Ford Excursion (2005 and older) SUV | Crossover

Excursion (2005 and older)

(2000 - 2005) The Excursion has three engine choices: a Triton 5.4L 8 cylinder 260 hp gas engine, a Triton 6.8L 10 cylinder 300 hp gas engine and a Power Stroke 7.3L 8 cylinder 235 hp diesel engine. Available in 2 and 4 wheel drive with towing packages starting at 6200 lbs. and ranging up to 10,000 lbs.

User Reviews (117)

Showing 1-10 of 117  
johnny   [Feb 14, 2011]
Model Reviewed: excursion diesel 6.0 limited 4x4
Strength:

I love this truck(SUV) roomy ,strong ,you can almost do any thing with this beast,no limit.

Weakness:

Gas mileage is one of the big issues.

over all I would rate this car 9.

Similar Products Used: Suburban.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
loveerrrrr2   [Nov 04, 2009]
Model Reviewed: xlt
Strength:

the space and room is awesome

Weakness:

oil is constantly having to be changed!
Horrible Gas Milage!!!!!!

Great seating, Great room! HORRIBLE GAS MILAGE AND OIL CHANGE EVERY THREE WEEKS! I have been driving this for about 4 years, the first year was great, gas was a little bad, then it got worse and worse from there,I dont recomende this in the bad economey we have today!!!

Similar Products Used: nothing compares
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
tam fre   [Oct 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: ford limited
Strength:

room, heated seats, its like having a truck and a car all in one.

Weakness:

they dont make it any more.

I love my excursion, there is plenty of room for my family and all my wonderful finds at canton tx. We have halled kids, dogs, feed and the grocies to feed the army. The only truck i want to own, i wish they still made it i would by on today.

Similar Products Used: THERE IS NO OTHER!!!!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fiqky   [Sep 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ford Excursion Limited
Strength:

Roomy, Comfortable, rides high. Plenty of cup holders, plenty of cigarette lighters plugs for front and back.

Weakness:

Not great MPG on gas in the city its about 12 MPG, if you are a clumpsy person then you will find that you will hit the heated seat button while you are getting in the vehicle.

Great Truck, It seats over 8 people comfortably, the truck is great for road trips. Its V10 engine is power, able to handle passengers and towing compacity with no problems at all. Would never trade my Excursion at all. Once you go Excursion its hard to go to any other vehicle.

Similar Products Used: 1991 Ford Explorer
2000 Ford Expedition
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Salim   [Aug 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Excursion Limited 6.0
Strength:

6.0 Powerstroke

Weakness:

Nothing

2005 XLT 5.4
and a 2003 Limited 6.0

GREAT TRUCKS. NO PROBLEMS. WOULD NOT DRIVE ANYTHING ELSE

Similar Products Used: 1994 Bronco was great as well 351 4x4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
phil   [Jun 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: excursion 4x4 EB 6.0 diesel
Strength:

diesel mpg,size,towing,amenities,oppertunitiy to upgrade.

Weakness:

6.0 engine may pose issues, boring exterior, stock tires look small for size of truck, and rain guards dont work well.

bought used, 50k on it, owned buy budweiser before me. so far i have read alot on it and found that the 6.0 engine may be trouble. i hope not. seems to be 50/50.

but so far i love this thing. great mpg for its size. and with gas going up again. i enjoy the diesel price. i owned a land rover discovery, which was my dream truck and still is but it is half the size which horrible mpg. the excursion is getting me about 17.5 to 18.5 mpg mixed city/highway. it is loaded. the inside feels like a flagship of all trucks. the outside is a little plain on design.

i did notice that if their is rain guards on the windows and you have water on the truck. when you have the window down and go to stop water will channel right down onto the door controls. i guess just stop hard first then roll down the window.

Similar Products Used: 2003 land rover discovery
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
jmdtasimmons   [Jan 28, 2008]
Model Reviewed: ford/excursion
Strength:

big vehicle,lots of room

Weakness:

dont have any yet

i looked at these for a long time and never thought i could drive one i finally got behind the wheel of one and i love it. i have three children and i feel as though they are safe in this vehicle. as a stay home mom i dont have to drive much but i get better gas on this than the 03 dodge caravan i purchased 3 months ago.

Similar Products Used: 99 expedition 00 blazer 03 caravan 05 tundra 04 wrangler
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Larry DiFrancesco   [Apr 23, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Excursion Eddie Bauer 6.0 Diesel
Strength:

Safety. Lots of room. Decent gas milage with turbo diesel for size of vehicle. 17 / 22 City Highway. I have actually seen 25 mpg at 50 mph with cruise on. Great range, almost 700 to 900 miles. Lots of power with turbo. Dealer service outstanding...vip service.

Weakness:

Small armrests. Noticed lack of power, dealer installed new turbo and problem solved. A/C had leak.

Love this truck. Great vehicle! Does everything well. The vehicle has a very safe feeling when driving. Handles well in all conditions. Very confortable seats for long trips. If you take long trips, need lots of room and want maximum safety for your family, this is the vehicle for you.

Similar Products Used: BMW X-5, Expedition, Jeep Grand Cherokee
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Baldmtn   [Jan 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ford Excursion
Strength:

Wife loves the X more than me, Gas mileage and the time between fillups (670-800 miles). The backing sensors save her. She likes that it is big and people stay out of her way but after a short time behind the wheel she felt like it didn't "feel" huge anymore. She loves the power and I love how it tows my trailer as if it isn't there (6x10 fully enlcosed with my Harley)

Weakness:

Turning radius, engine noise (although I tell her a diesel is an actual engine) and when it is cold it smokes a bit uipon cranking but goes away quickly.

We love this vehicle! 3,000 mile trips to 3 mile trips this vehicle does it all. Plenty of room for the family and anything you need, even as a replacement for Santas sleigh. Love the huge gas tank and the safety of this vehicle. Gas mileage is great for what it is. Reliable so far (66,000 miles, all ours). DvD player has saved our sanity on many trips.

Similar Products Used: Expedition (not enough storage behind third seat). Suburban (no diesel option)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Truckdriver911   [Feb 06, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Excursion
Strength:

325 hp of diesel power, fuel economy, very reliable - but remember it's a diesel and needs to be treated as such. Plug it in when it gets < 32F, use fuel conditioner, warm it up before flooring it, let the turbo cool off after a hard pull.

Weakness:

Ford stopped making the Excursion and never advertised 18+ mpg for a monster towing machine - what idiots.

Ford Excursion 4x4- 6 liter diesel This is the most underated truck around. I drive 40,000 miles per year. Truck left the dealership and hasn't been back since and it is now approaching 80,000 miles. I change my own oil and grease the chassis every 7500 miles - 4 gallons of Rotella T and a filter from Carquest - about $40/oil change. Fuel filter kit - expensive at dealer, but $40 each on Ebay - every 30K miles. Air filter - bought one on Ebay - $45 - hasn't needed replacing yet! Fuel Economy - consistently over 18 mpg - not bad for 8000 lbs of truck plus 1000 lbs of test gear in back. Performance - I have pulled a forklift and forklift trailer - 16,000 lbs total trailer load - no big deal. Still got 13 mpg. Pulling power - I used it to get my stuck 12,000 lb forklift out of the mud. I used it to retrieve my 2 1/2 ton diesel truck from a mud hole. Other peoples problems - I hear other people saying that they have fuel injector or water in the fuel problems - I started to run fuel conditioner in the winter the first year after the water light kept coming on - no more water problems since, zero injector problems. When I stop using it - the truck does not run as well. Talk to truck drivers - they use the stuff religiously - there is a reason why. Too bad Ford got stupid and dropped the truck - as I wanted to buy another one in 200K miles.

Similar Products Used: 1978 GMC 1 ton Many other trucks
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 117  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com