Jeep Cherokee (1984 - 2001) SUV | Crossover

Cherokee (1984 - 2001)

(1984 - 2001) The Jeep Cherokee, introduced in the 1984 model year when Jeep was part of American Motors Corporation (AMC), was a unibody (monocoque) compact SUV.

(1974 - 1983) The SJ series Jeep Cherokee was a full-size SUV produced from 1974 through 1983 by the Jeep division of the American Motors Corporation (AMC).

The KJ/KK series, produced starting in 2002, is known as the Jeep Liberty in North America.

User Reviews (391)

Showing 1-10 of 391  
Saaaarah   [Oct 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Jeep Cherokee
Strength:

Goes anywhere
Lots of room
Blind spots arent too bad
TOUGH

Weakness:

Gas Hog (about 15 to the gallon), but what SUV isnt?

I have a '96 jeep cherokee and I LOVE it!! ive had it for about 3 years now. it has a few minor problems that could be fixed, like cruise control has went out as well as the cd player. If i dont let it warm up enough in the winter it likes to die when i come to stops but its easy to avoid. Goes anywhere!!! been off roading in it numerous times, only had to use 4wd once in deep mud, and have only been stuck in the snow once cause i high centered. i have a v8 with dual exhaust and i love the loud engine! doesnt slip or slide easily on icy roads. I am very hard on my jeep and its holding up really well.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
krtw   [Jul 10, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cherokee Sport
Strength:

Easy to drive, comfortable and has never let me down on or off road. Plenty of room for me and lots of Power from the 4.0 liter engine. Value.

Weakness:

I have no complaints. Happy USED cherokee owner for 8 years.

This is my second cherokee. The first one was stolen, otherwise I'd still be driving it....it had 190,000 miles on it and I never had any issues with it. My current cherokee had only 70,000 miles when i bought it, now has 111,000. Only thing I have done is, regular tune ups, battery and starter replacement. Both are/were my daily driver. They work well both on and off road. I have driven many miles in snow/ice in my cherokees, they are awesome in those conditions. I just got back from camping and I drove 1200 miles round trip, no issues. I recommend the straight 6 engine, 4.0. Lots of power and accetable fuel economy for a 4x4. No complaints.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marissa   [Jul 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cherokee Sport - 2dr/2WD
Strength:

Appearance, cargo space, great traction [even though its 2WD!], endurance, comfortable. I LOVE IT!

Weakness:

Gas Guzzler! [19-20mpg avg] Rides rough/bumpy [who cares?], NOTHING much!

Purchased in 2008 with about 155k

All I know is that this purchase was a MIRACLE! The previous owner had it in the family for about 10 years and took EXCELLENT care of it! Looking under the hood, she looks brand new! The previous owner also put in a lifted air intake, so I can drive through 4ft+ water, but since it's 2WD - I probably won't...

I love the look of the car inside and out. Classic is the way to go! There is a non-stock Clarion CD player and the speakers really bump! Seats are VERY comfortable, even after sitting in them all day. Cargo space is HUGE with or without the back seats folded down. And the back seats are still roomy even though its a 2 door. It always accelerates GREAT & drives comfortably at 50mph+.

I always wanted a Jeep, and now I feel part of the "family". It is totally a Jeep thing. Take care of her and she will take care of you.

Similar Products Used: I've drove a GMC Jimmy [boyfriend's] & a Suzuki Grand Vitara [Mom's] - MY JEEP IS THE BEST!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jp4by408   [Jan 30, 2008]
Model Reviewed: jeep cherokee sport 2dr 4x4
Strength:

industructable

Weakness:

bad gas milage

its a jeep thing you wouldnt understand until you own one. i have abused it off road and on the road with 170000 miles. i hit a drainage ditch 3 feet wide by 3 feet deep at 35 mph and there was no damage what so ever. the only problems i have had is my neutral safety switch. which i did not want to pay for so i bought a 3 dollar push start switch to fix it and works fine. still runs strong and would recomend it. perfect snow car

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom Mersino   [Dec 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Cherokee
Strength:

4.0 Liter I-6 is a great engine, vehicle just keeps running.

Weakness:

Bad lock and door handle design, bad radio design, A/C went out about 100,000 miles ago, bumpy ride.

1996 Jeep Cherokee, 2WD, 3 door, 4.0 Liter I-6 engine, automatic transmission. This car has been very good since the day it was bought. The engine has 175,000 miles on it and still is running fine. Had to replace the fan belt, brakes, distributor cap, distributor rotor, whole front end after accident. Aside from these minor problems, it's a very dependable, long-lasting vehicle.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Peter Martin   [Sep 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
Strength:

comfortable, no expensive repairs

Weakness:

Bad gas mileage

I bought this car at an auction, without inspecting it first. It had 109,000 miles. I repaired a leak in the transfer case and bought new tires. The cars runs incredibly good. In the 5 years I owned it, I only had to replace de radiator, fix the steering wheel assembly, and the rest has only been regular maintenance. The car now has 170,000 miles and still running good.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tom Mazzucca   [Jan 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Jeep Grand Cherokee
Strength:

Nice curb appeal,plenty of comfort from the quality leather seats.Mileage around 20.ample room,good towing characteristics.A comfortable ride

Weakness:

Chrysler does not have the expertise to manufacture an operatable window.No company support or accountability.

Was happy enough with comfort and service to consider trading in for a new model.However now that a front and rear window have fallen down and the repair is going to be 400.00 each.Needless to say I will not be purchasing a new Chrysler product.For a company that spends millions of dollars on advertising to gain new customers you would think that it might be in their best interest to take care of their current ones.I guess now that they have what use to be the most reliable Mercedes-Benz cars,the Chryslers can go back to being the same old junk that they use to be.It`s a real shame that that they are dragging the good Jeep trademark down with it.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Land Cruiser,Chevy Blazer
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
claudiochile   [Jan 05, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Classic
Strength:

-engine & power
-equipment
-space
-4x4 system
-simple but strength construction

Weakness:

- mileage on the city
-lack of a manual transmission for the 4.0L

I was looking for my first 4x4, so I started looking at Suzuki because I thought they were cheap and good quality.I got wrong and disappointed on both, price and characteristics. I then looked at used Honda CR-V's (similar price) & liked it first but when I tested it on the street I realized it's like a grandma's car, litle power, bad 4x4 system (wich is permanent!!), bad mileage for a small engine.
Then I saw that great shape Cherokee with only 47000 miles on it, at a nice price and when I probed it I felt in love instantly. Big power and real 4x4 box combination make it the right choice to me. Add a full set of features too, like AC , power windows/doors, factory anti-thief system, etc.
After 5 months I haven't had any problem with it. Engine was running hot due wrong cooling liquid, so I replaced it and this car is now performing even better. I was greatly surprised when I got 12,8 km/liter on highway, driving mostly at 75mph. Not bad for a 4.0L. In the city the mileage sucks.
Another characteristic still present in this US car is how simple its mechanic is. If I need it, I'd could fix almost anything without visiting a shop. And a full set of aftermarket products are available if I shall want them.
This car climbs easily any hills, elevations, sand, thanks the big engine and the smart command trac system.
The only issue I found on this car is the bad mileage at the city. I think if it had a manual trasmission it would be better.

Similar Products Used: CR-V
Suzuki grand Vitara
Ford Escape
Chevy camaro
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
rootehound   [Dec 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Cherokee / Briarwood
Strength:

Goes through snow, mud, you name it.

Reliable, reliable, reliable.

In my opinion it's more fun to drive and rugged than my wife's 2006 Liberty.

Weakness:

Cherokees rust badly. Here in New England rust probably kills more of them than mechanical problems.

This is my 4th Cherokee and I still push the wrong window switch from time to time. It's a really losy layout (Chrysler finally changed it on later models)

I bought this Jeep a little over a year ago after my '87 was stolen. It now has over 260,000 miles on it and still runs strong (the one that was stolen had 165,000 miles on it when it disappeared and was also running strong) It seems damn-near impossible to kill the 4.0 drivetrain on these things.

Similar Products Used: Isuzu Trooper (an absolute piece of crap)
Chevy Blazer (not as bad as the Trooper, but close)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Thomas Stein   [Nov 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Grand Cherokee Limited
Strength:

Nice looking interior and exterior. Comfortable seats. Strong engine. Nice stereo system

Weakness:

Brake problems. I had at least 3 brake jobs within 50k. Poorly designed heating system that require the entire dash board to be taken out in order to repair.

Owning the vehicle has been a good experience up until recently. The vehicle has run well, with only the usual brake problems. The big issue has been with the dual climate control heat. The passenger side is not working, and to repair it the dash board will have to be taken apart costing over $1500. Also one part, that is a simple control switch call the control head Chrylser charges $600.00 for the simple part.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 391  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com