Isuzu Ascender SUV | Crossover

Isuzu Ascender SUV | Crossover 

DESCRIPTION

Isuzu introduces its largest and most powerful SUV in the Ascender. This three-row, seven-passenger vehicle is offered in two and four wheel drive versions.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 26  
[Jul 22, 2012]
Lisa
Model Reviewed: Ascender 7 passenger 4 WD

Strength:

Space

Weakness:

This is my 2nd Ascender. First one was in the shop 5 times in 18 mos. Electrical problem - never resolved. Second one was fine until recently. Battery has been replaced 3 times in 2 years, On-Star won't shut off, stranded on road trip, water pump replaced, after gassing - check engine light comes on and gauge goes up and down, speedometer works sometimes.

Very disappointed with this Isuzu. I have owned a Rodeo, Trooper and now 2 Ascenders. The quality has seriously gone down. First Ascender was replaced with Lemon Law. Second is about to be replaced with another vehicle. Won't buy Isuzu or recommend them ever again.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Dec 16, 2010]
elicey
Model Reviewed: Isuzu, Ascender

Strength:

Looks good

Weakness:

The radio runs hot, the lights go off when they feel like it, the transmission went after 75000 miles, the gas gauge doesn't work. All over total electrical problems. I absolutely hate this vehicle.

Overall I would say avoid this vehicle at all costs.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 08, 2009]
Eddiesclub
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Ascender 5 Passenger V6

Strength:

Price, Warrenty, Feel, Ride, Looks

Weakness:

Emmissions Sensors, Transmission

I purchased my Ascender new 4 years and 66,000 miles ago and have been satisfied. I just had my first major setback when the transmission inexplicably failed at 66,000 miles. Fortunately, it was fully covered by the warrenty and the dealer has an excellent service department. Although this does not seem to be a common problem with Ascenders I highly recommend that owners have thier transmission checked and serviced before the warrenty expires. Even with this major system failure and a few problems with emmissions sensors I find myself recommending this vehicle.

Similar Products Used:

Isuzu Trooper, Ford Explorer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 31, 2009]
maria
Model Reviewed: 7 passenger

Strength:

Wonderful ride, ice cold air, works great in bad weather, rain, snow,

Weakness:

Gas guzzler

Previously had the Trooper and drove that thing into the ground, never putting money into it. Traded it at 180,000 still running great. Bought the ascender and it has been in the shot at least five times for electrical problems. Left me stranded so many times I can't even count. They have changed out iginition parts twice. Finally changed out the radio. I
ve replaced the battery twice. They won't acknowledge that there has to be problem with the vehicle because i could not have that bad of luck to get three bad batteries.

Similar Products Used:

Isuzu trooper

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 08, 2008]
flacoonie
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Ascender

Strength:

Good ride & power

Weakness:

Electronics and wind noise on highways (lacking door gaskets in door jams).

Main reason for purchase was the GMC straight 6 engine. Rides good with heavy body. Lots of room. Problem has been in it's electronics. Efforts to get rid of the engine light consisted of cleaning grounding harness, replacing ignition switch then finally, replacing instrument panel (over $600). Next problem was cruise control modular. Replacement cost was $704.

More money was spent on maintenance for thr 2003 Isuzu than I spent on a 1980 model I still own.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 21, 2008]
AndreFerrari
Model Reviewed: Ascender

Strength:

Smooth ride, and strong acceleration.

Weakness:

Out of date styling.

Coming from an Isuzu Axiom, i was very impressed. I failed to notice that the Ascender is just a copy of the Trailblazer and the Envoy at the time. Though it has lost all of the traditional traits of Isuzu, it still a very great car. Only problem is that the air conditioner fan doesn't work, but otherwise great car.

Similar Products Used:

2002 Isuzu Axiom

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 03, 2007]
Jennifer Euler
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Ascender

Strength:

Passenger/cargo space

Weakness:

Everything

As a previous Isuzu owner, I was excited to purchase the 7 seater Ascender. That is where all happiness ends. My Rodeo was a dream. This Ascender has been a nightmare. From the dealer not putting oil in the engine when I had an oil change to the check engine light always being on, I have sunk a ton of money into this vehicle and it has been the cause of the last several arguments with my husband. At this point, I wish it would be struck by lightening.

Similar Products Used:

Like I said, the 1997 Rodeo I had was awesome. Too bad the Ascender could not live up to its potential.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 12, 2007]
Bill
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Ascender

Strength:

Lots of room and power

Weakness:

unreliable

Bought this vehicle brand new and it has been in the shop three times. All problems were solved by replacing the ignition switch. One problem was related to the transmission not shifting into fifth gear and when the ignition switch was replaced, all gears returned. Thinking of trading this vehicle soon.

Similar Products Used:

Isuzu Hombre

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Oct 03, 2006]
Sherry
Model Reviewed: ascender

Strength:

Roomy

Weakness:

Has been in shop no less than 50 times. I will never buy from Isuzu again.

This suv is roomy, but I have had alot of problems with it. From the air conditioning to the altonater to the rubber rings around the windows

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 29, 2006]
KamKam30
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Ascender

Strength:

Comfortable, great sounds, plenty cargo space.

Weakness:

The steering wheel does not lock.

I love the ascender it's a great SUV. I traded my rodeo and I was so pleased. It's stylish, comfortable and those guys over @ Pohanka were wonderful. I've been a proud Isuzu driver for the last 5 yrs and I wouldn't change it for anything.

Similar Products Used:

Rodeo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com