Chrysler Crossfire Sports

Crossfire

The Crossfire is a 2-door, 2-passenger sports car, or convertible sports car, available in two trims, the Roadster Limited and the Coupe Limited.

Both trims are equipped with a standard 3.2-liter, V6, 215-horsepower engine that achieves 15-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard, and a 5-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is optional.

User Reviews (37)

Showing 1-10 of 37  
K. Ball   [Jun 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: coupe limited
Strength:

Great looks, solid performance and value for the money.

Weakness:

I hate to say it but the cup holder is a waste of time but all of you know that already.

The best looking sports/cruiser out there, solid power and handling make this a wonderful vehicle to own. My only fear is repair costs but so far so good. Very unique, hopefully a collectors car one day.

Similar Products Used: Mazda Miata, but don"t tell anyone.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
meh   [Jun 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Limited Convertible
Strength:

An all around average performing "sporty" car (I'm reluctant to call it a sports car).

Weakness:

-Passenger leg room is much smaller than the driver's side
-Tall passengers need not apply
-Cheap plastic interior that really shows it's age
-The hardest seats I've ever sat in
-Rough ride, every rock and concrete seam is felt
-Poor overall performance when compared to modern vehicles (HP/torque/mpg)
-Convertible is very loud with the top up

Sit in both the driver and passenger seats before purchasing this car! My wife and I began our test drive with me driving, and the Crossfire felt roomy enough (I'm 6'3" tall). Half way through the drive we traded positions and I was astonished to find that the leg room of the passenger side was substantially less than that of the driver's side (as much as a foot less!)
This simply is not a tall person's car. With the seat in its lowest position, my eye level was just an inch below the top of the windshield. The roll bars that are designed to offer head protection in case the vehicle flips over were three inches below the top of my head.
We were not impressed with cheap plastic interior of this car. The shift knob had several scratches on it from past owners who apparently wore Freddy Kruger gloves when driving. Little features like the vents felt like they would snap off in your hand with the slightest pressure. The seats were very hard and uncomfortable, transmitting every bump in the road straight to the base of you spine.
If all of this hasn't dissuaded you from buying this car, let's talk about performance. The vehicle we drove was equipped with autoshift, which allows you to capture some of the fun of a manual transmission without a clutch control. The shift response was sloppy and inconsistent, and the v6 felt somewhat neutered. I think the manual transmission would have provided a better "sports car" experience.
The ride is akin to an overgrown go-kart. As I mentioned before, every bump in the road is immediately noticeable, and with the hard seats an afternoon drive may prove difficult to endure after even a short time.
So the Crossfire doesn't really excel at anything, unlike many of its modern competitors (2010 Camaro, Nissan 350Z). I simply can't point to any reason to purchase this car, it's overpriced and offers an average driving experience at best. A week prior to writing this review I test drove a new 2010 Camaro V6, which is an overall more capable car than the Crossfire. Granted, it is more expensive, but it generates 304 HP and still gets 29 mpg on the highway. It has more room, the seats are more comfortable, the ride is smoother, and the engine feels more responsive than the Crossfire. The Crossfire is based on the old Mercedes SLK, which was old when it debuted, and the technology has long been outdated. With so many better vehicles out there, why on Earth would you go with this one?

Similar Products Used: Nissan 350Z
2010 Chevy Camaro V6
Corvettes of varying years
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Steve   [Dec 27, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Coupe Limited 6spd (w/clutchy)
Strength:

Smooth, quiet, good stereo, well placed steering column aparatus, sneaky big trunk, short gearbox shift, etc...just sitting in it borders on exhilerating.

Weakness:

Windshield wipers are too tall and sit too high on the windshield...handbrake should be on the passenger side of the console and it sits to high when released (it almost looks engaged when it is down)...I won't mention the cupholder...a tilt wheel would be real nice.

The answer is: it's a Crossfire. I bet you have received the question many times, and ain't it neato when you give the response, nonchalantly of course. If I had a knickle for each minute I've just gazed at it, I'd be loaning money to Bill Gates...and who doesn't get a cheap thrill when the spoiler goes up when there is another car close behind or beside you.

Similar Products Used: 1973 Mustang Mach I (kinda similar, eh?)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dannjean   [Dec 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Chrysler Crossfire Limited Conv.
Weakness:

None

Very nice sports touring car. Excellent finish of details and fit. Rides great for a small car. If you have the money grab one of these up. It is nothing but a great looking Mercedes.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dale Titus   [Jul 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Chyrsler Crossfire Limited conv.
Strength:

Strong runner,more than fast enough for us.looks graet

Weakness:

Have not found any yet.

Car was bought for my wife. ( I drive it alot ) We both are very satified with this little 6 speed racer. We looked at many convertables and for the price we feel we got the biggest bang for our buck. We are very pleased by the fact that you dont see one every time you turn around and alot of people have walked up to look at it.

Similar Products Used: several corvettes, svarious sports cars.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hockeychic518   [Jun 02, 2008]
Strength:

Looks, speed, style.-

Weakness:

No tire, no knee airbags in this model, loud on drivers side, cant find tires locally, no spare tire, no room in trunk.

I have to admit that I was sucked into this car with its sporty good looks, and high class front end. I was also prewarned about the cup holder and the high price oil changes, and no spare tire. I purchased the 04 Crossfire with 14k miles. Whomever had it prior, never drove it. I noticed the 08's (which is the last year Chrysler is making this car), has knee area air bags??? Great, I live in LA and scared to death about getting into an accident now. If there was enough injuries to warrant airbags in the leg/knee compartment by Chrysler, that must mean trouble.
Now I know why the previous owner never drove this car. Big mistake on my end. Good call on Chyrslers end to discontinue. Great idea on the outside, bad idea on the inside.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
simontonbill   [May 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Crossfire Roadster
Strength:

Styling, acceleration, styling, acceleration, styling......

Weakness:

none really. You shouldn't expect trunk space in a roadster.

Man, I love this car. I was looking at the Pontiac Solstice but I couldn't fit in it at 6'3". I started looking at Mercedes coupes and then I remembered reading about the Crossfire a couple years ago so I decided to give them a look. I'm glad I did too because pound for pound and dollar for dollar it's a great car. Why pay 10-15K more for a used SLK when you can have one of these brand new. It flys too with great off line and highway acceleration. Even really dogging it I'm getting 25+ MPG.

Similar Products Used: test drove CLK 320, Infinity G35 coupe
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
04XFire   [May 08, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Coupe
Strength:

- handling/performance
- styling/uniqueness
- quality
- gas mileage
- market crashed on the cars so prices are cheap!

Weakness:

0w-40 Mobil 1 synthetic is $100 a case.

I bought this car with 32,800 one owner miles in excellent condition (yes excellent, I'm very picky). For anyone that doesn't know these cars are produced by Karman and comes down the same assembly line as the SLK Benz and the Audi TT. The fit and finish is definitely on par with Mercedez, and the engine is powerful and smooth. If you're looking for a vehicle with multiple cup holders buy a minivan, this is a sports car that's meant to be driven. As soon as you drive one of these cars you'll be hooked....the cars sell themselves. These cars are a bargain for what you get. I continuously get 25 mpg and don't do any highway driving...that's with occasionally clearing out any carbon. If you're buying an 04 Xfire do not pay more than 14000. There are plenty of deals out there, be patient. The dealer I bought it from is a licensed XFire dealer and had the car in their showroom for a year, and were looking to sell it cheap.

Similar Products Used: Audi, Mercedez
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
kwalker1108   [May 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Coupe Limited 6spd
Strength:

The car

Weakness:

None.

Wow that is the word that sums this car up. I have had sprots cars to SUV's and this is a great sports/touring car. It handles great but has a nice ride. The power is nice. I live in the midwest and it is my daily driver. I get 24.6mpg city/hwy drivin. Great economy for car that runs this well. It is not the fastes on the road but is nice. The day I bought it, I drove 8 hours to get this car then drove back 8 hours. Right after picking up the car I was on an open highway road with very few cars and noticed the trees seemed to be moving very quickly look at my speed. I was going 114mph and did not even feel it. Dedicded to use the cruse at 85 for the rest of the drive home still got 25mpg. If there is a draw back it is that there is only one cup holder but being a 2 seater you don't need the second cup holder all of the tme.

The price is great if you look at the price of Mercedes auto. This car is built in Germany by Mercedes and shipped to the states. This auto is over 85% Mercedes. There are a few chrysler items on it. Like the exhust system was change from the SLK so it would have a deeper sound plus it has some chrysler emblems. Again the word that sums it up is "WOW"

Similar Products Used: Corvette, Porche Boxter, RX8
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Larry   [Apr 30, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Crossfire Roadster

Just wanted to set the record straight for those of you who have just fallen in love with the Crossfire. It has NOT been discontinued. Maybe they won't make it after 2008, I don't know. But they are definitely coming off the line this year.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com