Buick Rendezvous SUV | Crossover

Buick Rendezvous SUV | Crossover 

DESCRIPTION

The Rendezvous is a 4-door, up to 7-passenger sport-utility, available in two trims, the CX and the CXL. Both trims are equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 196-horsepower engine that achieves 19-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway. A 4-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 28  
[Jun 25, 2011]
Sam
Model Reviewed: Buick Rendezvous CXL

Strength:

Comfortable ride, seating. Gas mileage 20-24

Weakness:

No power lift trunk lid

This has been such a great car...now with 108k on it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 23, 2009]
ccase
Model Reviewed: Buick Rendezvous CLX 2WD

Strength:

comfortable seating, lots of room when seats are down for storage, backup warning indicators. Nice CD changer.

Weakness:

I have replaced wheel bearings 4X, head gasket problems, tie rods, 2 computer processors, ABS & traction problems constantly, among other things. I don't expect it to be maintenance free but it has cost me a fortune in repairs, each time you think that will be it for a while and then something else goes wrong within weeks. When driving, too many blind spots. Driver memory settings don't always work. Window tracks. Terrible in the snow. My next vehicle won't be a GM product.

I am not happy with this vehicle for many reasons. The downfalls outweigh the benefits of this vehicle for me and I would not recommend it. It has about 125,000 km on it which is not bad for a seven year old vehicle, and it is still a major problem for me.

Similar Products Used:

Chevrolet Venture - many problems
Nissan Altima - no problems at all

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 20, 2008]
Bridget
Model Reviewed: Rendezvous

Strength:

style and layout

Weakness:

quality of parts are cheap, short lived, and defective. Problems still developed even after being owned by a senior citizen for 1st 5 years who only drove it 7000 mi/yr and stored it some winters. maintenance history was perfect..... sad and patehetic reliability.

My intake manifold Gasket is leaking. I only have 39000 miles on it!! Apparently this is VERY common in these vehicles as well as many other GM's. A national class action lawsuit against GM currently has a preliminary settlement agreement that is going to be under approval by the judge at the end of this month for owners who have had this problem fixed already for this vehicle prior to May 30th 2008, and many other GM's. The information can be found by web searching "GM class action lawsuit". The state of Missouri has their own individual class action lawsuit out! Obviously a pretty significant/common problem and defect! I contacted GM asking for assistance covering this defective part repair ($950 estimate) since they put the faulty part in the vehicle that is affecting almost all owners. THEY REFUSED. They said that because I was a 2nd owner, and THEY did not finacially benifit from my purchasing the vehicle because it was not purchased from a GM dealer and purchased it "as is" Interstingly enough, you dont have to be the original owner to get reimbursement from the class action lawsuit. In my opinion, GM does not stand behind their vehicles, and the parts they put into them. No Wonder so many people buy foreign cars

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 08, 2008]
Joe Pullen
Model Reviewed: CL

Strength:

The mileage (23 MPG combined)I feel is pretty good considering its size. Visibility is good and I still like its styling and cargo space (I don't have the 3rd row seating)

Weakness:

I've replaced the wheel bearings 3x; front struts twice and need them again, and my head gasket fell apart, apparently due to the coolant that GM uses. The car is in the shop now because 1 of 3 computer processors has died. The float sensor in the gas tank also failed, so now I'm guessing my miles between fill ups. I estimate I have about $3500 in repairs to do before the car is 100%.

Given the way I take care of my cars, it should be a no brainer that I would get over 200k. I've spent the money to keep the car running because I had to!

My brother has a much older Toyota with over 300K miles and still has his original clutch!!! I like my car but my next one will be a Toyota. I'm just hoping this one lasts me another 6 months.

I've had problems with this car, and they continue, but this is also the first vehicle I've driven more than 200,000 miles. It's the right size car for me with decent gas mileage, and still looks good. Folks who look at it don't believe it's 5 years old with 200K miles

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 03, 2008]
juliacaro
Model Reviewed: CXL

Strength:

Extras (XM radio, DVD player, heated seats, etc.), third row seating, gas mileage.

Weakness:

Little storage or cargo space.

What a great car for a great price. I love all of the "extras" and the gas mileage and the surprise third row seating! It's very comfortable and seems to be in a class of its own for affordability and features.

Similar Products Used:

I've always had a big SUV or minivan. This is a perfect compromise.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 02, 2008]
kooter
Model Reviewed: 02 Buick Rendezvous cx

Strength:

Can't think of any

Weakness:

Everything

It is true everything that can go wrong does. All the major engine and tranny problems are true. Also misc. interior lighting, radio, and other interior things are very annoying. Vehicle is not worth buying.

Similar Products Used:

minivans, equinox

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 13, 2007]
Randall
Model Reviewed: Buick Rendezvous

Strength:

Lot's of storage. Good for travelling, when it works.

Weakness:

Besides the poor quality design and manufacture, I personally found the seats to be hard. Dashboard is chintzy.

Without a doubt, the worst vehicle I have ever owned. I have replaced and repaired so many things, I can barely keep up. Have also had to repair things I have never had to repair in any other vehicle I have owned. Had the wheel bearings changed on both front wheels, a leak at the intake manifold, complete failure of the air conditioning system, fan motor replaced twice, electrical computer sensor replaced (the warning chimes wouldn't shut off even when the car was off!. I could go on, but the bottom of the line is that if you ever win this car in a contest, refuse to take it!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 28, 2007]
Jacqueline Hill
Model Reviewed: Buick Rendezvous Ultra

Strength:

Inside of this Ultra is beautiful!!! Love all the bells and whistles. Drives well and spacey like a larger SUV.

Weakness:

Transmission transfer case-look out!!!

Loved it until transfer case had to be replaced. Took 10 days to get car back and 2500.00 covered it under warranty.

Similar Products Used:

Ford Expedition, Crysler minivan

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 03, 2007]
Ray Podskoch
Model Reviewed: Buick Rendezvous

Strength:

Roomy design, great headroom, comfortable, nice extras.

Weakness:

The mechanical design is lacking. Poor gas milage. Does not live up to a Buick name.

Worst car ever owned! Bought Certified Used from dealer as Exec Car w/5,400 mi.-currently 51,000 after 3yrs. By 7,000 had exhaust replaced. To date had 5 Hub Bearings replaced. Head Gasket replaced at 41,000. Struts on lift gate malfunctioned causing the hatch to hit me in the head. Constantly has uncommanded ABS actvitiy which then disables the AWD. Tie Rods replaced at 50,000. 4 sets of brakes (rotor/drums), OnStar Module, Parking Brake wouldn't disengage, and just yesterday, the handle to close the liftage just...tore off!
Ergonimcally, this car has ample headroom, great styling, and comfy seating and room. But mechanically, WHAT A NIGHTMARE! Buy at your own discretion.

Similar Products Used:

If you are shopping for a long term vehicle (SUV) - stick to imports!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 28, 2007]
Stacie Waymire
Model Reviewed: Buick Rendezvous

Strength:

It is a beautiful car, but looks are deceiving!!!

Weakness:

Everything under the hood and under the body. Everything that is mechanical!

This is by far the vehicle with the most repairs in the world!!! I have had to replace the engine, the air conditioner the drive shaft, and the transmission is going out! I only have 55,000 miles on this car and I can't pay anyone to take it from me! I am spending more money to repair the car than it is worth! I couldn't be more unhappy with a vehicle! The extended warrantys do not cover anything! The dealership and GM are both not backing their product!!! STAY AWAY!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used:

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix 2005 Chevy Malibu 2000 Dodge Durango 1999 Dodge Grand Caravan Sport

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com