Saturn VUE SUV | Crossover

VUE

The Vue is Saturn’s compact SUV that was added to the Saturn lineup for 2002. The Vue can carry five passengers or can be configured to carry over 300 cubic feet of cargo with a second-row seat that folds flat and a front passenger seat that also folds. The Vue features Saturn’s signature dent-resistant polymer body panels. The Vue Green Line Hybrid is added for 2007.

User Reviews (128)

Showing 1-10 of 128  
chris belanger   [Feb 05, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Saturn Vue
Strength:

reasonably priced

Weakness:

Noisy, seats stain easy, sloppy steering

The MANUAL transmission went @45,000 miles on the vehicle. Even the transmission shop owner who I know & trust never heard of a transmission going so early, especially MANUAL one!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
chaz   [Jan 13, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Saturn Vue
Strength:

Zippy accelleration

Weakness:

Hood latch won't close, Brake lights would not go out (battery ran dead twice)

My VUE SUCKS! poor turning radius, poor reilability, crappy transmission, and the longer I own it, the uglier the vehicle looks to me. Thank goodness GM and Saturn went out of business....there's a reason for it....and the VUE is one of them

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
maribeth   [Nov 02, 2009]
Model Reviewed: saturn vue

Never owned a GM car before and WILL NEVER purchase another. Have had the car for less than 2 years and it is very unrelable and a cheaply made car. I have put more money in this vechicle than I should. Can not wait until the day I get a new vechicle.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
davis425   [Oct 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: VUE
Strength:

Looks good

Weakness:

Always in the shop

I got my car about 3 years ago as a college graduation present from my grandfather. Ever since it hit 100,000 miles it has been a nightmare. I have spent more than it is worth by taking it into the shop every other month when something pivotal fails. First it was the carrier bearing, then a bunch of belts and pulleys, then a wheel bearing and now my iginition lock cylinder. All adding up to about $4500 in repairs over 6 months. I will never get a Saturn again, which it looks like won't happen anyways since they are bankrupt. I wonder why...

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
ajbelless   [Aug 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Saturn Vue XR AWD
Strength:

The all wheel drive was nice during our ice storms and i love the size and manuverability.

Weakness:

All the mechanical failure are a great weakness and what idiot came up the cupholders?? they are too far down. I also have fender pieces separating above all four wheels

I bought this car and less than a week later had it in to get the cadalitic converter replaced, I have had two oil pans, electrical shorts, electrical fire, knuckle assembly and steering replaced, onstar backup battery replaced, and the list goes on. It has 41000 miles and never been wrecked. I bought it as a program car and it has been a lemon from the start. I have had it 13 mos now and it has been in the shop at least once a month since I bought it. I love the overall concept just not the constant headaches of mechanical problems.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
keelaurow   [Jun 29, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Saturn/Vue
Strength:

Sleek exterior look, On-Star, same great hauling space as previous model

Weakness:

Interior design flaws with seating, consoles. Mounted side mirrors create blind spot causing potential serious hazard. Car too heavy to stop quickly. Loss of mileage compared to older models. Service & warranty not as good

This is my fourth Saturn and a big disappointment. I upgraded my 05 Saturn Vue (which I loved) only to find that the design changes on the '08 did not enhance the vehicle at all. There is very little room between the seats and the large plastic console. Just enough room for a cell phone to slip down but not enough room to get a hand down there without nearly breaking it. The dashboard design looks cheap as does the sound of my blinker. Perhaps the design was meant to take us back to a simpler time but I don't like the antiquated look and feel of it. In addition, the body of the car is much heavier than the '05. The principle reason I upgraded my '05 was that passenegers in the back seat would get car sick 100% of the time on winding roads. The new VUE fixes that problem by having a heavier body, but it's too heavy for the roller skate V4 engine and stopping can be difficult and dangerous. It also means less gas mileage. In addition, the mirrors have been mounted farther away from the body of the car. This creates a blind spot that is difficult to compensate for and I have had many near misses as a result. I have also been very disappointed with the quality and service of the dealership since getting this car. All in all, Saturn isn't what it used to be and this will be my last one. I am counting the days until I am not upside down on the value of the car so I can unload it.

Similar Products Used: 2005 Saturn Vue (3 years)
2002 Saturn XL?
1998 Saturn
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
AllisonE   [Apr 02, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Saturn Vue
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Brakes, electrical, transmission, etc

As a single mother I was hesitant to buy anything other than a Honda for reliability. The price was right however so I went ahead. Huge mistake! Within a month I had to have an alignment and the starter replaced. 2 months later we were back at the dealer for a "mystery" problem. All in all, the vehicle has had $4700 in repairs, including all sensors, throttle body, connections, transmission work, etc. Want some lemonade.... just suck on my tailpipe.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Janette Starck   [Jan 19, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Saturn Vue
Strength:

Looks good

Weakness:

unreliable

Our daughter bought this car and it has cost her a fortune! She could have had it paid off by now with all the repairs she has had to have done, the most major was a new engine from the timing belt coming off at 75000 mi. Don't Buy ONE!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
SMN   [Mar 19, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Vue, 3.5 V6 Honda Engine
Strength:

None

Weakness:

You name it.

My truck is 27 mos old with 46,000 miles on it. Have replaced brakes, radio, wheel bearing, and now have to replace transmission! Oh, and the milage is terrible

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Tabitha   [Jan 07, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Saturn Vue
Strength:

None

Weakness:

The transmission, engine, heating, cooling, and brakes.

I hate to belittle those of you who have also had trouble with your car, but my experiences are way worse. I have had my VUe for 4 1/2 yrs and today, no kidding today just got my car back from the repair shop having had it's 4th transmission completely replaced!!! I have also had brakes, engine, heating, cooling, electricity, and a multitude of other problems. GM would not assist nor would Saturn. The owner of my dealership would avoid me like the plague. I also have to pay $50 for a deductible everytime I go in not to mention the extra extended warranty I already paid for when I bought this car. This car is the biggest lemon out there, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. And Saturns solution, trade it in for a newer model Vue they're better!

Similar Products Used: Saturn SL1
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 128  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com