Porsche 911 Turbo (2010 and older) Sports

911 Turbo (2010 and older)

The 911 Turbo is a 2-door, 4-passenger luxury sports car, available in two trims, the Coupe and the Cabriolet.

The Coupe is equipped with a standard 3.6-liter, H6, 480-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. The Cabriolet is equipped with a standard 3.6-liter, H6, 480-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 15-mpg in the city and 24-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
Prism_Racer   [Sep 22, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Chevy Prism
Strength:

good ride, add performance springs! must have! high first and second gear great sounding engine.. o.k. tuner not too many parts. just think Corolla GREAT FUEL ECONOMY!

Weakness:

Interior is drab, shifter knob is cheesey, Crappy sterio, nice pedals though.

this car is great. it comes with a standard vvti 24 valve 5 speed manual tranny and an all aluminum inline four. Shifts like a dream and tops out at 150 drag limited. I have gotten a lot of weird looks from little teenagers at the local drag strip when i drive up in this mid-sized "granny car" and say that i race with it. well truth is ive got about 290 hp and 250 ft lb of torque @ 6,500 rpm in 1st. it does a 14.5 second standing quarter at 99 mph. now street its a little slower more likely a 14.9 @ 104 but i see a lot of dumbfounded 18 yearolds faces when i blow past them in third gear.

Similar Products Used: Honda Civic, Honda Prelude, Nissan Skyline Spec-R, 240 SX, 350ZX, Fiero, Mitsubishi Lancer VIII MR., Porche Boxter
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jk   [Nov 13, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 996tt
Strength:

Solid driver, good brakes and engine.

Weakness:

Styling. The front headlights and bumper are attrocious. What is with the strange headlight shape. Oval lights with a secondary light would look infinitly better. I won't even go into the front end. Also the side intakes should be finished smooth instead of looking like inserts. Crappy stereo, no glove box, no cup holder, and weak interior finish. Also had problems with noises in the back of the car. Windshield wipers make a banging noise and have never worked well from day one. Sunroof is useless over 50 mph as it reverberates. The gps/mapping sys. looks like a 1984 rgb computer monitor. I could go on. If the car didn't drive so well I would probably be shopping for something else.

Good overall car as far as driving goes, but needs attention to details. Had some work including bigger turbos, higher boost, etc., etc. Car is now as fast as it should have been from factory. Also installed GT2 front bumper cover. Looks much better.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
r ruiz   [May 14, 2003]
Strength:

power, 4 w drive.

Weakness:

how could i complain after i plungeg the cash?

Fast, very.

Similar Products Used: boxter, corvette z06, m3
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
david knox   [Feb 17, 2003]
Strength:

verrry fast

Weakness:

not good enougth driver to fully exploit

awesome best car i have driven which includes various ferrari and maserati lancia lotus cobra etc

Similar Products Used: carrera 4 carrera 4s boxster s etc
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
GTRS 993   [Dec 13, 2002]
Strength:

Raw Power, eye watering speed that has yet to be matched by any car I have owned. Viper, Z06, Ferrari 348 TS none compare. 0-60 in 3.2 seconds, Handling, looks ,PRESTIGE AND HISTORY. Bullit proof transmission and engine.

Weakness:

ZERO

I have a Gemb. upgrade to 550 hp and I can assure you the overrated dyno queen will not compare in any area on the street or at the track. The supras that autocross that are extremely modified don't even compare to the NA C5 corvettes much less the TT 993's. I think the owner of the Supra is in reality a 16 year old with a Honda. Sad but most likely true, don't always believe what you see in the movies ie (F&F) Supras should stay in the Honda, Integra, arena. PORSCHE is a little out of your league JR. I can recall racing a supra with 10 gauge pods and burbling exhaust. It is a shame to see someone so confident shrink to the size of an ant in the matter of seconds. Just my .02.

Similar Products Used: Lamborghini 6.0, Ferrari F40 or F50, Mclaren F1.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jonathan LeRoy   [Dec 10, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 911 turbo
Strength:

fast corners like a dram.

Weakness:

ride hieght and comfornt

I find this car get you to where you want fast. The cabin is a bit noisy but when those turbos kick in its paradise. Not for winetr driving and it is overpriced. The 911 turbo 97 (last air cooled) is the best. should have never traded it in for this still more comfortable in the 2002.

Similar Products Used: porsche 911 turbo 1997
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Ran8987   [Jul 09, 2002]

Test drove. Simply one of the finest cars on the planet. 0-60 is appox. 4 sec. This is a great overall package.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
victoriatheferrarispider   [Jun 04, 2002]
Model Reviewed: /Porsche 911 Turbo
Strength:

Power

Weakness:

Size, cargo space

This has been a great car. I recommend this car to anybody who likes to ride around in a flashy car. This Porsche is one of my husbands favorite cars. He drives it to work often. It is a good car for driving and showing. I think it's price is pretty reasonable. If you like to be looked at, drive this car. If you compare this car to the Porsche 911 Carrera, which our neighbor has, I recommend the Turbo.

Similar Products Used: Ferrari Spider, Aston Martin
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
paul brewer   [Sep 21, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 911 turbo
Strength:

Seemingly endless power Torque

Weakness:

None so far, jealously ?

I don''t normally write reviews, but I had to respond to Jhony Malcolme. Johny if you had a 911 Twin turbo, and got beaten by a supra, may i suggest that its because you can''t drive ? I too had a twin turbo RX7 a few years ago, and spent a great deal of money modifying it. It is possible to get these cars above the 500 Hp mark, and still use them as an every day driver, as I did for 2 years. However the 911 even in standard form is a completely different type of power, and is truly a beautifully refined car. I just hope that no one takes reviews like jhony''s too seriously. My car has exhaust and air filter mods but thats all, and I''m still definate that is a better car than my Rx7 ever was, even though it was a very attractive car. Bottom line, if you can afford one, buy one, forget jhony

Similar Products Used: 91 911 C4 93 911 turbo 2 3.6
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nelson   [Jul 11, 2001]
Strength:

acceleration, handling, 4wheel drive control, build quality, road presence.

Weakness:

Weight (I wish it were 200-300 pounds lighter). Longish shift throws.

Arctic Silver with black interior with PCM, DSP, Supple leather, Euro(ROW)suspension. The silver color provides a classy understated look to this monster of a car. I'm still in the break-in phase but the acceleration is like nothing else I've experienced in an automobile. I previously was not a fan of turbo engines and preferred a more linear power curve. However, this new turbo has slingshot-like acceleration. Once you are on it, you are quickly moving much faster than anticipated and must ususally back off unless there is an open road ahead. This is rare on crowded Southern Cal. roads. I sense no need to tweek the suspension and understand that the ROW kit is well optimized for sport driving since a number of "tuners" in Europe do not bother changing this suspenion. Overall, it's probably the best performance car on the market if you factor in build quality and heritage along with performance.

Similar Products Used: 996 Carrera(99), Twin-turbo Supra. BMW M3, BMW M5.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com