Porsche 968 (1995 and older) Sports

968 (1995 and older)

The 968 is available with a 3.0L, 4 cylinder with 236 hp. 4 wheel ABS is standard and options include automatic or manual transmission.

The Porsche 968 was sold from 1992 to 1995, and marketed as the replacement for the Porsche 944. When production ceased in 1995, it represented the end of a line started almost 20 years earlier with the introduction of the Porsche 924.

The 968's styling somewhat resembled the 928 although it looks considerably more like a blend of the 993 911, which did not appear until the end of the 968's production and a 944 S2. Like the 944, the 968 was sold as both a coupe and a convertible. Much of the 968's chassis was carried over from the 944S2, which in itself shared many components with the 944 Turbo (internally numbered 951). Borrowed components include the Brembo-sourced 4-piston brake calipers on all four wheels, aluminum semi-trailing arms and aluminum front A-arms, used in a MacPherson strut arrangement. The galvanized steel Unibody structure was also very similar to that of the previous models.

Over the 4 years of production, only a little over 12,000 cars were sold worldwide, with less than 5,000 shipped to the North American continent.

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
George   [Jun 06, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cabriolet
Strength:

Reliable, rare, low key (compared to 911)

Weakness:

none

It still looks modern after 15 years and you don't see them very often on the street. Perfect weight distribution, a driver's dream.

Similar Products Used: 944 S2 Cabriolet
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Zeflin   [Oct 18, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 968 Coupe
Strength:

Performance, and relative fuel economy. Style!

Weakness:

Reliability, maintenance costs.

This car was a dream to drive. Maintenance, however, was a nightmare. It was so complex, nothing went wrong that didn't cost at least $500 to fix.

Similar Products Used: '87 Porsche 924S -- exactly the same deal. Fun for what it was but so expensive to fix.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
pavsquad16   [Oct 28, 2004]
Model Reviewed: porsche 968 cabriolet
Strength:

Fast, 6 speed, 236 hp, 225 torque, faster then a boxster, enough room for 6 foot plus people, on 2200 in us, very exclusive

Weakness:

reliable, if kept up , repairs can be expensive but worh the attention youll get

This car is absolutley amazing and get attention wherever i go in chicago. Girls constantly come up to me and say i have a nice car. The car is powerful, fast, and has timeless styling. If you dont buy the car in midnight blue with convertible top your missing out. The interior has every luxury feature you need in a sports car including a trip odomter, and leather everywhere you touch. The engine is nicley trimmed, and the car resembles a ferrari! I cant begin to tell you the compliment youll get, stick with the convertible though it has nicer lines.

Similar Products Used: porsche 993, porsche 928, like the 968 convertible the best
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
zpostrick   [Aug 04, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Porsche 968
Strength:

Terrific balance, good suspension, excellent steering control. Rear wheel drive appreciated. Interior holding up well, no rips or tears. Engine runs very smoothly, decent gas mileage on the road -- up to 25 mpg, under 20 in city. Well made, good quality equipment that holds up well. Convertible top works well, has interior liner that keeps the heat off your head on summer day. Power top motor requires the key "on" but the engine not running. Storage areas behind seats are practical. Small leather covered panels can be swing down to allow long objects placed in trunk to extend inside car. Good storage capabilities for a sports car. Good drivers position, reasonably good instrumentation. One of the last cars with pop-up headlights that have sturdy lift mechanisms. (see weeknesses on headlight trim below).

Weakness:

Not the best low-end torque at standing stop. Engine needs brief warm-up time, (7 quarts of oil). Long shifter throw, easy to get into reverse accidentally. Headlight housings are plastic, somewhat fragile and can crack easily over time. I've replaced several parts and had them professionally repainted. Parts are expensive. Simple valve cover bolts are from $10 to $20 each depending on length. Shop for your parts for the best price. Ignition system wiring, distributor cap and rotor prices vary widely. White wheels impossible to keep clean. Sound system could be better. Convertible top tonneau cover is fancy but flaps around at freeway speeds, enough so that it can't be used without concerns of losing it. While instrumentation is reasonable good, a trip computer and brighter display illumination at night would be an improvement. Because the car had such limited distribution, not many enhancements available for this model. Far more available for 944 series, but the 968 is a better car.

The Porsche 968 is the final model of front-engine cars that originally began with the 924 series. Gradual improvements were made over the years, so that the 968 is the most "well sorted" model of all. I have had the Cabriolet version for little over a year. It's a 1992 model. I've found it to be pretty reliable, have an excellent engine, and great handling. I initially put money into the car by having all the brakes redone with drilled calipers and new pads, with some new sensor wiring as well. The AC compressor needed replacement and now works great. The Porsche climate control works very well, and the vents are huge and blow an enormous amount of air into the cabin. Handling is very good, and since I'm close to Angeles Crest, I've taken the car up there many times and it has impeccable handling. The weight distribution is excellent, steering weighty but not uncomfortable, and the car hugs the road well with the Dunlops I had installed. The rear 6-speed transmission has excellent gear ratios, but the throw is farther than modern cars. It still shifts very lightly and positively. The engine revs without complaint up to its red line, and in its mid-range gears pulls hard on corners and on hills in canyon driving. Body lean is very controlled. Some wiggle in the rear but only when pushing the limits of the car's adhesion. First gear very light, and the car doesn't take off like a Corvette from a complete stop. It does its best when you're around 4k RPMs and the variocam system kicks in. In any case, I tend to drive it smoothly and feel for when the car needs a gear change. Some tendency for the car to run a bit hot on hills on hot days. Had both the water pump and the timing belt and guide rollers replaced by the dealer when I bought the car. This is important for this model engine, and is one of the few maintanence issues. Some models had pinion bearing issues in the Getrag transmission, but it is not evident in every car and only a few seemed to suffer with this problem. My car now has slightly over 80k miles on it, and it still feels tight and runs flawlessly. They are a great value. Few people know what the car is, and I've had people ask if it's a "new car."

Similar Products Used: Corvette, MR2
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jazman   [Dec 07, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Porsche 968
Strength:

Acceleration 0-60 mph in 6.1 sec with the 6 spd. 240hp, a huge 3.0L inline 4 cyl engine than pulls like a team of oxen. Slick 6 spd manual. Strong braking, flat cornering, perfect 50/50 weight balance front to rear. A joy to drive fast and on the twisties. Steering is perfectly balanced at road speeds. This is the best handling car I have ever driven. And I've driven a lot. Beautifully styled and not a car you'll see everyday on the road. Beautiful fit and finish and excellent materials inside and out. The paint is perfectly executed. The interior is rich but not over-stated in a most Teutonic way. For a sub-compact sport car, amazingly roomy in the hatch. Comfortable enough as a daily driver.

Weakness:

Not cheap to maintain, but what do you expect of a Porsche. Seats could use more lumbar support. Factory radio and speakers a little weak. Steering is a tad heavy at parking lot speeds when compared to newer cars, but at road speeds the steering is perfect.

I simply love the styling of this beautiful Porsche, the peak of the front engined 924/944 line of Porsches. This is a rare vehicle in the US with about 2400 units and 12,000 worldwide in coupe and cabriolet form. Exclusivity at a bargain price. My car had 32k miles when I bought it in 1999 and it looked and ran like new then and I have kept it machanically and cosmetically perfect. I show the car at local PCA concours events and it has won various awards, Best of Class, Best of Show, and People's choice awards. In Guards Red this car is eye candy at it's best. The 968 is so uncommon on the street, I have been asked more than once if the car is a Ferrari! The front end styling is nearly identical to 911s of it's day, with a scrumptiously rounded butt reminiscent of the 928. This is a great car for sports cars enthusiasts, for Porsche enthusiasts or first time Porsche buyers (Be sure to buy one that has been lovingly maintained. As with any Porsche, a poorly maintained example is the wrong example). Not recommended for people who do not enjoy driving.

Similar Products Used: 87 Audi 5000CS Turbo Quattro, 93 Audi 100CS, 02 Audi A6 4.2, 01 Audi S4, 2004 BMW 530i.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jon Goldsmith   [May 21, 2003]
Strength:

Power, handling, styling, exclusivity, reliability, resale value. (Oh yes, practicality. You can also fit a 9 foot fishing pole inside the coupe with the rear hatch closed. This is the perfect vehical.)

Weakness:

I went through four sets of high performance tires while I owned the car. Is that a weakness? You will spend money changing oil, other fluids and timing belts. Considering how well the resale value holds up, this car was actually incredibly inexpensive to operate over the four years I had it.

Read the other review, I will just be echoing them. The 968 is a rare, fantastic sports car that is also eminently practical and suitable for everyday use. I owned my 1993 Coupe for four years and put 40,000 miles on it with no mechanical problems and I can honestly say that almost every time I got in the car it put a smile on my face. Fast enough, incredible handling, a 3 liter four-banger with 75 ft-lbs of torque per liter! Did I mention superb, timeless styling? Totally exclusive! I can not tell you how many times I left the car with the valets at some of the best restaurants and hotels in Los Angeles only to find it parked right out in front with the most expensive and exotic cars imaginable when I came out. I sold it because fortune has smiled on me and I can now afford a new 911 but I still miss the hatch-back. Buy one of these cars if you can find one: the 968's are absolutely great cars.

Similar Products Used: '02 Porsche 911, '87 Porsche 911, '83 Fiat 2000 Spider
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
PorscheRacer14   [Dec 22, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 944 NA
Strength:

Very quick for the engine size. Great fuel economy. Made almost 880kms on a tank of gas on an all original engine except a turbo throttle cam and a K&N air filter. Still a looker for it's age. Handels great with no quirks. Calm in stop-and-go traffic and lots of passing power on the highway. Modern interior, easy to live with. Decent factory radio (Blaupunkt SQR-41 'Toronto'). Great fuel economy, lots of storage room, for golf bags, hockey equipment, etc. Protective side moulding and triple-galvanized steel a plus for Canadian weather. Removeable top to soak in the sun.

Weakness:

Rear seats not really neccesary. Bra should be used to protect the front from other vehicles. Maintance costs to combat dreaded timing belt failure. Had to replace week centre rubber clutch and engine mounts to parts found on Turbo model. Some have used it all year round, but too low for snow drifts. Some parts take a while to order in. Had to get recalled parts installed as mine hadn't had those parts installed. Don't have a dealer here so had to spend needless money and endure frustration finding a reputable shop to work on it. If the hatch gets smashed and a few more parts go, the insurance company would right it off.

I've driven a few muscle cars and my dad's Acura Vigor (sports sedan), and I have to say for the price, you won't find any other car with the punch, handling, economy, fun, or resale value out there. It's not the fastest car out there, but for a 17 year old car, it handles like it's new. I bought it with 148k kms on it and only had to put a few minor parts into it to make everything work like it left the dealership. I've driven it in rain and even a few sciffs of snow, and it handels great and reliably. I love the look and attention it gets here, as most people are amazed seeing a Porsche with an engine in the front, and a tiny 4 cylinder to boot! Mine came with almost all the options, and puts a lot of new luxury cars to shame today. I wanted to keep this car forever since I know these models are good for it, but I'd like to move to a Turbo or 968 cabriolet in the 90's.

Similar Products Used: 1979 Pontiac Trans-Am 454, 1976 Corvette Stingray, 1978 Monte Carlo, 1993 Acura Vigor
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
gunther van kerkhoven   [Dec 13, 2002]
Strength:

sporty good handling car. Fuel consumption is within limits and only go ones every two years for new oil. Brakes are best I ever had. Very necessary for a car that goes 255 km/h.

Weakness:

hard to drive on snow or ice.

Only build for 3 years and very rare. I have the cs sports version in blue. When you talk about porsche people always think 911 or boxter, but when the see mine, they are astonished and want to see the engine, which is in front !!

Similar Products Used: Toyota celica 2.0, Lancia delta
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter Lindley   [May 19, 2002]

As a previous owner of the 944, this baby is a refinement of the S2 and has looks to die for. Combining the shape of the 928, 911 and the 944, this thoroughbred sports car is for the serious driver. Everything about it from the feel of the leather steering wheel to the distinctive exhaust note oozes Porsche. The Recaro seats are not for the broad-bottomed, but are snug and hold you safely for the G-forces you will enjoy feeling - 0-100-0 in just 9 secs! Recommend you install the "big brakes" kit - should be a standard fitment as it will sprint from 0-110kph in first gear! - not bad for a 4-port 3-litre. Fuel economy is reasonable for its performance capability, one of the few Porsches that is equally happy around town and on the long, open road. Few faults except poor design of rear hatch glass - rainwater runs down the sides and into the hatch. Water pumps are expensive and ensure you have an expert Porsche mechanic and if, in doubt, replace it. It''s best not to "run to break" in a Porshce and it end up costing you more in the long run. The Club Sport model I have is a no frills, no radio model. Look around for an aftermarket CD music system and you are away! one of the best cars I''ve ever driven, perfect balance, even tyre wear (though non-rotational) front tyres are a different size to the rear and can''t be swapped. Since driven 6-cylinder BMWs which are no comparison to my 968 - you''ll enjoy a totally absorbing driving experience - if you''re lucky enough to get your hands on one - you''ll never want for anything else - except perhaps a female companion ... naaa... the seats won''t allow for any movement.

Similar Products Used: Porsche 944, BMW 325, BMW M3
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
William   [Feb 13, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 968
Strength:

Incredable power delivery, the 6sp is a perfect match for the motor. The car is very well balanced and often makes up for what I lack as a driver, especially on the track. The brakes awesome stopping power is complmented by the stock pilots that I keep on the car. My buddies love it''s timeless shape and incredable performance. The car is alot of bang for the buck without the hassle of a turbo(951).

Weakness:

STAY ON TOP OF THE TIMING BELT REPLACEMENT!!! The pinion has also been replaced on this vehicle. No available engine upgrades for less than 3grand to get additional performance(this is a good thing too).

The 968 has been much more than one can expect from a 4 cylinder car. The available torque is very M3 while the everlasting powerband and rush to the redline is effortless for a large displacement 4. The build quality is superb, as a student in college I found a job working on Porsches over the summer and found this model''s unique charactor to be appealing. So once I graduated and was able to afford such I never hestitated on a mint Red/tan 6spd coupe with limited slip, 17s, and low miles. I have never regreted the decision, the car has won concours while being an absolute pleasure at the track.

Similar Products Used: 944 turbo Scirocco 16V E30 325IS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com