Isuzu Trooper SUV | Crossover

Trooper

The Trooper, slightly restyled in 98 comes powered by a 3.5-liter DOHC 24-valve V-6 with 215 hp and a choice of a 5-speed manual or 4-speed automatic transmission. It is only available with 4 wheel drive.

User Reviews (198)

Showing 1-10 of 198  
Jack   [May 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Trooper S
Strength:

Comfort, outward visibility, safety, huge space, reliability, good snow vehicle, high clearance, good approach and departure angles: An off-road beast. Underpriced.

Weakness:

Thirty at the pump. Mediocre air-conditioner.

Ah! The Mountain Goat! I bought this shoe box to use primarily off-road and in the snow. I live at 5,500ft, surrounded by 1.7 million acres of the Los Padres Natl Forest, so I have plenty of fire roads and trails to keep me busy. This SUV has lived up to the reviews before me. It has plenty of space, even for a big oaf like me (I like lots of leg room).

I've driven the goat up trails that would shock your average SUV owner. She's a climber, as long as you have a good set of all-terrains mounted. In fact, she can go almost anywhere my Jeep Wrangler Sport can go. Only the longer wheelbase gets her high-centered sooner. But my Wrangler is noisy, crude, and tight-spaced compared with the Trooper.

Ironically, both the Trooper and the Wrangler get 16mpg, even through the trooper is several hundred pounds heavier. But that fuel mileage hurts, what with prices here in So. California hovering around $3.50 a gallon. I hope I don't read this review a year from now and think, "wow, gas was cheap back then." It has definately reduced the number of times i've reached for the Trooper's keys for longer trips. Still, I have my eyes on another, a '99 model in excellent condition.

I don't think you can go wrong choosing the Trooper, as long as you can live with $70 fill-ups at the pump.

Similar Products Used: Jeep Wrangler Sport.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
heather constante   [May 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: isuzu
Strength:

room, style, you feel good driving it

Weakness:

none

I needed a car for a big family , my husband is 6,3 320lps and is legilly blind and does not drive. I all so have 2 kids and we drive 75 miles a day 5 days a week. and I FOUND MY TROOPER. We got a great deal it had 94,000 miles on it when we bought it. It has needed minor repairs but not as costly as everone told me it whould be. I LOVE MY TROOPER! we have been trying out other cars better on gas millage but I tell you I hated every car I test drove I have yet to find any car truck or suv I whould rather drive.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Raymond Bender   [Feb 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: S
Strength:

Big, heavy. Great off road once you lose the original equipment Bridgestone junk tires. 100K mile drivetrain warranty.

Weakness:

Low gas mileage. Poor original tires. Fan belts sing if not correctly adjusted. Expensive parts and service.

I'm on my third Trooper. My brother had two before they discontinued them.

My 94 had 100K miles on it when I traded it and was still going strong.

It's 2000 replacement lasted one month until a teenager on a learners permit turned in to me head on. The front end of the Trooper was totaled as I hit a utility pole trying to avoid the kid. Only damage to me was powder burns from the air bag.

Bought this 2001 new as a leftover. Now have 75K mile on it five years later. Usual minor problems such as fuel pressure regulator and emmission system gunk. Service at the dealer is costly. I think they have a policy of minimum $300 invoice. Plus the dealer is 30 miles away.

If they still were making the Trooper I would buy one in a heart beat.

At one point several years ago, there were four of them at my deer camp. It's just down to me now as the others have moved on.

Similar Products Used: Jeep Cherokee Limited, Jeep Wagoneer Limited, Mitts. Montero Ltd
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
stantheman   [Dec 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Trooper
Strength:

POWER, DURABILITY, STABILITY and REABILITY. - just don't forget your periodic maintenance service check up. very important!

Weakness:

Can't think of any as far as my experince is concern. But Gas consumption is not an issue for me, just enjoy your RIDE!

As always, I'm very impressed with Isuzu's diesel engines. Trooper was the best SUV full size that Isuzu ever had, it's just sad that they stop manufacturing it and replaced it with a non-comparable substitute "Altera". The trooper handles very well and the "boxy" design and feel just suits my driving style. The power of a Trooper is uncomparable, and th elonger you drive it the better the engine goes. i never tried abusing it though, but some of my friends really drove it as if there will be no tomorrow! imagine trecking and going to cities 'till it reached 1000 miles!!! and it never choked! To those who's thinking to buy a Trooper... GO FOR IT. IT'S THE BEST full size SUV.

Similar Products Used: Ford Expedition, Toyota Fortuner, Toyota Landcruiser.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jamesb   [Oct 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Trroper/ S-PEP
Strength:

4x4, Torque in 4-low, dependability, and space

Weakness:

acceleration, gas mileage

Absolutely amazing i have the 4x4 and i lifted it 3 inches and put 31" tires on on it looks damn good and is unbelievably dependable i own 4 other Chevies and the trooper is the only one that has only been in the shop once for brake replacement and A/C tune up. This vehicle with 15" ground clearance up frpm 12.5" stock has brought me through more mud than my friends "jacked-up" F-150s, and Z71's and its nearing 10 years old. The "troop" will stay with me until it decides to break down.

Similar Products Used: Z-71's, F-150's, 4-runners, jeep wrangler
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tarshan   [Oct 09, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Trooper II
Strength:

Wonderful truck. Goes where you point the tires. Auto-locking hubs mean no more muddy feet when (if!) you get stuck!

Weakness:

Engine seems under-powered for its size. (thats a-typical for these work horses though). Auto-Locking hubs mean you CANNOT "rock" yourself out if you manage to get this unstoppable beast in THAT badly.

I bought this truck about a year ago from a personal seller. It has been nothing short of amazing. The engine needed some TLC, ( Fuel system cleaning, Throttle body cleaning, Full tune up) and needed new brakes from the get go. But past that, and the standard maintence most people neglect, This truck has been unbeatable. I go where I want without trouble. Pulled a tanker truck (nearly empty) out of a ditch, yanked a state trooper out of a self made hole, (Dropped the clutch in mud.) and tugged a tow-truck *with a toyota corolla attached* 5 Miles to the mechanic shop. You just CANNOT stop these vehicles.

Similar Products Used: 4-runner, Toyota PK (the kind where you could wash out the interior with a hose)
Neither of these really match up with what the isuzu trooper II has to offer you. Creature comforts are spartin. But compare that to the knowledge that you are in one hell of a safe and capable vehicle, and you'll ride VERY comfortably all the way home!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sfnorket   [Aug 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Trooper LS
Strength:

Everything, i haven't found anything yet that i don't like about it.

Weakness:

None, like on of the other reviewers said, you don't buy an suv for gas mileage.

Well i'm about to be 16 and will be able to get my license, and i've already had one car, and it was a 1995 camaro. And i hate to say it but i didn't feel very safe in it. And i like to be in a bigger vehicle so i can see better. So one day my dad brings up the subject that he wants to get a 4x4 so we could go to the outer banks and do some fishing, and i asked if i could sell my car with his boat so that we would have more money to put towards a 4x4. So after about 3 weeks we sold my car and his boat. And within those few weeks i had been looking at some of the used vehicles, and found the troopers, their boxy style is what caught my eye. I always liked the "true" suv body style, not those that wanted to be seen as a car. So i came to this review site and after reading almost all of the reviews on the troopers, i told my dad about them. Once he looked at the reviews and saw what they looked like we decided that this was the vehicle we should look at. So last week we drove to a dealer to look at one of the troopers we had found on the internet. And after riding in it and driving it, i had fallen in love. These things drive and ride excellent. The sound system is a great addition, and the sunroof is huge!. And the heated seats are wonderful. This one had 92,000 miles on it and still rode, and drove like a brand new vehicle. And once i tried the power button, (me being a teenager, i'm all about the torque of the vehicle) that made me love them even more, so after talking with the dealers we came to an agreement, and now it's mine all mine. This is one of the nicest vehicles i have ever driven and rode in. I would reccomend it to anyone that wants something that looks tough, sounds tough, and has great visibility and control. I love my trooper!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Heath   [Aug 04, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu trooper
Strength:

Great torque 4 wheel drive/cargo space. Great turning radius. These vehicles make you loyal to a brand like no other. All creature comforts work great. The axles are great too, has dana 44's in front and back and the rear pinion is bigger than a dana 60! Was ranked one of the best 4x4's of all time by peterson's 4wheel and offroad and also won 4x4 of the year a couple of times.

Weakness:

Expensive parts and the fact that GM took them off the market when nothing else compares. Another is that fact people could contemplate buying a toyota when the trooper is something you can depend on and not have to worry about electrical problems like in the land rovers.

I have loved troopers since the first ones came out. I had a 1991 trooper 2 that was great for 7 years. Then i bought the 98 new and have only had to replace the alternator and i put in a new stereo. IS GREAT offroad and is a beast in the snow. Took it bone stock to uwharrie ohv park and it didn't get stuck. Love the moonroof and space. I am a musician and haul a lot of equipment and the folding seats work well. Great for camping. Would like to keep it forever. If you buy one you will love it. Trooper owners have a lot of comraderie. Eat your heart out toyotas.

Similar Products Used: 1978 wagoneer, 1991 trooper 2, 1999 jeep cherokee(POS), 2005 toyota sequoia
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hector   [Jul 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: LS
Strength:

Lots of room, excellent 4WD capabilities, great visibility, cool boxy design, simple and utilitarian, cheap to fix.

Weakness:

a bit underpowered.

The real SUV. The boxy design is timeless and offers lots of room for cargo. The 4WD works very well on any kind or terrain. Excellent visibility and clearence. Makes you feel you are in control of the road. I love it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Corey   [Jul 09, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Trooper II
Strength:

4-Wheel Drive, Good ground clearance, lots of interior space, Dependable

Weakness:

Pretty underpowered, gas mileage not that great(13mpg in town - 17mpg on the highway)

I bought this Trooper II as a way for me to commute back and forth to work in the dead of winter. This has to be the best 4-wheel drive vehicle I have ever owned. It is excellent in the Colorado snowfall. It isn't very powerful but that does not really matter too much for a big box. I put some really gnarly treads on it and it would go just about anywhere that it would fit. All and all, the Trooper II is a really good, dependable, but most of all, FUN vehicle.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 198  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com