Toyota MR2 Sports

MR2

The Toyota MR2 is a mid engined, rear-wheel drive, 2-seater sports car manufactured by Toyota Motors Corporation of Japan. Mark I, II and III are the three commonly known generations of MR2. The Mark I or the first generation is produced from 1985 to 1989. It uses two types of engine such as the normally aspirated version manufactured from 1985-1989 and the supercharged version produced from 1985-1989.

Produced from 1990-1995 and extended until 1999 for Japan and other countries is the second generation MR2 or the Mark II. It comes equipped with two engine versions, the normally aspirated manufactured from 1990-1995 and the turbocharged produced from 1990-1995. The third generation or Mark III commonly known as the MR2 Spyder is considered as the first convertible model. It is produced from 2000 with its normally aspirated and turbocharged engine version. Its classic creation is better known to be boosted by MR2 Toyota Parts. Fit, precise, and top-quality are the distinct characteristics of these parts.

User Reviews (144)

Showing 1-10 of 144  
Mister Deadman   [Aug 07, 2008]
Model Reviewed: MR2 NA
Strength:

Handling: Provides good feedback and responds accutely to driver input. This car is very nimble for the price you pay!

Reliability: It has a bulletproof engine, and Toyota quality parts pretty much all around. Be careful with the trainsmission, though as they are known to develop a 5th gear popout in older models.

Comfort: The cabin is roomy, and the seats hug you pretty firmly. The ride quality is nothing to write home about, but for a sports car, it's not too shabby.

Weakness:

Looks: this car is... ugly.

Body: It will rust in the fedners and quarter panels so watch out!

Oversteer: These cars can snap into oversteer suddenly if pushed past their cornering limit - be wary of this if you panic easily or lack experience.

Trim: The trim on these cars is metal along the rear of the cabin. Over time it has become brittle on my car and makes an incredibly annoying rattle intermittently. Nothing the right glues wont fix, but annoying none the less.

Maintenence: though simple in terms of functionality, these cars can be difficult to work on, because they have engine bays that are cramped.

Overall, great value for money. I payed 3400 and got an 86 NA with 62,XXX miles on it.

This car is immensely reliable, and fairly simple to work on.

It corners very well, but is prone to snap oversteer should you push it on an uneven surface or one with some other form of compromised traction.... Use it where it's safe! Hahaha. One way to combat this is to use slightly wider rear tires than front.

In a straight line, this car is rather a let down - it's surely no muscle car and has no low end grunt. It's cornering ability makes up for this though, and it sings at high rpm.

It's strangely practical. By that I mean it's not only roomy for a 2-seater (my 6'2" football player buddy rides shogun with no issues), but it also is very capable of being driven every day, for a multitude of tasks in varying weather conditions.

Overall, a good all-rounder. It offers a pleasing driving experience - at low RPM and relaxed driving its a great cruiser, but send the engine over 4500 revs and it puts on its terminator suit and seems to jump to life all around you.

---

I gave this car a Value Rating of 5 stars because it is a STEAL for the low prices they command. Great reliability and practicality without sacrificing sportiness. It's easily worth half again the price I paid for it.

My overall rating, I gave it 4 stars because although it is a great piece of engineering, it lacks a little in the styling department, is very low on power, is frequently plagued by cancer (rust) and overall is simply not a flawless gem. A great product yes, but it does have errors.

Similar Products Used: 1993 Acura integra: Equally as good, more practical but less fun and not as unique!

1987 Corvette: More power on tap, more focused, too - you can tell it's a sprts car by design. but with worse fuel economy and a harsher ride.

2005 Scion Xa: Similar fuel economy, and equally impressive reliability. Torquier on the low end, but heavy, and tall - designed purely for transport and not a "driver's car".
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
tammyln   [May 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: mr-2
Strength:

fast,sleek and gorgeous

Weakness:

none

I hear all the comments that seem to be from young guys.Thats great..However this car has no age limit. and not just for guys..I have owned my MR-2 for 15 years and love it as much today as the day I made the purchase.You cannot ask for a better car..And its beauty speaks for itself.Good luck MR-2 lovers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JoshBill   [Dec 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: mr2 turbo
Strength:

very fast turn's heads and females love ridin in it u dont see many around, t tops leather interior what more is thier to ask for

Weakness:

Ive had the car for almost a year drive like a 17 year old kids sopposed to drive it and it starts up everytime couldn't think of a weakness besides drivin in the snow

This car is straight nasty all i did so far was put a boost controller on it and a air intake 16' by 8'' tires in the back hondas dsm's forget about it firebird formula's z28's forget about it feels so good to dust on brand new mustang gt's after they laugh at you and then after the race you let them know it's a 91 almost stock 4 cylinder it doesnt make them older v8 guys happy let me tell ya just for the simple fact that they spend so much money to get their cars fast then they get beat i pop the lid and its bone stock and dusty their amazed and they pop their hoods it's aftermarket parts galore it's a good feelin let me tell ya ive also owned a 93 n/a and 3 first generation rx-7's although i love those cars they just dont compare to the power of the ol mister 2 it's a great car and females love u cant really go wrong with the mr2, not to mention all the different ways to get more power out of them i can only imagine what one of these things are like fully built considering the fact that i have only spent about 200 dollars on after market parts and can't find to many cars that are daily drivin that can keep up ive even outran a few o6 wrx's it's just amazing to me that this car was maid in 91 it seems like toyota was a little ahead of it's time when they came out with the mr2 It's an all around good car if your an entuisist that loves to go fast and the list of victum's goes on

Similar Products Used: rx7's other wise nothing compares
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike   [Aug 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: mr2 turbo
Strength:

fast, and just plain great.

Weakness:

its almost too good athat i dont want to drive it

i paid 3500 from an elderly couple who had it garage kept since it was made. it has 14,000 miles on it, not 140,000, but 14,000. its pretty mutch brand new. the mr2 is an excelent, fast, beutifull car. great handeling, all the speed you need for stock.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rus   [Oct 11, 2005]
Model Reviewed: MKII Turbo
Strength:

Handling and road feel Acceleration Torque!!!

Weakness:

None

Sold my BMW 540i after getting too many tickets and paying our the nose for insurance. Decided I wanted a cheap project sports car I could fix up, without breaking the bank. Considerd the 3000GT, M3, another Z, etc. and finally decided I wanted an MR2. I always liked the way they looked. After seaching for a few weeks I found a cheap turbo needing some work. I negotiated the price on the phone and then drove 6 hours to get it with a friend. What a great car. I've had it 2 years now and still love it. Actually, I love it more now because it's all tricked out. There is a ton of easy stuff to do to it to make it faster, better, etc. Mine has aftermarket air scoop, intake, intercooler, turbo, exhaust, Momo wheel, Momo wheels, etc. Mine has no power steeting and no ABS, which I think is the bomb. The feel of the car is excellent. If you like sports cars and like to drive, find an MR2 and buy it immediately. You will then know what you've been searching for. Rus 91T

Similar Products Used: 1983 Nissan 280ZX, 1995 BMW 540i
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
aigga   [Feb 11, 2005]
Model Reviewed: toyota mr2 turbo
Strength:

turbo, weight distribution, looks

Weakness:

none

I've got the turbo model of the mr2 and it is fantastic. I used to own a 1990 300zx, (non-turbo unfortunately), and the mr2 is better in almost every way. Fortunately, I got one with fairly low miles, 75k to be exact, and owned by an elderly couple so it’s still in very good condition. The car is still stock by the way, but I plan to modify it when I get the chance ($$$). This car is a blast to drive, hugs the corners, light front end, great throttle response, and of course the sound of the turbo spooling when you step on the gas ;). Believe me when I say this car does boost the ego just a tad. I get looks everywhere I go, especially from the ladies. I love hearing compliments about my car and had many girls hit on me and also a 40 year old woman!! But besides that, I love this car and performance wise this car is top-notch. Just be careful with this car if you are going to buy it, especially the turbo model, due to the mid engine design because the back end can whip around fast if you are not careful (snap oversteer). Just make sure you test the limits on an autocross or a huge empty parking lot and not on the streets. I know because I have spun out many a time but slowly getting used to it. Just remember to not back off the throttle in a turn since you are going to need traction to those wheels with about 60 percent of the weight in the rear. Body roll is almost non-existent. I'm sure with a nice set of coilovers; the handling would be near perfection. The braking in the car is probably one of the best parts. The Z’s experienced major fade and the ABS on it was nowhere near as excellent as the MR2s brakes. It is very even about your head does not jerk forward like in most other front engine cars, just a smooth and even feel. Shifting is smooth and precise; the interior well is laid out with a cockpit view. You would think this car would have major blind spots but it really doesn't, it is very good for a car this small. Reliability wise is a different matter. It all depends on how you drive it or how it was driven. I've heard of a 91' MR2 turbo lasting over 200k on the stock motor and turbo!! Mine currently has nearly 80k now and the only thing I've had to repair was the master and slave cylinder (450 bucks, ouch!). These cars also eat up the rear tires fairly quick as you can imagine so I recommend a good lasting tire and not something too "sticky" if you are on a budget. I'm still in school attending college, so I can't do much to this car now except intake, exhaust, a maybe a boost controller, but I love this car to death and will never sell it unless I have to.

Similar Products Used: 90 300zx, 91 camry, 90 celica
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paladin   [Sep 18, 2004]
Model Reviewed: N/A, Dark-Green
Strength:

1) Beautiful & aggressive looks (You'll get loads of girls with this!) 2) Amazing acceleration (Especially when you hit @ 2,000RPM) 3) Perfect handling & seat position (Together give you a total direct feel & control over the vehicle) 4) Gearbox, handle & very smooth shifting 5) Wide selection of aftermarket parts

Weakness:

WARNING! DRIVE CAREFULLY ON WET ROADS! DO NOT RACE WHEN IT IS NOT DRY! Accelerate fast in a corner and it will make you spin all over the road. (There's always a dry day to come, and there's no shame in living to race another day).

Top of the chart, highest rating. I dreamed about this car for years, and now I sold everything I had as a student to buy it. At 20 years old I bought my first sports-car. This car is beautiful, fast and comfortable. It is a good feeling when you turn hears as you drive in the city centre (Amsterdam, The Netherlands), and it is an even better feeling when you feed dust to jumped-up fools at drag-racing or long drive races (I mean street racing, which I start every time I don't like the way someone passes me). It is a perfect car that is all I want to say. There is nothing I would complain about.

Similar Products Used: Nothing to compare.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
WideMR2   [Mar 09, 2004]
Model Reviewed: MR2 Turbo
Strength:

power upgrades, handing, looks, it's just a great car.

Weakness:

wide body kit is $$$ to put on. Boost cut

This is ultimate mid-engine car under $80,000. Great looks, awesome handling, and good power. This car is great form the factory, but is unstoppable with aftermarket parts. From a wide range of body kits, to massive turbo kits. You can go from bumpers and side skirts to a kit that will cover about 75% of the car and make it about 5 inches wider. As far as turbo kits go, you can go from just an bolt on turbo for 300hp or go bigger with new exhaust/intake manifolds, down pipe, external wastegates, and a huge turbo for over 550hp. Not much extra space inside the cabin for shopping bags, but plenty for a 6 foot person like me. Their is a small trunk in the front and a larger one in the back. I love the way the dash is set up, couldn't done better myself. With a coilover setup and a few other extras, this car can pull over one G on the skidpad. I know how good these cars can get, because I have done just under half of what I want to do with it and its already one crazy car.

Similar Products Used: NSX,Supra,EVO,STI
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
k2mr2   [Feb 25, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Toyota MR2 Turbo
Strength:

Handling Style easily tuneable quick many different trim levels and designs the perfect feel good weekend/track car

Weakness:

if you dont know how to control a MR car, it can bite you, if you drive stupid, it will treat you as such.

THE sports car. It's at the top of the list for a reason. you wont find a better track ready car for the money.

Similar Products Used: 1997 Toyota Celica, 1993 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
josephah2000   [Feb 13, 2004]
Model Reviewed: MR2 Turbo
Strength:

It is fast! It handles beyond belief.

Weakness:

None.

Wow! This baby is fast, fast, fast. It came with a GReddy Electronic Turbo Booster, K&N Air Intake System and of course a Turbo. I always wanted this car just because I really felt it would someday become a classic. I didn't realize was a such a performance car.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 144  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com