Ford Mustang (2010 and older) Sports

Mustang (2010 and older)

The Mustang has been redesigned for 2010. Fresh new sheet metal wraps around an updated interior, giving the icon a more modern look and feel.

The Mustang is available either as a coupe or convertible. Each is available with a V6 or a V8. The 210-hp 4.0L V6 carries over unchanged. The 4.6L V8 receives an increase in power - producing 315-hp for 2010. A five-speed manual transmission is standard; a five-speed automatic is optional. All Mustangs are equipped with standard electronic stability control and LED sequential tail lamps for enhanced safety.

User Reviews (466)

Showing 1-10 of 466  
Big M   [Apr 02, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mustang GT Glass Roof
Strength:

A sporty car that is an excellent value. Very civilized and great road manners when compared to earlier models. The glass roof is a very nice option. It's larger than a sunroof and there's no hole in your roof that could leak. And though it's not a convertable, you don't have to deal with seals, mechanisms, or tops that wear out. You can enjoy the sunlight all year long, or not by using the built-in shade.

Weakness:

For a sporty car, and I'm a bit old school when it comes to my hot rods, I think the car is a bit over-engineered. Power door locks, windows and mirrors are handy, but things like the short drop windows, tire pressure monitor, interior lighting, heated seats, and so on add unnecessary weight and complexity. The lack of a keyhole on the passenger side door is also a peeve.

This is a nice personal, secondary, or hobby vehicle for one or two adults (and maybe two small children if you want to push things.) That's it. The fold-down seats are helpful, but it's still no hatchback.

Similar Products Used: '67 Mustang cp
'70 Mustang cp
'70 Mustang fb
'71 Nustang fb
'72 Mustang fb
'84 Mustang hb
'88 Mustang conv
'90 Mustang cp
'94 Mustang conv
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Maturus   [Mar 27, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Mustang Convertible v6
Strength:

The car is beautiful with the top up or down, but that is mere opinion. Engine has nice torgue - which is what really matters. Drives like much more powerful car in normal driving because of the torque. 60k drivetrain warranty.

Weakness:

Plastic interior is attractive, but feels cheaper than should be. Poor mpg - only a tad better than v8 that has 100hp more power. Had a squeak in top connection posts (fixed with a clean and silicone).

Great car for the money. Fun to drive. Don't be fooled by lower hp. Shelby quote: "HP sells cars. Torque wins races." I wouldn't race any vettes or GT's, but the torque will make tooling around town fun. I bought because I wanted the convertible and appearance, without spending a lot. I get lots of looks (was surprised). When people compliment the car (often), I have to fight the urge to constantly tell them how little I actually paid for it. I bought a former rental. Never worry about that if it has less than 15k miles. Yes, a renter or two may have been rough (only for a few miles), but 99% of people are gentle and drive well. I've never had a problem with former rentals. Just check all the tune up components. I checked the air filter and was shocked at how gray it was (for 15k mils). LA must be more polluted than I thought. Just love the car.

Similar Products Used: Drove a Sebring convertible. Yikes.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
briscoe   [Mar 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: mustang gt/cs
Strength:

Looks, speed, ambient lighting, overall fun car to drive, love the handling, aftermarket options.

Weakness:

clutch seems week, no interior trunk release.

Love this car. There is endless aftermarket parts for personalizing. Car is fast and constantly gets lookers. Interior is comfortable, and it is a blast to drive.

Similar Products Used: 2004 licoln ls
1982 ford mustang
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
scout5812   [Jan 12, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ford Mustang Convertible GT
Strength:

Power
Handling
Stereo
Over all look
Comfortable seats
Can really dress this car up with chrome

Weakness:

Convertible top is a pain to latch
No GPS option
Automatic doesn't give you a shift option

My wife earned the V6 Pony from her company and we paid $5500 to upgrade it to the GT.

Wasn't a car that I would have ever considered buying but I must say that I'm very impressed with the car. Very fast and the stock engine sounds very throaty with its 300 horses!

We get a ton of compliments on the car, it is a beauty!!!

The traction control is nice because the back end will get squirrely on you if get heavy on the pedal.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Patlelion   [Dec 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mustang v6 pony package
Strength:

Good handling, 0-60 in just 6 secondes, amazing look here in Europe (ferraris and porsche owners look at my Stang). very comfortable, good heater for Scotland and my wife, fantastic american car and cheap...I am French and Thank you america and Ford to make me so happy! our cheese with wine is as good!

Weakness:

NONE...Just very thirsty, especially here in Uk (2 US dollar per litre)

What a car!!! Just after a week!!! I love it, I am French living in Scotland and I must admit, this is a really nice american car, good handling, nice interior, the v6 does the job, might change the exhaust with a new air intake, but I AM IN LOVE, and curiously my wife love it too!!! Great Fantastic, especially here in Europe, people just are amazed to see a MUSTANG, I feel like a Celebrity!! but back to earth... I am seriously HAPPY!!!!

Similar Products Used: Monaro VXR
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Link   [Dec 24, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mustang GT
Strength:

- cost (cheapest speed on the road)
- quality
- reliability
- engine (speed, gas mileage)
- comfortable seats
- good sound
- handling

Weakness:

- shift little clunky after 15k miles, wish it would last at least 60k. (currently have 35k, no major problems w/ original shifter)

My car just had it's 3rd yr birthday.

God I love my car.

Let me start with some bad, before I get to the good. First off the strut mounts had to be replaced (under warranty). Then the gas tank had to be replaced (under warranty). To me there seems to be a whining in the steering at low speeds. Ford said it was normal. I don't believe them but it hasn't caused a problem in over a year. Some water seems to be retained in the passenger door, but never comes in. I just have to remember to open the door after I take it through a car wash. The hooks on the leather seats don't seem to stay hooked. It doesn't cause problems, just something I've noticed. The shift seems clunkier over time, but I'll live. Only other major thing I've seen, is that the hood can't hold steady at 100mph. And around 130, it starts flopping like a fish.

With that out of the way, and I know it seems like a lot, I have to say I've enjoyed the mess out of this car for the past 3yrs. I enjoy sitting in my leather clad seats. I enjoy driving. Especially enjoy accelerating.

The factory default tires are amazing. If they sit to long they get a flat side, but heat them babies up and you are sticking to the road like glue. The ride in this car is horrible compared to the F-150s I'm used to driving. However, with that being said, my F-150 wouldn't take a corner labeled "25mph" at 80mph. Another thing my F-150 and other sports cars can't do, is maintain 21+ mpg. I get on it from time to time, but I've been over pleased with my V8 getting such high gas ratings considering I'm running all 8 cylinders all the time (would be nice for a semi-shutoff).

I've heard others complain about it having a low quality interior, or the handling isn't as nice as it is on their BMW. Well no joke. Ford did 80% of the working class a favor and kept the cost down, while giving us this new exciting product. I've always enjoyed Ford vehicles, and have found that when purchased new I've never had a problem that made me change my mind.

Problems yes, but I enjoy it far more than I hate it.

Similar Products Used: None. First sports car. Very pleased.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Ryan Smith   [Nov 19, 2007]
Model Reviewed: V6 Coupe
Strength:

Handling is AMAZING
Price is unbeatable
Would recommend this car to anyone
Acceleration is 0-60 in 6.5 secs in a V6

Weakness:

Terrible in rain and snow (its a sports car though)
EASY TO GET CARRIED AWAY W/

Because I am only 18 my dream car was a mustang. I bought one over a year ago w/ 25,000 miles on it. The car has been in and out of the shop but all were my fault. I dropped the transmission and wrecked it all in the same year. After getting all that fixed I continued to see problems spring up all from the wreck. For one thing I'm so glad I wrecked in this car I would have flipped anything taller. The car absorbed the shock and did not send it to me. Check engine light is now on for High Emissions. One thing that must be said is that I leave it sitting for periods which I know is extremely hard on the motor itself.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TCM   [Nov 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mustang GT
Strength:

Sounds good
Semi-quick
Good looks
Gets looks from everyone
Has the Mustang heritage

Weakness:

1.) Leaks water in the passenger compartment that collects on the floorboard when it rains, or you wash it. That in turn soaks my carpet, drips on the ECU thats mounted under the dash, and makes all sorts of cool lights appear under my dashboard!
2.) The rear differential whined and groaned. Took that in, they fixed it in a few hours.
3.) The CD player will randomly go dead and then eject your disc saying "BAD DISC" for no apparent reason. CD-R or regular CDs it does this to.
4.) It rattles from every crevice, including the dashboard.
5.) Transmission is notchy and feels like youre going to snap it when you try to shift into certain gears sometimes.
6.) On long trips on the highway if you downshift, the engine cuts out for a second. Apparently thats a Ford TSB for the fuel pump.
7.) It handles like a truck.
8.) Fords customer service is lackluster
9.) the Modular 4.6 is sluggish, especially with the A/C on
10.) throttle by wire sucks
11.) hydraulic clutch is horrible, I'd much rather have the old school cable.
12.) The car wanders on the road a lot, although I upgraded the wheels and tires, so I'll give Ford the benefit of the doubt on this one.

I came from having imports all of my life, and have always wanted a Mustang. I love everything there was about Mustangs. I had never had any problems with any of my Hondas, so I said why not. I want an American V8 with some power. BOY WAS THAT A MISTAKE.
This car is the biggest piece of junk, Ive ever owned. I was warned about moving to Ford, and now in hindsight, I want to kick myself.
1st off. Fords customer service is HORRIBLE. If you need work done to a car, scratch that, WARRANTY work which has been about 4 different issues Ive had since Ive owned it, THEY DONT GIVE YOU A LOANER! You have to pay Enterprise to rent a car while your car is getting fixed.. Thats a nice way to treat your customers Ford. Build pieces of junk, and then make the customers pay for a rental in the mean time.
ALL of the problems Ive had have been Ford TSBs. (Technical Service Bulletins)
1.) Leaks water in the passenger compartment that collects on the floorboard when it rains, or you wash it. That in turn soaks my carpet, drips on the ECU thats mounted under the dash, and makes all sorts of cool lights appear under my dashboard!
2.) The rear differential whined and groaned. Took that in, they fixed it in a few hours.
3.) The CD player will randomly go dead and then eject your disc saying "BAD DISC" for no apparent reason. CD-R or regular CDs it does this to.
4.) It rattles from every crevice, including the dashboard.
5.) Transmission is notchy and feels like youre going to snap it when you try to shift into certain gears sometimes.
6.) On long trips on the highway if you downshift, the engine cuts out for a second. Apparently thats a Ford TSB for the fuel pump.
7.) It handles like a truck.

I am so displeased with Ford and the way they treat their customers, and everyone I voice my concerns with at Ford seems to not really give a crap. Its a wonder why the Big 3, have lost so much business. They build crap and have no customer service. I will NEVER buy another Ford after this lovely going on 2 year ordeal. Id rather spend the extra money and get peace of mind. You pay for what you get my friends.

Similar Products Used: Trans Am
Camaro Z28
Corvette
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Gary   [Oct 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: V6 Premium Convertible Automatic
Strength:

fun to drive, nice ride, gas mileage ok for this type of car at 19 city and 25 highway, good stereo, looks good

Weakness:

wind noise, not a lot of storage space inside

Good car, really fun to drive. I have enjoyed it very much and put over 22K mile in one year

Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Infinity G37
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
dr_nc   [Jun 28, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mustang Pony 6 cyl. Coupe
Strength:

Beautiful car, retro style. Fuel efficient V6 with good power. No problems of any kind during the first 2,000 miles. Car draws a lot of attention and comments. Handles awesome - no body roll. Top safety rating.

Weakness:

If you want a GT, buy a GT. The V6 is not a substitute for a V8. Shop your insurance agent first as the GT's insurance is nearly double the V6. Anti-lock brakes are an option, but should be standard on all models.

Beautiful car with excellent fit and finish. My father bought me a new 2007 Mustang. I wanted a GT, but the insurance was outrageously expensive as I m a new driver. I drove the 6 cyl. immediately after the GT and there is a big difference in bottom-end power. The 6 cyl. just does not have the torque of the V8. My car has the Interior Appearance Package and tan leather. It has two-tone door panels and looks sweet. The Shaker 500-watt stereo is great. The seats are very comfortable. The back seat has surprising room. I got a Pony Package car and the fog lights look better than the GT, in my opinion. I also really like the "bullit" style polished wheels. The Pony Package also includes 17-inch, Z-rated tire GT sway bar. The Torch Red paint draws a lot of attention. Visibility forward is good, but there are blind spots. I'm tall(6'2") and I am glad we got power seats. Make sure you get the V6 Safety and Performance packages. I can't understand why anti-lock brakes and traction control are options. They are standard on GTs, but not on V6 models. I read that the Mustang is top-rated for safety.

Similar Products Used: My father has a Corvette. The Mustang looks better than his Corvette.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 466  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com