Chevrolet Corvette (2010 and older) Sports

Corvette (2010 and older)

The Corvette is a 2-door, 2-passenger sports car, or convertible sports car, available in 13 trims, ranging from the Coupe LT1 to the ZR1 3ZR.

The Coupe LT1 is equipped with a standard 6.2-liter, V8, 430-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway. The ZR1 ZR-3 is equipped with a standard 6.2-liter, V8, 638-horsepower, supercharged engine that achieves 14-mpg in the city and 20-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (151)

Showing 1-10 of 151  
Larrythedog   [Mar 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Corvette Z06 LZ2
Strength:

Lots of power, good mileage, reasonable price, great handling, and nice interior. Need I say more!!!

Weakness:

AWD would be nice and ditch the ash tray

I went in to the dealerships with cash in hand to by a sports car. I gave Viper and GTR a chance and came out with a Cyber Grey Z06. LZ2. It is a world class sports car with manners. It amazes me that I get such good gas mileage on a car that can go a 198 mph. This can be a daily driver with ultra performance. The handing and ride are good and the car is comfortable. I can’t say enough about what Chevrolet has done to get the Corvette to this level. My first Corvette was a 1966 427 which I still have, and all I can say is that “You’ve come a long way baby!”

Similar Products Used: Dodge Viper, Nissan GT-R
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ceroge   [Oct 15, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Chevrolet Corvette
Strength:

You can easily beat 355's for sure
Magnificent
Gorgeous sound

Weakness:

No weaknesses

Chevrolet Corvette one of the best sports cars ever made. I had an C5 Vette with several mods such as Granatelli MAF Sensor
Perf Exhaust,Air Filters,BBK Short Tube Headers,Baer Eradispeed Discs,Z06 Kits
Competitive Driving and it was awesome.

Similar Products Used: 02 Mercedes SL 500
01 CLK 200 Kompressor
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AMI KELEN   [Aug 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Corvette hard top
Strength:

model

Weakness:

engine

Very disappointed with the 2004 corvette I bought. The problem I have within the first year: 3 flate tires at one time in first month after purchased; oil leaking; seat belt won't pull;sun visor holder broke and replaced, borke again (gave up);indicater for liquid for waher keep popping up;gas cap won't tighten. Now, the fuel leaking. Did I get the defected corvette? Who can help me?

Similar Products Used: porche
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
AMI KELEN   [Aug 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Corvette hard top
Strength:

model

Weakness:

engine

Very disappointed with the 2004 corvette I bought. The problem I have within the first year: 3 flate tires at one time in first month after purchased; oil leaking; seat belt won't pull;sun visor holder broke and replaced, borke again (gave up);indicater for liquid for waher keep popping up;gas cap won't tighten. Now, the fuel leaking. Did I get the defected corvette? Who can help me?

Similar Products Used: porche
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Glenn   [Mar 08, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Coupe
Strength:

Raw power. The 300 horsepower/340 ft lbs of torque the 92-96 vette has to offer is more than enough to dominate the road. The only cars that can beat the vette, even mine, which is 10 years old, cost a hell of a lot more, and the people driving them are usually not even interested in driving fast. That means you can pull out into fast traffic and onto freeways very easily and pass just about anyone you want. Style- the corvette is an american icon; everyone recognizes it. Women like it. One told me she felt like she was in a spaceship. Handling- whereas my last sports car, an mr2, was twitchy as hell, trying to jump all over the road every time it went over a little bump or crack, the vette is rock steady. It feels very smooth taking curves at high speeds, and the traction control system (which can be turned off) has gotten me out of a few botched maneuvers. Comfort- people complain about getting in and out, but the power leather seats support my neck and back perfectly. Passive keyless entry- the 93-96's all have this, so get a transmitter if you buy one. When you have the fob with you, the car automatically unlocks your doors when you get near, and locks your doors and sounds the horn when you walk away, without you pressing a button. Reliability- I've driven my '95 for about 7,000 miles and I haven't had any mechanical problems. This is only my personal experience, but used corvettes generally have fairly low miles on them anyway, and you've got a massive, simple 5.7l V8 making the power, not some turbocharged 4 banger or v6 with a lot of parts to break.

Weakness:

My electronics have had problems, but the car is 10 years old after all. My passive keyless entry system wasn't working when I bought the car, and the dealership wanted to charge me $750 just for the receiver (I was able to get it much cheaper from a friend). My climate control is finicky, but it's not a big deal because I usually jsut leave it on auto so it turns on the heat or the a/c according to the temperature. I've got my share of squeaks and rattles, which can be irritating. Fuel consumption is expensive; I average about 17 mpg for mostly city and short freeway driving, but I've got a heavy foot. Everyone wants to race: for me this is usually fun, but it can get annoying, and occasionally dangerous. For example, I have had two people, one in a civic, one in a truck, turn off their headlights at night to try to sneak past me in the other lane... pretty stupid. It also gets irritating when you deny some silly car from passing you, and then you have to sty on your toes until you get off the freeway because they will not leave you alone. Tires- this beast just eats up tires, and a sett of 2 255 and 2 285 z rated tires are NOT cheap (mine were $900+)

The corvette is awesome. It's stylish, comfortable, fast, and inexpensive. For the money, you really cannot get anything faster than a corvette, especially a used one. Mine was $13,500 and it only had 48,000 miles on it. That's another thing- used corvettes generally have very low miles on them and have been taken care of by their owners. There seems to be a lot of corvette hatred in some of the revies I've seen on this site. A lot of people reviewing the mr2, 300zx, and similar cars write things like "with just a few mods, you'll be leaving corvettes in the dust." Yeah buddy, you go ahead and buy that scraped up riceburner with 150,000 miles and a dying turbocharger... If you want a two-seater rocket ship for a bargain price, buy a vette.

Similar Products Used: 2003 graand am- not similar at all 1991 mr2- super fun car, could take turns faster, but slow and mine as pretty beat up
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
michaelbasf   [Feb 24, 2005]
Model Reviewed: corvette conv.
Strength:

great looks, very usefull driver info display, comfortable driving position, good power, strong brakes, fun to drive below some ultra high speeds, good in rain, coolness factor, good handling at low-moderate speeds, gas milage

Weakness:

be ready to spend some VERY SERIOUS $$$ for misc. repairs once out of waranty. you will get very familiar with all the x-mass tree warning lights. Very poor build quality and ALL interior materials. The driver seat literally fell apart. Rattles gallore, conv leaks, in repair with 18 different problems in 1 year. Is that ecceptable to you? If so go for it, you will have fun behind the wheel. I can't recomend this car only because of the reliability.

I purchased this car used with about 34k miles on it. A great toy and fun to drive once you get inside. Comfortable on long drives as long as you are behind the wheel and not in the passanger seat. Good driving position, seats leave alot to be desired especially padding but my back never felt any pain even on long trips. I like the high peaks of the hood in the view from inside, I used them as guides for aiming the car. This is a sports car and i used it as such testing it to the limits, here are my observations, both, good and bad. Great control at low speed to moderate speeds, easy to slide and modulate rear end. Power is great all the way up 145mph. Engine gets somewhat trashy at high rpm. Auto tranny is ultra lazy for a sports car to shift up or down, works overtime to downshift and when it finally does it just slams it into lower gear, leaving me wonder how long before the engine/trans mounts snap, although they never did. Brakes are very strong for such a heavy car, although the rotors do warp prematurely. Handling is great but watch out, there is no warning when you hit the limit. Taking turns are either like on rails or shoot its too late the rear is out, and you better react fast with the right imputs. Handling at very high speeds is something that concerns and still puzzles me; crusing with the top down, on the interstate in very early morning hours with zero traffic I brought the car to 145mph with easy I might add, and still pulling strong when something went very wrong. Out of a blue with no warning what so ever the front end went from rock steady to abruptly swaying left to right, back and forth, few feet to the left then few feet to the right at high frequency. Mind you I was holding the steering steady and ultra firm. No,not a good feeling at 145+ mph. It was so severe I had no doubt the rear end was going to give. At this point I had no control of the front end and I wasn't about to try anything manly with the steering wheel to regain it. In a frozen panic I slowly let of the gas, not even thinking of tapping the brakes at this speed. After few looong seconds as the car slowed down to about 130-135mph the front end calmed down as nothing happend. I never quite figured out what did happend. Needless to say, I fully lost my confidence in the Vette at high speeds and sold it shortly after that. Overall fun sports car that had a great initial design and very poor execution. Looking at new C6 I see the tradition follows...

Similar Products Used: 1984 Corvette (much more reliable) 2002 M3
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
garyrap   [Sep 02, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Corvette Coupe
Strength:

Performance, Looks, Feel, Heritage

Weakness:

If any.....a bit more power.

They are giving these things away!!! Dealers are blowing 2004 vettes out to make room for the new C6. Just bought a black on black coupe 37k. And let me say the money was well spent. This is my first (and certainly not my last) vette and I can safely say it exceeds expectations. The car handles like a dream and fits like a glove. It feels as though you are the cockpit of an F15 fighter jet. Especially with the HUD on, which by the way is the coolest damn thing I have ever seen in a car. What really is amazing about this car is just how everyday it can be considering it really is a world class sports car. My friend has a brand new Viper and while it will snap your head back with raw power it pales in comparison to the comfort of the Vette. 20 miles in the Viper and you feel beat up. 200 miles in the Vette and you feel refreshed. The heritage in the Corvette can not be appreciated by reading a review, but, in fact, only by picking one up and experiencing the sheer pleasure of owning,and driving one firsthand. This is a great car and I highly recommend picking one up. Especially at these prices. You will not stop smiling. I haven't!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MGN50   [Jun 15, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Corvette Conv 6 speed
Strength:

Styling, power at all ranges, gas mileage, value, HUD

Weakness:

Interior trim quality should be better and it could be accomplished easily. The C6 will do better. The stereo is good but could use a boost as well.

Here is the deal - I am a used car dealer and can drive any car on the planet - it is one of the perks! I buy what I want, drive it and sell it - simple as that. I have personally owned over 60 cars and driven just about everything there is. I bought a 2002 C5 Conv at dealer auction in May 04 and drove it for around a month before selling it - quickly. THe minute it was gone I regretted it. Instead of buying another at auction I took advantage of the massive discounts on 2004's making room for the C6. Another dealer gave me a great deal - MSRP $57K. See price paid above...I flew from Atlanta to Pittsburgh to buy car and drove it 700 miles back to Atlanta - smiling all the way. There is something magical about the car, I cannot explain it. That raw, American V8, the road feel, the tracking. It is such an easy car to drive, much easier than a 2002 M3 I just sold. AND everybody loves a Vette, smiles, waves from all. The HUD is just about the coolest gadget I have ever seen on a car. Too much. The power on tap and the mileage are insane! My M3 got 17 MPG and I babied it. This car just got 27MPG with the AC running, top up. Such a beautiful machine and for the money - it cannot be beat. Also, after driving all the euro machines, I am proud to be in a home grown machine that gives me more satisfaction and pleasure than any other car I have driven.

Similar Products Used: M3, 330Ci, 540 6 speed, M3, Audi S6
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
army21   [Apr 24, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Chevrolet Corvette Coupe
Strength:

1. Looks and styling 2. Performance 3. The ride comfort is excellent 3. Tons of after market upgrades

Weakness:

1. Interior is roomy but some needs material upgrades.

I own a torch red, 2000 Corvette. Targa top and originally 345hp. This is a great vehicle, the styling and looks are deffinately attention grabbers. The car is great with the top and looks even better without it. The convertible is not quite as imposing. The car's original 345hp and 350 lbs of torqe is great for the overall performance. Really no need for upgrades and mods. But the best thing is there's tons of inexpensive parts out there if you do decide to upgrade. I've added nearly 100hp and torqe just modifying the air intake and exhaust systems alone at a cost of around $3,000. I have no problems blowing away Mustang GTs and Cobras and I can still keep up with the 500hp Vipers which cost twice as much as a Vette. The C-5 Corvette has great ride comfort. The suspension is very comfortable and the handling is pretty good. The active handling system makes driving this thing very user friendly. The interior is quite roomy for a sports car. Lots of leg and head room and pretty good storage area. Remember this ain't a Suburban or a Expedition. Chevy could have used better materials when designing the interior though. The leather trim is...ok but the plastic buttons need to go. The stereo system is just ok too...the Bose speakers are incredible but the radio looks like it belongs in a Geo Metro. One great thing is that you never run out of gadgets in this car. The HUD, memory package, telescopic S-wheel and Driver Info. Center is just really cool. Chicks really dig the Heads-Up-Display. Overall I would reccommend this car to anyone. You get great performance for your dollar. It out performs all the imports that cost the same and some that double the Vette's price.

Similar Products Used: 1. Porche 911 2. Dodge Viper
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jla08   [Jan 01, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Corvette LT-1
Strength:

Smooth, powerful, lots of fun to drive. Appears to be a reliable vehicle. Seats are comfortable. I chose a 1995 as a balance between performance and affordability; plus I really like the looks of the C4 (1984-1996) Corvettes. Insurance only went up about $100./year (versus the previous vehicle, a Lincoln Mark VIII.)

Weakness:

Minor annoyances all... (1)Lack of storage space. Yeah, I know, it's a "sports car," but the Mark VIII was 2-ft longer and had tons of room compared to the Vette. Of course I knew this going into the deal. I like to travel with a lot of stuff (maps, spare clothes, bottles of octane booster, boost cables, lots of tapes/CDs, etc. etc.) so finding space for all this stuff was tricky. I did fit in though. (2) A glove box would have been smart- there appears to be room for it; not certain what Chevy's thought process was in leaving it out. (3) The fuel inlet is on top of the car, in the rear. It takes two hands to fuel the vehicle - one to hold the nozzle, one to hold the gas hose. Also, there should be a driver-actuated locking cover over the gas cap... much cheaper cars have them. I invested $14. in a locking gas cap. (4) For a car the size of the Corvette, it has an enormous turning radius. 90% of U-turns are 3-pointers.

My first Vette... a simply wonderful vehicle. Comfortable, easy to drive, a head-turner, good mileage, sticks to the road, and moves like you wouldn't believe (if you haven't yet driven one, that is) when you punch it . Appears to be well-engineered under the hood. Rapidly becoming my daily driver! Controls are logical. Parts and aftermarket goodies are plentiful, as is technical advice from numerous online forums.

Similar Products Used: 1993 Lincoln Mark VIII; 1981 Datsun 280Z
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 151  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com