Isuzu VehiCROSS SUV | Crossover

VehiCROSS

Now available in the US, Isuzu's VehiCROSS is powered by a 3.5-liter DOHC 24-valve V-6 with 215 hp and a 4-speed automatic transmission. It's a truly unique, 4 wheel drive, 3 door SUV .

User Reviews (76)

Showing 1-10 of 76  
kodiak1701   [Apr 01, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Vehicross
Strength:

Handling, Power, build quality, dependability, styling, It’s a true drivers suv.

Weakness:

Gas mpg,Rear visibility, Getting in and out of the back seat is tricky.

I’ve had my Isuzu for over a year now and it has absolutely bin a gem to drive.
I never been so confident in a vehicles capabilities. It begs to be punished and when you do it fills so solid and well pull together that it seems like its mocking you as if to say, “Is that all you got.” I will be driving this machine for as long as I can cues sadly there is nothing that can mach the mix of on and off-road preferment’s be it rock crawling, Desert racing, winter commuting or at the race track like the Vehicross.

Similar Products Used: There is nothing similar. or that whould be my next suv.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jack   [Feb 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu VehiCross
Strength:

Unique design, off-road capabilities, fun factor, limited production: it may be a year or longer before you pass another one on the street, future collector, and you can pick up one in pristine conditon for under $10K.

Weakness:

Typical 4wd poor fuel mileage (16mpg), replacement parts becoming scarce, engine seizures related to high oil consumption, resale value.

I'm a big Isuzu fan because of my experience with the Trooper. I've owned three of them, and they've impressed me with their off-road prowness and reliability. Now the proud owner of an Ironman Edition VehiCross, I pass this advice on to prospective owners.

Isuzu has not been the most honorable company, lately. Their 1998-2001 3.5L V6 engines (VehiCross and Troopers) have had
serious oil consumption/seizure problems, related to bad piston rings that allow excessive oil seepage. The result is, unless you check the engine oil vigorously (read: weekly), you are likely to encounter engine failure somewhere north of 50K miles. Isuzu turned a blind eye on this problem until 2001, when numerous lawsuits and claims led them to, finally, fix the problem.

That being said, if you own a '98-'01 3.5L equipped Isuzu, you must vigorously check engine oil levels to avoid an engine meltdown. Replacement is notoriously expensive, sometimes more than the value of the vehicle itself! It is a short-coming that Isuzu should have fixed promptly, but chose to fight instead. It's a shame that such a wonderful vehicle is plagued by this problem.

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
alo   [Jun 22, 2004]
Model Reviewed: isuzu tooper
Strength:

I talked to at least 15 Trooper owners and every single one of them loved them. Three of them had over 200k on them with no major repairs. Used Troopers are cheap. They can outclimb any competitor. A true offroad vehicle.

Weakness:

Replacing engines at $8000 a pop every 60-90000 miles makes them very expensive. Isuzu not owning up to the problem is very disappointing. I'll not buy another.

I have 2 troopers and wanted another until....the 3.5 engine with 74k went kaput. No rebuilt eng available in US. Had to buy a new engine and no one wanted the old one. #1 rod bearing is spining on the 3.5 at 60-90,000 miles. Of course, Isuzu is not aware of any problems. Anyone know if that problem has been corrected in my new engine or should I sell it in a couple years?

Similar Products Used: Jeep Grand Cherokee
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Wulf   [Dec 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: VehiCROSS
Strength:

Great looks, great HP, Fun to drive

Weakness:

Visibility for rear window, Initial sticker price of 30,000. Lack of real support from Isuzu for warranty repairs (had mine in and EVERY time the dealer takes over 2 weeks to repair anything. Isuzu does not give rental cars for time in the shop for warranty. Intermittent problems with idle control sensore that dealer will not fix...

Bought mine new in 2002. Only had a few minor problems at first. However now I have some form of idle control problem that is intermittent. Damn dealer won't do anything because they can't find any fault (error code) in the diagnostic computer. Other than that I love the car (runs great when it runs), off road is fun and quite stable. I would buy again if Isuzu took care of their customers.

Similar Products Used: Rav-4, Montero Sport, Envoy,
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
buff architect   [Nov 17, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Vehicross
Strength:

Off road capability. Acceleration. Uniqueness. Comfort level.

Weakness:

Rear visibility. Gas mileage. Interior design.

This is really a great truck. I bought this used to get me through the Chicago winter. I'm used to my MR2 Spyder which sucks in the snow. This is much more fun than the spyder. My first week I took it off-roading in the upper penninsula of Michigan. Had a blast. The Jeep Wrangler and the Toyota 4-Runner both got stuck in the mud and snow (can you believe they had snow in October). Not me! I plowed right through. Way cool. I'm worried about the posting that the engine bearing failed at 63000 miles. Mine has 36,000 miles but at the rate I'm going I'll be up to that in no time. I hope this isn't a systemic problem with what I thought was a very sweet engine. If others have had similar problems with 1999 3.5 L V6's let me know....please.

Similar Products Used: Tested Toyota RAV4, Lexus RX300, Honda CRV, Toyota 4 runner, Jeep Wrangler, Jeep Liberty, Ford Escape, Nissan Pathfinder and Nissan Xterra, Hyundai Santa Fe
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
VX PA   [Nov 06, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Vehicross
Strength:

Good looks, Great handling, Recaro Seats

Weakness:

A company that doesn't back it's product.

I currently own a 1999 Isuzu VehiCross with only 62,000 miles on it. On November 1, 2003 the main bearings in the engine failed due to a defect in the bearings. I had the SUV towed to my local Isuzu dealer to find out what was wrong. They contacted me on Monday Nov. 3rd saying that the motor was bad and could not be repaired or rebuilt. Then they said that it would need a new engine installed at the price of $5,500. Isuzu would not replace the motor due to the warranty expiring only 2,000 miles ago. I have tried to contact the Owner Relations Dept at Isuzu, but each time I talk to someone they put me on hold to tranfer me to a manager which ends up being a voice mail that noone returns calls from. I was wondering if there is anything else I could do to try to resolve this problem. I love the VehiCross, but I am very upset that Isuzu won't stand behind a quality issue that was totally out of my hands. I planned on keeping the VehiCross for a long time and now I'm afraid to hold on to it because the new engine will only be warranteed for 24 months. I don't know if anyone else has ever had a problem with Isuzu and I wish I could say that I haven't, unfortunitely I am experiencing very little cooperation from them. My local dealership has provided me with a loaner car at no extra expense and is willing to discount the engine and the labor since Isuzu won't help. I don't have a bad thing to say about the dealer as they have been great every time I've had service in the past. They are actually embarrassed that Isuzu won't stand behind their product. Please pass this on to other Isuzu owners in order to warn them of this experience.

Similar Products Used: Mazda B2600, S10 Blazer, Nissan Pathfinder
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Christina   [Sep 17, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Vehicross
Strength:

Engine, nice Recaro seats, handling, smooth ride.

Weakness:

back window is hard to see out. Needs back door release latch inside.

Excellent sporty vehicle. It has lots of speed and handles very well. I couldn't be more pleased.

Similar Products Used: Jeep, Toyota, and Honda Element
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
david stankovich   [Jun 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: vehicross ironman triatholan edition
Strength:

great

Weakness:

rough ride, gas mileage, rear window visability sucks

great suv. nice big tires with chrome rims. peppy little mother. love it! classy look, elegant style, with some balls!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Bob Long   [May 20, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Silver
Strength:

`Unique Style `Rarity (rare to see anyother v-crosses on the road) `Sits high `Standard options are really nice `nice big ole` wheels

Weakness:

`Doesnt hold its value at all...bought it for 19000...after 6 weeks traded it in for a vette and got about 10000 for it `Rough ride `gas milage sux `rear visability isnt all that great `windows tend to "freeze up" in cold tempatures

This is one of..if not the nicest SUVs out there. The interior is sweet... (black and orange leather in mine).Pretty fast for a suv of its size and wieght. also is a nie car for the snow and maybe some off roading as well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rick   [Apr 13, 2003]
Model Reviewed: ???

I've seen one parked @ an apartment by the beech a couple of times, (I dident know what it was) and it caught my eye so today I saw it again and had to stop to check it out! this things "bad ass" couldent find any more info on the web (izuzu dosent have it on the web) any more info and photos anywhere? i want one!!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 76  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com