Nissan 350Z (2003 - 2009) Sports

350Z (2003 - 2009)

The 2008 350Z is a 2-door, 2-passenger sports car, available in 5 trims, ranging from the Base to the NISMO.

Upon introduction, both trims are equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 306-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (67)

Showing 1-10 of 67  
Jeff H.   [Apr 06, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Enthu 5spd A/T
Strength:

3 times the performance for cars the same price.

Weakness:

low cost interior, Rear view, blind spots, all the love it needs

A few weeks after I got my Z I was rear ended and spun out, I can honestly say that this well engineered piece of performance has kept me alive to this very day.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
spcoburn   [Feb 02, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 350Z / Enthusiast
Strength:

Acceleration, handling, styling

Weakness:

Fuel economy

This is a true sports car, and if it turns out to be half as reliable as the experts and other reviewers claim it is, it is an incredible value.

I've never had so much fun driving a car.

Similar Products Used: None -- my first real sports car
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ze_Specialist   [Apr 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Base
Strength:

Handling, acceleration, top speed, looks.

Weakness:

Storage space

This is my 3rd 350z I have owned. It is an awesome car. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a real sports car.

Similar Products Used: 2003 350z, 2005 350z, 2006 tiburon
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Sluderrl   [Mar 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Nissan 350Z Grand Touring (6M)
Strength:

Exterior Styling, VQ engine, Brembo Brakes, exhaust note, seat position, rays wheels (19" rears give the car a very aggressive stance).

Weakness:

Storage locations (the glove box is behind the passenger seat), center consul armrest could be a few inches higher.

Great looking sports car with an excellent price point. I don't think there is a better performance sports car on the market for the money.

Similar Products Used: None. This is the first true sports car I've owned.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rkd350z   [Sep 22, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 350z base
Strength:

VQ35DE, style, cornering, aftermarket support, great bang for the buck!

Weakness:

too many toyko drifter in the Z lately..

Great Car for the money.

I am currently modidfying my Z and it's soo much Fun!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: SLK320, SLK350, G35
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Matt   [May 30, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 350z Roadster
Strength:

Too many to list!!!

Weakness:

Stereo just so so. I never turn it on as the exhaust makes its own music. Would like an arm rest...so I have ordered one.

I purchased a 04 enthusiast roadster about 3 months ago. I was able to pick one up for $20k with only 30k miles on it. So far I love it. I smile every time I see, sit, start and drive it. I looked at some competitors before buying. In fact it wasn’t even on my list. I owned a Honda before this and it was great. So, my first thought when looking for a true roadster was the S2000. I excitedly visited a Honda dealership for a test drive and as soon as I sat in the S I was bummed. At 6’3” and 240 lbs (no I’m not fat :) I didn’t fit. Leaving there dejected I stopped by a Pontiac dealership to look at a Solstice GPX figuring the American car would be bigger. No dice there either, head was in the roof. Now about suicidal I passed by a Nissan dealership and figured what the heck I’ll check out the Z. The Z has a ton of room compared to the other cars. I fit just fine. So, enough about the fit. All you have to do is drive it one time and you will want it. It has all the prerequisites you expect from a true sports car speed, handling etc. The thing that really impresses is how solid the Z is. It feels like a much more expensive car. On a personal preference note I picked up the 04 because in 05-06 the Z got a “rev up” engine that puts out more HP but less torque. After driving both I found the 04 has better throttle response. I find this more important for canyon carving (the kind of driving I like), and because I doubt I will ever push the Z to the speed governor. Of course if you have the $ go for the 07-08 as they have an even better engine. With the money I saved I’m looking into a JWT twin turbo, this will put the car on par with a vette at ½ the price. On a more personal note, I have no clue why Nissan makes an automatic for this car or why anyone would buy one. If you want that buy the Infinity.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
corvette1120   [Mar 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: nissan 350Z
Strength:

anything

Weakness:

everything

My dad was looking to buy a 350Z, I read some of the reviews, I saw some good and bad ones. I think he still might buy one though. Do you think, if he gets one, it would be ok to drive in rain, sleet, or snow, if he got new tires and put sandbags in the trunk, because he would obviously use it year round.

Similar Products Used: 1984 corvette
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jason schlachter   [Nov 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Touring Coupe
Strength:

Here is the good:
-car looks awesome
-good power
-good interior quality and design
-engine sounds powerful
-crazy slick suspension
-tight control
-rims look awesome
-the attention this car gets
-value
-the trunk is surprisingly useful considering how much complaining you see in the reviews



Weakness:

the bad:
-OEM tires are Summer tires only (I just replaced mine for $1K w/ All Seasons, even though they had lots of miles left)
-car is really loud, louder than you might imagine, but it's a sports car

I bought this car a yr old and saved a good bit off its new price. I expected the car to be good but had some hesitations due to reading mixed reviews. Bottom line the car is a monster. It is incredible and I love it. I had a Honda Accord before getting this car and after a week of driving this car around I got into my Honda for a quick trip and was shocked about how numb it felt on the road. I put my Honda for sale on craigslist the next day.

This car is great value too. I am amazed at what I get for 26K.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
keniee   [Jul 14, 2007]
Model Reviewed: 350Z base coupe
Strength:

Great looks, short stroke in the gear box, nice handling, great high end torque, good gas mileage when driven at the speed limit, nice throaty dual exhaust sound, effortless increase of speed well on freeways.

Weakness:

Front end is very easy to damage when parking, sound system needs improved, interior quality needs improved, huge blind spot over driver's right shoulder, on long trips it can get a bit uncomfortable.

The first time I saw a 350Z I wanted one. I wasn't ready to get it but I had my eye on it for 2 years when I jumped into the market for one.

The first one I drove was a used 350Z coupe (not the base model) and I loved it. It was 2 years old and had only 4,000 miles on it. It had great acceleration, was comfortable and exciting but the suspension seemed to be lacking something.

So I went to the Nissan dealer and drove a new 2005 base coupe. It was a great improvement over the 2003 model. I had not done my research on the car, stupidly, but I did after I bought the car and began to have buyer’s remorse. I heard the horror stories about tire and clutch problems.

Well two and a half years later I’m still driving the same Z, same clutch, one new set of tires at 30k (I wore out the rears first from peeling out), and have pushed the car fairly hard. I put 9” wide rims on the back with 7” rims on front of course and it has greatly improved handling the car in the mountains. It has been a treat to embarrass so many BMW’s in the mountains with that fat a$$. So far I have had the car at 145 mph racing another exact Z (looked like anyway) and it handled like a dream. It had no quit in it at 145 but I let up for reasons of sanity. I’m sure that car will hit the top of that speedometer. No clutch or tire feathering problems. I do recommend getting custom rims and be sure to stagger them. Also replace the cloth seats with leather (had that done as part of the package when purchased). Raced a faster Ford Mustang GT whose weight pretty much distributed evenly on all four tires. The Mustang was faster until we had hit the turn at the 210 to 118 in So Cal going west. The Ford could not accelerate through the turn as the Z did and passed him. The Z is very sweet on regular roads but the true test of its ability is in the mountains. I love it and the only time I regret it on the road is like right now as I hear my wife taking the little one to a party.

Similar Products Used: Rebuilt 58' Jag 2 door sedan, 65 and 67 Mustangs (both sweet cars), 240 SX Nissan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
freking8   [Jan 22, 2007]
Model Reviewed: NISSAN 350Z TOURING EDITION
Strength:

-Exotic car looks
-Acceleration and LOTS of torque
-Exotic car engine sound
-Nice leather seats
-Overall great build quality

Weakness:

-None really, some people may not like the fact that it's a two seater but what do you expect, it is a REAL sports car!

Wow! This is the best car I've ever owned. Coming from a Honda Civic the difference is between night and day. When you add the looks, engine power, handling, and reliability this is the best you can get for your money. It's definitely the ultimate guy car with the aggresive styling and that mean engine growl coming from the dual exhaust. The Bose system in the Touring Model is not that great...so if you're into listening to music you might consider another head unit. Also, the available modification parts out there can make this car scary fast. If you're on the fence about buying this car please take my advice and test drive one. It will exceed your expectations and give you a ride that will put a smile on your face everyday.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 67  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com