and trans to put a 97-04 corvette engine in to it.

Similar Products Used: 1998 corvette conv - 2001 porsche boxter conv
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
89iroc   [Aug 07, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Camaro IROC-Z G92
Strength:

Peformance, Looks, Price

Weakness:

Gas Miliage but really thats expected with owning a muscle car

This has been an all around great car. Had to replace Starter, Water Pump. Has 135,000 miles with not one problem with the car mechanically, electrically. The torque is incredible with 345ft/pds. I think the 245hp is underrated, sure feels like it

Similar Products Used: Jeep Grand Cherokee, Acura TL
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dennis   [Jun 13, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Camaro Z28
Strength:

305 HP and insane reliability. Comfortable despite its sportiness. A performance bargain.

Weakness:

Small back seat. Mullethead's dream car. Every teenager with a permit and a loud muffler wants to race me. Requires premium.

8 years and 131,000 miles. No mechanical issues EVER! Very impressive, GM. I had the CD player replaced under warranty, and that was it. The only money I spend on it besides gas is just for maintenance, brakes, tires, belts, batteries, etc. There's not a single spot of any fluid staining my garage floor. Shocking. Still has very few rattles and creaks for all of its hard miles.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CamaroOwner23   [Dec 23, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Chevrolet Camaro
Strength:

- Power for V6 - Acceleration - Attention-Getter (Flowmaster) - Agressive Looks - Mustang/Import Rival

Weakness:

- Not being made anymore :(

I LOVE THIS CAR!!! Even though it has a 3.4L V6, it still kicks ass. It's black with dark tinted windows. I have a Super 40 Flowmaster Exhaust and it sounds like it has an LT1. I can't wait till the NEW Camaro comes out. I'm getting one for sure!

Similar Products Used: 2006 Corvette Z06 (test drove)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
techcowboy   [Sep 09, 2004]
Model Reviewed: V-6 5Speed
Strength:

AWSOME POWER AND QUICKNESS COMING OUT OF THE BLOCKS. Real Rapid Acceleration,from standstill and on the slow cruise mode.

Weakness:

Some front end insecureity at slow cruise.

This car is GREAT! I haven't raced it.I do know that it has awsome power. It had 140,000 mile when I bought it. I have replaced the Air Conditioning system,Clutch,Alternator. It has taken me from Miami to Connecticut and back,Miami to South Carolina and back. My Girlfriend is jealous of my love of my Camaro.It is not as high maineenance as she is. Ha Ha! and Not Temperamental.

Similar Products Used: Mustang 5.0 5-speed
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 327  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com