Porsche Boxster (2010 and older) Sports

Boxster (2010 and older)

The Boxster is a 2-door, 2-passenger convertible sports car, available in two trims, the Convertible and the S.

The Convertible is equipped with a standard 2.9-liter, H6, 255-horsepower engine that achieves 19-mpg in the city and 27-mpg on the highway. The S is equipped with a standard 3.4-liter, H6, 310-horsepower engine that achieves 19-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard on both trims, and a 7-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is optional.

User Reviews (62)

Showing 1-10 of 62  
Gonuclear   [Nov 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Boxster 2.7
Strength:

Reliable, strong, and quick. Priced right.

Weakness:

The Tiptronic shift buttons on the steering wheel are easy to bump by accident. Long trips in a tightly sprung sports car can be uncomfortable.

This is a great car and fun to drive. I use it mostly to commute to work and love the way it handles. I don't miss the extra horsepower that the S model offers. I learned long ago when I used to autocross that adding power rarely makes up for everything else that the car and driver need for quickness. I think that Porsche really got it right when they introduced the Boxster. It truly is a reasonably priced sports car with excellent handling ability, reliability, and very few of the maintenance headaches of earlier Porsche cars.

Similar Products Used: I sold my 83 911SC after I bought the Boxster. The 911 was a continuous maintenance headache even after I dumped thousands into it for repairs. My wife hated the 911, would not drive it, too twitchy for her. She loves the well behaved Boxster with it's Tiptronic gear box and power everything. The 911 was a wolf and we were both glad to see it go.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Pete   [Dec 09, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Porsche boxster
Strength:

- Strong engine.
- So far, very dependable at starts.
- Attracts attention
- fuel efficient

Weakness:

Telescopic steering is a pain and you can hear any bumps you run over.

Powerful beautifully designed vehicle. This vehicle has over 101,300 miles and still running strong as if it was new. No leaks, used ToyoProxies07 which enables a quiet ride and the only problem is the transcendant light for digital clock burnt out, other than that, vehicle in excellent condition and running strong. Really sorry to hear so many having such horrific problems with engine and/ or electronics, my understanding is that most cars having so many problems are the ones manufactured at Finland versus Germany. If you open driver side door and look at sticker, it'll show where car was manufactured.

Similar Products Used: - 98 corvette
- 01 TT roadster
- 01 Honda S2000
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Tyler   [Nov 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Porsche Boxster
Strength:

Amazing Handling. Build Quality. Exhaust Note is second to none. Great Gas mileage. Great Looking. Reliable, CHEAP! Top Down Motoring at its best

Weakness:

Tight Cabin(6'4"), Wheel does not tilt. Rear Window is terrible to keep clean. Feel every nuance of the road.

There are a lot of Boxsters out there so take your time. I waffled over a 911SC, 930, even a 996. I decided that I wasn't really in to spending that much on a used Porsche. I looked at an inexpensive 01 Boxster at a local trusted dealer ($22.5K w/38K Miles). I finally decided to take my chance on Ebay and couldn't be happier. The car looks great, clean, reliable, and well maintained with only 25K miles! This is the best sports car bargain around! Hands down. I have had sporty BMW's and an Audi TT. There is nothing you can throw at this thing that it can't handle.

Similar Products Used: 2000 Audi TT, 1999 BMW 328I Sport
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick C   [Sep 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Porsche Boxster S
Strength:

so many options, mine came with hard top which looks great, PSM (tracktion control) Heated seats, 18in wheels and the rare M030 suspension package.

this car gets alot of attention especialy when its a hot color like speed yellow. women love it and other porsche drivers will wave you by when you speed down the street.

Handeling- amazing

sound- uniquely porsche but a nice exhaust will make it even better

steering- great feedback

suspension- great out of the box but M030 makes it rock!

trunk space- hey two trunks not bad

cornering speed- you dont need to brake in hairpin turns.

Weakness:

Plastic Rear window- You must carefuly maintain this or else it will scratch and haze, i really hate it.

Gas mileage- 18/25 says window sticker but i have been getting 14/18 but thats because i drive the city alot.

no tilt wheel- My Vw GTI had telescoping and tilt but this only has the telescoping.

I am a car enthusiast, living in beautiful sunny california in a coastal town so in my search for a car the boxster s was a key candidate. I wanted something different, bang for the buck, great looking and practical. People who dislike this car have not driven it and are fake enthusiast who dont appreciate the dynamics of a car. This car is mid-engine and has ballanced power, of which pretty much all hit the pavement. Porsche got the formula right when it came to this car. if your looking for pure driving excitement, and want to roll to your favorite friday night venue in style, then buy this car used. its the same price of a new accord, or WRX but unlike these cars this one has a soul and character. Yea WRX-STI has 300hp but it looks like a kit car, or project car. so what if it can smoke other cars, so can a shopping cart with a turbo engine.

Similar Products Used: 2003 VW GTI- my last car, good pick up but no comparison to this, similar interior quality though

2004 Audi S4- my other candidate, similar performance but feels like a sedan and will never be a sport car, its just an expensive A4.

2002 Mercedes-Benz CLK 55- Another Candidate, very numb steering feel, raw power, too subtle. great interior quality.

2000 Porsche 911- similar to boxster in every way except that the back comes out more and it doesnt have the same great handeling feel, it only scores points in raw power.

2002 BMW M roadster- another candidate, very small interior, cheap parts, great looks but not that great. Boxster S has better lines. M has awersome power though

2003 BMW M3- A euro civic, handels great, feels great, but its become to much of a tuners car and is played out. it has sedan characteristics not sport car feel.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
drhlau   [Nov 21, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Boxster
Strength:

Porsche name....that's ALL and ONLY ALL.

Weakness:

Electronics problems. Problems with pride, representation of eir brand since 1989. Would NOT buy another Porsche again pre-1989, they just lost their "center of gravity" and greatly declined in quality/reliabilty. I HAD a great respect. Sorry dudes...the Japanese have you guys beat...and until you realize that...

This car is O.K. I've wanted a Porsche since the 7th grade. The handling is OK, same as my 95 Miata. The performance is OK. I've owned one....great...I've just sold it...sorry dudes...your'e reliablity has gone down the drink. I can say I've followed up on my Junior High School dream... but Porsche Pride and Craftmanship as alot to catch up on.

Similar Products Used: 1996 Mazda Miata (Porsche can learn from these guys). BMW Z3 (BMW can learn from Mazda). Lexus SC 400 (Still have)
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
A Banks   [Oct 20, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Boxster w/Sprot Package
Strength:

Best used value around. Looks, feel, exhaust note, Porsche heritage. Can't be in a bad mood for long when behind the wheel. All the good stuff without the big sticker. Attention getter. Your friends think you robbed a bank, in reality they paid more for their pickups.

Weakness:

Attention getter (cops). Way too tempting to wind up in 2nd around town. Every teen in a Civic or similar POS will want to race. Oil leaks. Aftermarket parts expensive. Now I have to get an S.

The steal of the century. You can find these in pristine condition at bargain prices. If you've driven American "sports" cars like me, this will be a revelation to you. Handling and braking are a world apart from others in this price range. Acceleration off the line is not blistering, but you will soon be all smiles and going much faster than you think when you get the revs up. Top down 100+mph. Very dependable so far, one small oil leak. Buy one, NOW!

Similar Products Used: Camaros, Stangs, had a XJ Jag, so unreliable, why did I ever think these were where it was at?!?!?!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
trearx   [Apr 07, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Porsche Boxster S
Strength:

Attention seeker

Weakness:

Poor build quality and horrific service

So excited to get my first "exotic" and what a disappointment. The car has been in the shop more than out and has even had a new engine by 30,000 miles. I don't drive the car hard at all, in fact its just for fun. The dealer doesn't seem know how to fix it, nor do they get in a hurry. The usual trip is 10 days, of course the last visist was one full month!!! I do enjoy the car when running but PLEASE consider alternatives, I will never buy another Porsche product. Terrible product and service is even worse....

Similar Products Used: 93 mustang gt 97 mitsubishi 3000 gt
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Chris93109   [Jan 14, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Boxster S
Strength:

Fun factor. You just love to drive this car.....and you will wish that other people would drive faster.

Weakness:

Couple times a year you will wish you had a bigger car to carry stuff. Use your other car in that case.

This is a totally fun car to drive. I have owned for over a year now and I have yet to be disappointed about driving anywhere. Give me an excuse to go somewhere please! Probably too much preformance for 99% of the people out there who just can't seem to drive. Why do you buy this car...?? Cause you want an absolutely fun car to drive. And it is a convertible! Are there more practical cars out there...well of course. Many of them. But there are only a few times a year that I wish I had a bigger car, and far more times that I can't imagine not having this car. It is really low so you you have to be careful over bumps. There is a lot of trunk space (2 of them). Once I went to Costco w/ my wife and we bought a whole cart load that was over flowing w/ stuff. Ok, have to use both trunks in that case. If you only have one car then I can see buying a BMW 3 series or a G35, but if you happen to have 2 cars in your family then go for the fun and get the porsche, especially in warm climates. Or, if you dont want a German car and want to buy American...get the new vet. Nissan 350Z...I am not into it at all. Honda S2000..maybe, but not the same league as the Porsche. But get a good price on this car as it comes kinda pricy if you buy new. I have owned trucks all my life and now that I have this car I dont think I will ever own another truck. Maybe if they made a real hybrid truck. I laugh now at those big SUVs and trucks that I fly by....

Similar Products Used: Jeeps, Toyota trucks and lots of other test drives.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Grantsfo   [May 23, 2004]
Model Reviewed: base 2.7
Strength:

The Boxsters handling is one of its strong suits. The chassis is very stiff. Ride quality of this car is outstanding. Seats are very comfortable.

Weakness:

The base 2.7 does lack low end torque, but once your in 4500+ RPM range there is plenty power. Small quality issues with paint, oil leaks and leaking AC drain plug. The car is priced well, but I would buy a used one due to resale values that have dropped.

The Boxster is a very well balanced GT style roadster. Porsche has combined great ride quality and some comforts on a very capable chassis. They are still working small quality issues with their contract manufacturer Valmet. My car has had several small problems. None serious.

Similar Products Used: I have driven 914's that are more true to original Porsche design from 1950 to 1980's. The 914 was 1000lbs lighter than the Boxster and feels more like a true sportscar. 914 makes transitions in corners more quickly. 914 also returned gas mileage figures around 36 MPG highway compared to the Boxster that has hard time getting anything more than low 20's. Boxster is more of a wine country cruiser that can be dragged out to a track event. 914 is easier for home mechanic to work on than the Boxster. Boxster offers much more power, better ride quality and convieniences of a modern car. However the 914 is still my favorite to drive when in the corners.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Grantsfo   [May 23, 2004]
Model Reviewed: base 2.7
Strength:

The Boxsters handling is one of its strong suits. The chassis is very stiff. Ride quality of this car is outstanding. Seats are very comfortable.

Weakness:

The base 2.7 does lack low end torque, but once your in 4500+ RPM range there is plenty power. Small quality issues with paint, oil leaks and leaking AC drain plug. The car is priced well, but I would buy a used one due to resale values that have dropped.

The Boxster is a very well balanced GT style roadster. Porsche has combined great ride quality and some comforts on a very capable chassis. They are still working small quality issues with their contract manufacturer Valmet. My car has had several small problems. None serious.

Similar Products Used: I have driven 914's that are more true to original Porsche design from 1950 to 1980's. The 914 was 1000lbs lighter than the Boxster and feels more like a true sportscar. 914 makes transitions in corners more quickly. 914 also returned gas mileage figures around 36 MPG highway compared to the Boxster that has hard time getting anything more than low 20's. Boxster is more of a wine country cruiser that can be dragged out to a track event. 914 is easier for home mechanic to work on than the Boxster. Boxster offers much more power, better ride quality and convieniences of a modern car. However the 914 is still my favorite to drive when in the corners.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 62  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com