Nissan Murano (2010 and older) SUV | Crossover

Murano (2010 and older)

The 2010 Murano is a 4-door, 5-passenger sport-utility, available in 6 trims, ranging from the S 2WD to the LE AWD.

Both trims are equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 265-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (88)

Showing 1-10 of 88  
Joe   [Jul 19, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Murano LE
Strength:

Powerful engine and CVT handles power well. Plethora of tech options make it a good price considering competition. Very roomy for 5 passengers and reclining rear seats great idea. New styling and keyless go is nice. Pushing start/stop without brake pedal lets you operate radio and other functions without engine being on. Mileage is great for something this size, better than my dad's X3 3.0.

Weakness:

Fit and finish for a $40k vehicle is subpar with all the rattles and squeaks. Dealer is terrible for service, but that doesn't really apply to the car. Door handles squeak, dashboard rattles, and interior door handles feel like they are going to peel off from pulling closed too much. Easy entry for seat and steering cannot be disabled, not good for people trying to get behind the driver. Warranty expired 4 months ago and things started breaking already. The tilt steering motor is stuck all the way up and makes grinding noises upon entry and exit. Since last year, the left rear shock has been making a squeak noticed upon entry and exit. At 42k miles now and wondering how to get rid of this thing.

A great car on paper. Performance of engine and powertrain are impeccable. Loads of tech features rivaling European imports. Unfortunately fit and finish has been overlooked and vehicle will suffer from reliability issues as a result. Warranty on CVT has been extended to 120k miles which is nice, now if they could only stand behind thier vehicles like most European and other Asian imports do with a 4 or 5 year warranty. I would not recommend anything more than the S model, anything more is not worth it.

Similar Products Used: Previous vehicles used are 99 Kia Sportage, 04 Subaru Forester XT, and occasionally 07 BMW X3. Next car might be a Lincoln or Audi.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Jim Harper   [Jan 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Murano S
Strength:

Comfort

Weakness:

Passenger CV Boot torn within 62K miles & Spark plug replacement requires 4 hrs of labor at the dealership @ $95 per hr plus the cost of plugs $12 each. Driver seat bracket broke and requires $925 for new seat.

Overall 2 - also watch out for a suspect valve cover gasket - oil leaking in the spark plug area. That's another hidden cost that drivers are not aware of during purchase...

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Steve Weaver   [Oct 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Murano
Strength:

Pretty vehicle, but don't drive it unless you are ready for a scare.

Summer 2009- this Murano began to make a screeching sound when put in reverse and brakes hit to stop. Two Nissan dealers checked it out, telling us nothing wrong with it. Reported it to Nissan, they are willing to do nothing calling it a "fault in the Engineering". This vehicle makes a LOUD screeching noise, like metal on metal, like a railcar on a rail. It is embarrassing and we could not trade it doing this. A service manager at one of the dealerships said sometimes Nissans that get 30,000 to 50,000 miles on them "squeak" when brakes hit- this is not a squeak, it is a SCREECH. We bought the extended warranty too- what good is it doing us? My co-worker heard me leaving in it one day, she was way inside the building, and thought an accident had happened outside- as in two vehicles colliding.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Chubby1   [Oct 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Murano SL AWD
Strength:

Large backseat. Overall interior comfort good. Great in the snow. Good sound system.

Weakness:

Terrible mileage. 15-20% worse than ratings. Unstable under hard accelleration. Drivers seat bracket broke at around 70K.

If you need that back seat room then full marks here, however if you require half decent fuel mileage and stability on the road this is not the one for you. 4-5 others in this class that would win over the Murano. When the drivers seat bracket broke 5-6K over warranty there was no flexability. Pay or go away. Too bad. I used to think Nissan was a decent company to deal with.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Mishu   [Oct 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Murano
Strength:

Smooth ride

Weakness:

-Faulty drivers seat -cost $600 no warranty
Fuel economy + 50 % over promise in city
Lower ball joint failed at 70 K miles
Rust above the windsheild
Unusual Tire size limited selection
New front rotors required at 70 K
Windshield wiper arm linkage -cheap plastic connection -failed whicle driving
Poor Trade in value
Poor dealer experience

Worst vehicle ever owned

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
mccommon   [May 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: SL FWD
Strength:

Engine, leather and space.

Weakness:

None that I have found. One note, I bought this car right off the delivery truck so I did not test drive. Once I got on open road when braking my front end shook. Nissan replace my rotors and all is well now.

Love this car! A friend of mine bought one a few months ago and we do lunch together. Everytime I road in his Murano I was envious. Now I own one. Does not dissapoint. Very powerful, comfortable and roomy. I have most of the toys, leather, moonroof and tech package. The blue tooth is really convenient.

Similar Products Used: Ford Explorers 1996, 2000 & 2004.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dan Lunney   [Dec 30, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 2009 Nissan Murano
Strength:

*better gas mileage than anticipated
* very comfortable seats and almost luxurious interior materials (even base model).
*CVT transmission gives great sound and acceleration to vehicle.
*very roomy and accommodating interior.
*Great Engine (again - owned previous Nissan models)
*really liked the Goodyear Eagle Tires that came with CUV.

Weakness:

Had the vehicle 5 months now and haven't found a weakness yet. We were willing to compromise on gas mileage a bit when we bought it gas was $4/gal, but it's dropped down in price. Additionally, the car has averaged 21-22 miles per gallon better than we anticipated. Also didn't love the looks of exterior but the interior blew our socks off!!!

I reviewed this vehicle for months before we actually bought it. We looked at many SUV and Crossover models and selected the Murano out of all the models. We found it to be the best combination of sportiness, utility, comfort, power, and gas mileage. We plan to but another Murano next year for our 2nd family vehicle. We found the base model had all the bells and whistles we needed so we even saved money by selecting the base model.

Similar Products Used: Previously owned 2001, 2002 Nissan Pathfinders and loved them. Wanted to find as good of vehicles but were even more impressed with power, comfort and utility of the Murano
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sandria Green   [Oct 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: nissan
Strength:

stylish, great handling, comfortable ride

Weakness:

whats with the rotor and brakes? With about 55,000 kms i have to get the rotor changed due to rust. I think this should be a recall on the poor quality material that is used in this part.

I like my 2005 Nissan Murano, but I think Nissan service is horrible. I bought my car slightly used and I really think it was a good purchase. I am however disappointed by the quality of Nissan's service people. They are not helpful and seem not to know much about the product that they are working on. They could not tell me why the rotor has rusted already. I had a Honda before for 7 years and never changed the rotor.

Similar Products Used: Honda CRV
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
michaelbkeeling   [Aug 13, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Murano
Strength:

smooth ride, nice look, bose system,

Weakness:

maintaining the vehicle

I purchased my Nissan Murano when it first came out in 2003. I believe I have the highest mileage Murano on the market. I drove it off the lot and I have driven it a total of 145,000 miles. I am an authority on the vehicle. I believe at 75,000 miles the transmission went out. Then 30,000 miles another transmission went out. Each were not covered and the cost was about $5000 each. Neil Huffman Nissan installed both transmissions and I now have a broken seal between the engine and transmission. Replacement of the seal is estimated around $2000. I have enjoyed the vehicle but after 145000 miles I am done.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
V Budd   [Aug 13, 2008]
Model Reviewed: LE
Strength:

Great value,quality and resale value

Weakness:

Warranty duration,no folding electric mirrors,no turn signals (LED) in the outside rear view mirros,no bumper protector on painted tail gate when moving items from the hatchback compartment,no round connecter for trailer hitch wiring for trailers that have electric relase brakes on backing up.

This vehicle is a breath of fresh air. Plenty of response,roomy,visibility is great,mileage for engine and horsepower size is fantastic.The transmission is so smooth that you do not feel a shift. I have the LE model with all of the toys. Only draw back is the warranty should be for a longer period of time.

Similar Products Used: Chevrolet Tahoe year 2000
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 88  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com