Mitsubishi Montero SUV | Crossover

Montero

The Montero is only available in a 4 wheel drive with a 3.5-liter SOHC 24-valve V-6 sporting 200 hp and a 4-speed automatic.

User Reviews (116)

Showing 1-10 of 116  
monterofan   [Jul 11, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Montero Limited
Strength:

Rugged, safe, fun to drive, comfortable, seven passanger vehicle!

Weakness:

Only weakness is the gas milage. I wouldn't be concerned except for the price of gas these days....not mitsubishis fault.

Purchased this vehicle used with 44,000 miles. Looks and feels new, comfortable ride when travelling long distance. Handles well in heavy rain. Steering wheel is comfortable, very quiet engine. Stylish body for such a large heavy rugged vehicle. Heated seats, fabulous sound system...what else can I say about this vehicle....oh did I say it's the second montero I've purchased! Third mitsubishi I've purchased.....that says it all!!

Similar Products Used: Blazer, mazda truck, older montero.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Shari   [Sep 09, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Montero
Strength:

The luxury interior and features.

Weakness:

Gas mileage and my sun roof was rattling. I took it to the dealer and it was fixed.

I purchased my first SUV which was a brand new Mitsubishi Montero Limited. I absolutely love this truck and feel like I made the right decision. I tested many other SUV's and found that for the price and features that I was getting it was well worth it. Not to mention that it can definately hold it's own in horrible weather.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Surefoot in SLC   [Jun 17, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Montero Endeavor
Strength:

Great 4WD system Seven passenger Huge Sunroof Swing-wide rear door Great ride height Skid Plates over major undercarriage componentry

Weakness:

MPG (as with any SUV with today's gas prices)

After having had several SUV's in my family (a Kia Sorrento, Lincoln Navigator, Merc Mountaineer), this is by far the most truck-like than all put together. This truck has been reliable and dependable. The engineering and longevity of the style is a sale-point for me. The knowledge that this vehicle won the Dakar Rally in France in assurance that this design and build is one that is successful. The MPG is a bit disappointing, but the engine is adequate. The interior is plush and very comfortable. It is a great family mover. I love this truck!

Similar Products Used: Lincoln Navigator Mercury Mountaineer Kia Sorrento
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ira P.   [Jun 11, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Montero LS 3.0L Manual 5SPD
Strength:

Reliable, rugged. Fun to drive. Much better built than my new Mercedes ML 430.

Weakness:

A little low on power.

Looking back on ten years, its been a pleasure to own. Only regular maintenance, one oxygen sensor (covered by warrantee) and a thermostat ($18 installed it myself). I'm giving it to my daughter to take across the country because it is reliable and safe. It is a top winter car (I've heard they are good in hot deserts too). The manual transmission and the most versatile 4X4 I've ever owned make off-roading a lot of fun. I've been very surprised at how well the paint job has held its gloss. Not a hint of rust either. It is a little low on power and the steering radius is wide - but these are things easy to get used to. The interior has held up well - looks almost new. Los of carrying room, can hold 7 people - if the two in the back are little. This car is fun. It also looks formal enough for taking to fancy occasions. Versatile.

Similar Products Used: Mecedes 430 ML (the Montero is much better built)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kris63321   [May 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Montero Limited
Strength:

PASSENGER ROOM!!! LEATHER!!!!! HUGE SUNROOF!!!! WOOD GRAIN!!! INFINITY STEREO SYSTEM!!!! QUALITY BUILD!!!! I absolutely love the interior - it looks like a true luxury vehicle on the inside without the luxury price (I'm just a poor teacher). The third row seat is great - my kids are 5 and 9 so it is a perfect fit and they fight over it.

Weakness:

Cabin noise is the only real complaint I have. Backing up is a little difficult until you get used to the vehicle since it's rear view is slightly obstructed. I've read where others don't like the steering and handling, but it is fine with me - it just drives different than what I am used to. It seems like it takes a little longer to stop after you begin breaking, but I'm sure that is because it is a much heavier vehicle than my previous vehicle. Of course with gas being over $2 a gallon now I wish it would get better gas mileage, but it is a SUV and I love everything else about it.

I bought this vehicle last week with 15,000 miles on it. It is a Limited so it has everything in it. Both my husband and I teach school so we couldn't afford a brand new one, but this one is in immaculate condition with low miles and had everything we wanted in a vehicle so we got it!! I liked the luxury look and feel and the fact that it is an import and should last a while. I've had problems with domestic vehicles that were bought brand new. I've always been one that only bought American, but I wanted to buy something that would last (at least until it is paid off) this time. I've only had it a week, but I am in love with it.

Similar Products Used: GMC Envoy Chevrolet Blazer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
softhds1   [Apr 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: montero

What better can you say other than I just traded in my 2001 for a new 2003. The best car I have ever owned and I paid less than I did for the older one!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gavin   [Jan 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Montero XLS
Strength:

Space, reliability, well screwed together (It's built in Japan & NOT the U.S...thankfully), excellent off-road ability!

Weakness:

BHP...It needs another 50 bhp to haul that 4500-odd pounds of weight at a decent pace.

A very reliable & unique alternative SUV crop including Ford Explorer (tasteless) or Chevy Tahoe ("yawn"). Make sure you check the manufacturer recalls & attend to them if they have'nt already done so, especially the brake pressure accumulator, as it makes a freakishly alarming chirp every time you apply the brakes... Other than regular maintainence & timing belt @ 60000 miles, have not had any repair bills in the 40000 miles I've accumulated in the past year I've owned it. Oh yeah, if you're not sure about the looks of the Montero...for some reason, they grow on you. When it first came out in '01, I thought it was the ugliest thing on the road but in '04 I think it's one of the most beautiful & 'ready-for-anything' SUV's out there. As far as the Consumer Reports rubbish about the Montero tipping over, I've always felt very confident when going around corners. Anyone with enough sense knows to take corners at under 45-50mph in a true SUV anyway.

Similar Products Used: 2001 Toyota 4-Runner: Good but overpriced. 2002 Nissan Xterra: Also good, but built in the U.S.(notice any resentment towards U.S built products?).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Terry Finger   [Dec 22, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Montero LS
Strength:

100,000 miles on each of first two sets of tires with no allignments. I don't baby them (10 oil changes maybe in 245,000 miles) yet indise and out this one still shines. I have been in off road situations that would make your hair stand on end and Monty pulled us out. I read about its tendancy to tip over but it hasn't yet!

Weakness:

Dash lights seemed to fail more than on any other vehicle I owned. Nothing else but praise for maintenance at next to nothing cost.

Best Vehicle I have ever owned in 39 years. Tested all competitors at the time Monty won hands down. Stiff suspension unlike other SUV's. In 265,000 miles I am on the third set of tires, original muffler, second front rotors, 5 sets of brake pads. Still no rust, no rattles, doors are tight and carpet/cloth seats barely worn. Feels like one of those old leather jackets that will never die. At 254,000 miles it owes me nothing so I am looking for a newer one. My 34 year old son wants to buy this one because of its reliability.

Similar Products Used: Ford Explorer, Nissan pathfinder, Ford 150 pick up
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ajkbid   [Dec 08, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Montero
Strength:

The heater works great, it's an oven, but that's only because the engine runs too hot. I suppose cargo room is a plus.

Weakness:

Most unaerodynamic design in the world, the front windshield is nearly 90 degrees. Control layout is horrible. Over 70 mph the wind is so loud you can't have a conversation. Horrible suspension, wears out tires quickly. I always feel like I'm going to tip. Unsafe, doors are about an inch thick, no airbags, blinkers are slow, underpowered engine.

This car is poorly built. It's way too top heavy, and the suspension is horrible, you can feel yourself running over a dime. The interior is uncomfortable, there are no cup holders, you have to bend down to reach the radio, the control layout makes no sense- the speedometer is on the left, not in the middle like most cars.

Similar Products Used: uh, other cars
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
epj   [Dec 07, 2003]
Model Reviewed: mitsu montero SR
Strength:

solid build and reliability. qulity material. decent ride for suv. LOVE my monte. looking for new suv but will not sell the monte and will keep untill it dies its natural death. but will not buy new 2003 or 2004 monte's, ride and interior materials not as good on new ones.

Weakness:

mitsu dealers arnt easy to deal with, always had to make appointment for reg maint and often had to RENT loaners. have had to deal with five mitsu dealers in four cities, all had attitude problems, though not serious. no real concern for customer service or relations. big truck tends to wander a bit in 2wd. brakes wear fast as do rotors and mpg is so-so both expected for big trucks. new 2003 monte's dont ride as well and dont have as good material as older. they claim 2003 have car-like ride but cant match the 95 with adjustable suspen. third row fold flat seat is smaller and both 2nd and 3rd row seats very uncomfortable on 2003 model.

bought new in 96. now with 116k mi. driven HARD for past 7.5 yrs. no signif probs. had reg maint. 95% on-road, 5% off. outstanding service. does wear brakes faster then cars (heavy). good ride quality with adj suspension. mpg 17. wanders a bit with 2wd but improved with 4wd. comfortable seats except 3rd row, for kids only. cargo lmited by lift up seats. more comfortable compared to new 2003 monte's. easy driver used daily. never problem in starting even -10f. decent stereo with cd changer still sounds good. 210 hp v6 motor provides adeq power. tranny still smooth shifter. interior still looks good. minor problems like headlight washer and two LED's stopped functioning (no big deal). Smooth and stable at high speeds even at 110 in eastern WA. but can be diffcult to control in rapid emergency maneuvers. driven cross country twice. good handling in snow/ice/off-road. huge sunroof. characteristic spare tire on back door does obstruct view.

Similar Products Used: only SUV owned. have toyota camry v6-xcellent. had honda accord 10 yrs-excellent.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 116  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com