Jeep Wrangler (2010 and older) SUV | Crossover

Wrangler (2010 and older)

The Jeep Wrangler is a 2-door, 4-passenger sport-utility, available in 3 trims, ranging from the Sport to the Rubicon.

All trims are equipped with a standard 3.8-liter, V6, 202-horsepower engine that achieves 15-mpg in the city and 19-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (360)

Showing 1-10 of 360  
dj sullivan   [Aug 05, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Wrangler Sahara
Strength:

looks good, fun to drive, esp off road

Weakness:

transmission

needed a new transmission at 12K, as did my G.C., at 75K. Both were purchased new from dealer; would never buy a new Jeep product again

Similar Products Used: Tundra trucks; not as much fun, but MUCH more reliable
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
kimberly goldstein   [Aug 21, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Jeep Wrangler
Strength:

At first I thought this would be the perfect cross over vehicle. I am a nurse who also is a rancher so I spend time driving to work as well as in the country on roads that frequently require 4 wheel drive.

Weakness:

At 50,000 miles the front end started to develop a wooble that became incresingly worse causing the steering wheel to shke violently and requireing you to slow and stop the vehicle to regain control. To date I have spent over $3000 totally rebuilding and replacing everything in the front end- it improves for a short time and then reoccurs. I am terribly dissapointed with the preformance of this vehicle and would never purchase another Jeep product.

This vehicle has a built in manufactures flaw-You can look on Youtube and find video of the "death woble". It is terrifying to drive and expensive to attemt to correct. The manufactor is waiting for an injury accident to do anything about this problem

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
HeeHooHaw   [Aug 27, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wrangler
Strength:

Chrylser is done with me.

Weakness:

poor warranty.

DON'T BUY = THEY WON'T STAND BEHIND THE WARRANTY.

Fouth Wrangler for me. So I am familiar with the feel/handling of the wrangler. I think it has actually improved since my first one in late 80's.

I have 6,000 miles on it and the rear differential has been shot. Dealer said it's because I took it off road I live in a city and rarely go to the country, and if I do, i stay on paved roads - I don't go off roading i'm 57 years old!! They refused to cover the differential problems ($2000) under the warranty. After speaking with the office of the VP of Sales, they too said they wouldn't pay.

Revenge is mine though, as a fleet manager for a large firm that leases 200-225 cars, I was instrumental in removing Chrysler from the list of available cars for staff. They can choose from GM, FORD, HONDA & TOYOTA. I simply deleted all Chrysler cars, minivans & SUV's. When staff ask about Chrysler, I simply say 'we' have had problems with their warranty coverage, and would not recommend them. Personally I know 3 people who have not purchased Chysler because of my experience with the warranty dept.

Chrysler should have just paid for the repairs, they know I couldn't have shot the differential by going off roading - the original tires are on the vehicle so if i went off roading there would be damage evidence.

Again, chrysler should have paid for the warranty work, the lost business from my firm, approximately 70-75 renewals since this happened, all went to non-chrysler manufacturers. They lost those sales!

Similar Products Used: Jeep Compass, Jeep Liberty
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Amy   [Apr 30, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 4x4
Strength:

Has the best of both worlds, it's a convertible and 4 wheel drive. Not too many other cars can do that! I love how the hard top comes off in pieces, my kids can be protected from the sun in the back seat and I can be "free" in the front.

Weakness:

Not the greatest power off the line, don't worry about peeling out. No speeding tickets for sure.

I traded in a 2007 BMW convertible and a 2003 GMC Denali on my Wrangler 4dr/hardtop. I wasn't happy about trading in my Beemer, but couldn't handle the huge payments and bad luck with expensive run flat tires. I have had my Jeep 6 months now, and I have never loved a car more! I drive nearly 3 thousand miles a month, and I always look forward to getting into it in the morning. The car handles great, even in the snow.

There are a couple of draw backs to the car. I have two young children, one still in a car seat. Ater I had already purchased the car, I read the warning sticker on my visor and it states the doors are only for protection of the elements and may not keep passengers in the vehicle if rolled over or in a crash. SCARY! I might as well drive with them off. The other draw back is the lack of excelloration power when entering the freeway, sometimes I feel I could run faster. Once on the freeway it does fine.

The gas mileage is better than the EPA sticker rating, I have gotten up to 21 miles per gallon. I know the more miles on the car the better milage you get as well.

I'm planning on keeping this car for awhile, I definately suggest you get the Yes protection for the cloth seats, especially if you have kids.

The cargo space is great and it's easy to park in tight spots, vs a giant SUV.

If you can get over not having the best excelloration and the worthless doors it's a great car.

Similar Products Used: I had a CJ7 many years ago. I always said I'd have a Jeep when I had kids, and too bad it wasn't a 4door, well now it is. Wholla, I have one.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
bear   [May 11, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 4 dr Wrangler, hard top, Sahara,auto
Strength:

Visibility. handling. surprisingly good economy.

Weakness:

Low end torque, but so? (That is in high-2wd)

I had a Toyota FJ, 07 model. very poor visibility. I bought the Jeep because my wife has had 8 previously! What a pleasant surprise! better ride than the Cruiser, more maneuverable, great viz, and surprisingly good economy. With smart driving, I get 20-22 highway mpg, and about 17-18 city! Great sound system, great leg room (I am 6'2"), good luggage space. Less peppy than the FJ, but all in all, a better ride. Time will tell re the reliability, but I am really enjoying the big Wrangler. I personally recommend the Sahara package, and I did get the automatic.

Similar Products Used: fj cruiser
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
edgar Mac   [Oct 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: jeep wrangler unlimited
Strength:

Off roading and comfortness

Weakness:

V-6 and Mileage

Its a very good productt very durable and strong off roading abilities as expected. Through the first 4-5 months i was getting awesome mileage on it about 16-5-17 mpg but after that i noticed its gone down to 15mpg city. The V-6 is good but considering it is a 4 door "SUV" a V-8 would be lovely. Off roading capabilities outstanding!!! I have taken it out to Santa Teresa, NM and red sands in EL Paso Tx, and it performs excellent.

Similar Products Used: Jeep 2001 4x4 / performs the same unsure of the mileage comparison
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
craig martin   [Aug 30, 2007]
Model Reviewed: wrangler 4 door black hard/soft top
Strength:

the looks, the feel on the road, the sturdyness, the safety,

Weakness:

the bonnet lack of locks. the length of the "nose" of the veh, the slight shudder on take off in first gear, you may as i have stalled it a couple of times getting used to it, after 48 hrs i am just getting the hang of it now. with the tech these days a digital speed display would have topped the instruments off well.

i took the 2006 4 a test drive and thought OK, then took the 2007 4 a drive and loved it. After ordering it and getting the finance for it i have had it 4 about 48 hrs now and have driven about 200km. it is a good looking vehicle with heaps of people glancing at it on the road. In Aust there are not to many on the road as yet but delivery is slow so dont expect to see to many for at least 6 months.
i will give my thoughts from each prospectus of the veh.
INSIDE; It feels very sturdy and everything is at arms reach, the seats are hard when driving but you feel very safe in it. initialy i was worried about the vision you get from inside the veh as the little rear view mirror was not what i was used to, however after a day it did not seem to be of such great importance. the rear seat head rest impedes the view to the rear quite abit so after removing it i found it a lot better. The bells and whistles when you put your keys in is very annoying, you have to be in your seat with your seat belt on with the doors closed before you even place the key in, these noises are going to bother me, i know it safety but come on this to me seems a little of an overkill, i have no choice but to get used to it, i am going to see about getting some slight modification on removing some, try it for yourself. The lights turn on when you activate the open door switch on the entry key, this could be something that i have set up with the light switch on the indicator arm, i have however suffered the male sydrome with not reading the instructions first, i have just turned things and pressed things to see what they do, i will be interested in others comments. I have also placed hand grips on the roll cage in both the drivers and passenger side front and these are great application but a little tacky in appearance, very practicable though. i have not tried to take the whole roof off the vehicle but i have removed the two front panels and found it to be very easy, however once you take them off you get a very true representation of just how big they are, in a windy day you could find yourself picking it up off the ground once you remove it from the roof.
OUTSIDE: it looks fantastic, especially when you have the maxium allowed tinting on all the windows, the rugged appearance has been commented on already numerous times as that resembling a Hummer, in fact i call mine the mini Hummer as in Mini Me, The rear door iopens from the left to the right, which would be great in USA, but in Aust with the cant of the road it will be a little bother when trying to keep the rear door open when pulled over the side of the road. The bonnet latches are aall good except if you where to park it somewhere and someone needed a battery for instance it would take them no time to remove yours from your vehicle, and someone could easily set your veh up for problems by dropping something in the engine or something, i havent reaserched as yet about bonnet locks but it is high on my agenda.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Josephus   [Jul 31, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Wrangler
Strength:

Rubicon - tougher than nails.
Dual Tops
4 doors - finally!

Weakness:

3.8L V6 needs better low-end torque.
Transmission is geared to long for a trail buggy.
Bring the 3.0L CRD to the USA!!!

The 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon is the Best Jeep EVER!
New creature comforts, safety features and now with 4 doors the Wrangler has gone mainstream and stayed true to it's roots. No foo-foo bun warmers or climate control here pal. Just locking axles, whay low gearing, and more Fun-In-the-Sun than you deserve!
I've had mine for 2 months and i love it. We finally have the convertible I've always wanted, and I get to bring Wifey, the Kidz and SuperDawg too!
Off road this thing is King.
On road everyone is amazed at how well it rides and I've gotten 22-23 mpg on the highway (a very flat highway at 55-60mph).
Sure you have to put the top down manually, but that's what the 'Jeep Thing' is all about. Getting back to the old cowboy & horse relationship. You work on it, take care of it - and it does the same for you.
Plenty of leg room, and head room. Cargo space is much improved, on par with other SUV's. It's no speedster so make sure you get the 4:10 gears. The whole Rubicon package is the Heavy Duty version and you'll appreciate it once you've got it.
Now with a Lifetime Powertrain Warranty = forever. You'll wear out the seats before the running gear.
A truely amazing vehicle for $32,500. The best 4x4 out there for under $100,000.
Bring the 3.0L CRD to the USA!!!

Similar Products Used: 1985 Toyota 4-Runner with removable hard-top (4 cyl 5 speed)with 165,000 miles. Tough as nails and a Kidney Buster.
1997 Ford Explorer LTD V6 - comfy & boring.
2000 Dodge Durango 4.7L V8 with everything. Tough as nails with Creature Comforts and room for 7.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim   [May 23, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Wrangler/Unlimited
Strength:

Reliability. With regular maintenance 200,000 miles is not uncommon. I have 158,000 on one and it still runs great.
Go anywhere capability, tread where Hummers can't. Even with a completly stock Jeep.
One of the last do it yourself vehicles. With HUGE aftermarket support you can create anything from a grocery getter to a all out trail and rock rig.
You can still buy parts for almost any Jeep from 1943 on.

Weakness:

Not many. Extreme trail use and large tires can have an adverse effect on stock axle shafts.
Its a Jeep thing...you wouldn't understand.

This is my wife's dream car. A go anywhere do anything vehicle. I now have 3 Jeeps and always wish for more. However, if you are a city dweller you my want to look else where for a vehicle. It is not plush or cushy. And don't tick off traditional JEEP owners and buy one because its cute.
I don't know of any other vehicle that encourages brand loyalty. From Camp Jeep to Jeep Jamborees to strangers giving you the Jeep wave as they pass by in thier Jeep. Even small kids know its a Jeep and wave at you.

Similar Products Used: Numerous SUV's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TJ   [Apr 23, 2007]
Model Reviewed: x
Strength:

Looks good.

Weakness:

Electronic Throttle Control. Roof leaks. Terrible Customer service.

Simply the WORST vehicle I have ever owned.
It ha sbeen in the shop 3 times for a total of 27 days for throttle control problems. The engine cuts out while you are driving. Also the roof leaks, flooding the interior.

Similar Products Used: Chevy Trailblazer. BMWX3. Toyota Rav4.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 360  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com