Ford Bronco (1996 and older) SUV | Crossover

Bronco (1996 and older)

The Ford Bronco is a sport utility vehicle that was produced from 1966 to 1996, with five distinct generations. The original Bronco was an ORV (Off-Road Vehicle), intended to compete primarily with Jeep CJ models and the International Harvester Scout. The redesign of the second generation Bronco in 1978 was based on a shortened full sized F-100 pickup. It had a removable top and forward folding rear bench seat, similar to the competing Blazer.

(1980 - 1986) The Ford Bronco received a major redesign for 1980, coinciding with the F-Series pick-up truck. The new Bronco was shorter, and had cosmetic changes along with powertrain, suspension and other odds and ends.

(1992 - 1996) The Ford Bronco, along with the F-Series truck, was updated for 1992. The new Bronco was redesigned with safety in mind, incorporating front crumple zones, rear shoulder seat belts, a third brakelight embedded in the removable top, and after 1994, driver-side airbags.

User Reviews (253)

Showing 1-10 of 253  
Austin   [Jul 15, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ford Bronco Eddie Bauer
Strength:

looks interior and exterior space power easy to upgrade lots of comfort for passengers front and back seats electric 4x4 engage

Weakness:

gas milage But its worth it for a good truck

I bought this bronco for college because i needed more room in the interior than a truck and it was the best investment of my life Im never going to sell it It has a 5.8 liter V8 in it and is one of the strongest trucks i will ever drive

Similar Products Used: K5 Blazer but it still was too old and weak to hang with the 96 Bronco
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ghost   [Mar 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 1981 ford bronco
Strength:

lots of power, very dependable, and lots of room, it makes u feel powerful

Weakness:

gas guzzler,and a little rust

i love my bronco it haves a 5" lift with 35" tires. i love the power it has a big block 400 which will easily roll those tires its great.

Similar Products Used: 1986 ford bronco XLT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   [Mar 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ford Bronco
Strength:

Power, reliability, strength, room, its a Ford

Weakness:

Gas hog, rust

I got a 90 Bronco with the 5.8 and i love it. It has lots of power, room just everything about it is asome. I do wish that they would of put a diesel in it but o well. I have over 200,000 thousand on mine and it starts every morrning and drives at least 100 miles a day.For the most part is kinda stock and have only had a few problems. This trucks are great.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Steve Boomer   [Aug 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Bronco
Strength:

Looks, removable top, decent power

Weakness:

Reliability

Typical Ford. Front end was completly shot after first trip offroading. Through a rod going 80 mph and engine lit on fire. I would have let it burn if I had better insurance. I Replaced 5.0 engine and the transmission started slipping three days later. In side of door rusted out and I inadvertently ripped the handle off (I JB welded it all together again). Steering was messed up after taking an ramp too fast. (I was too angry to even think about fixing it). Traded it in a year after purchasing it. I got $4500 for it from a Toyota dealership. Those fools were so stupid that they should be taken out back and shot.

Similar Products Used: 1994 Ranger, 2001 Windstar, 2002 Durango,
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
J   [Jul 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Bronco
Strength:

Could haul almost anything.

Weakness:

Gas Hog! Possessed by the devil.

This thing was possessed by the devil himself. I had the bronco for a year and it never ran right. I would take it to the shop just to put it back within a day or two later. When we first got it we had a complete tune up and a new battery then it wouldnt run right had to take it back and have the catalytic convertor replaced. It worked for oh about one month and the starter went out. Had that fixed and the next day I was driving it and it shut off on me. So we had the alternator replaced. It ran okay for about a week and wouldnt start the one day. Well after that I got rid of it. I was spending $400 a month for the gas alone and have put at least $2500 into repairs within 6 months.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Kimberly   [Apr 18, 2007]
Model Reviewed: XLT
Strength:

Power, size, styling.

Weakness:

It did have alot of rusting in tail gate area. Notthing a good body man couldn't fix. After all it is a 1989 model.

I've always loved the Ford Bronco since I was a little kid. I like thier size, style, and over all performance. I've had mine completly overhauled. New paint, rebuilt engine, added on a grill guard, new stereo, ect...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cody Brown   [Feb 15, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Full size Bronco
Strength:

power, size, sounds great, and roomy

Weakness:

tell gates rusted and has no back window, has a rocker arm get loose. gas hog

i've had my bronco for about 7 month and hasn't broken down yet. i saw it in front of the dealler ship and fell in love instantly. it's been through mud, snow, ice and an occasional golf course sand trap. its my first bronco but defanatly not my last. its all i will ever drive.

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   [Jan 14, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Eddie Bauer Bronco
Strength:

Windsor 351, Comfort, F250 power, and great manuverabilty and handling

Weakness:

They don't make them still and if they did they should have a superduty front end

Wow this is a great rig I have looked and looked for one that did not have the crap kicked out of the body or the interior on the trails. I finally found one that was owned by an old man who took car of it and sold it cause it needed a new pan gasket. So far with a tune up and new shocks with BFG AT KO's nothing has been in its way off or on the street. Its goes through mudd no problem, ice and snow, the street it rides like a linclon. I'm throughly im pressed with the rig and will keep it till it dies and the give it a new motor.

Similar Products Used: 1994 F250, 1991 F150, 1996 jeep loredo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dean   [Jan 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: bronco
Strength:

these rucks go over or through what ever you point it at. very comfortable ride even with out the armrest.

Weakness:

rust-gas mileage-electrical

i bought this truck to beat and leave in the woods after a romp. After driving it home, I did not have the heart to do it. It drove so nice. It was a PA truck and pretty rusted out. The driver rocker and floor came out about 700 miles in to the trucks new life. I replaced all of that and the truck was so soilid after that i was in love. I wish i had a nice bronco!!
I travel alot so i keep her on a automatic battery charge and put sta-ble in the in a fulltank when i am gone. It starts every time. the steel wheels are good to go, never leak.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joe   [Nov 07, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Bronco XLT
Strength:

Powerful, big, spacious.

Weakness:

gas. Paint chips on the hood.

I love this beast. i have always wanted a Bronco and bought this 2 years ago. I is pretty much stock and it keeps up witht the best. It has 157,000 miles on it and is running strong. Great for off road use and as a daily driver. I wouldnt drive anything else. 5.8l V8 cant be beat.

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 253  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com