Toyota 4Runner SUV | Crossover

4Runner

The 4Runner is a 4-door, up to 7-passenger sport-utility, available in 5 trims, ranging from the SR5 4X2 to the Limited 4X4.

The SR5 4X2 is equipped with a standard 4.0-liter, V6, 270-horsepower engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

The 2010 4Runner is redesigned for 2010.

User Reviews (278)

Showing 1-10 of 278  
Toyman   [Dec 25, 2010]
Strength:

Well made reliable real 4wd

Weakness:

Gas Milage but no weaker than every other SUV out there and better than most

2nd 4runner and I would not buy anything else. Love Toyota, Love the 4runner

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
dental one   [Feb 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: toyota 4-runner suv
Strength:

This 1992 4-runner had a bad design.

Weakness:

My father was killed in this 4-runner.

Toyota 4-runner, 1992, had a bad design. When put into cruise control the truck accelerated very fast and the brake would not work. My father was killed when he hit an embankment. He died instantly.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
james lawrence   [Dec 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: sr5 four runner v6
Strength:

roomy,handles well,plenty of power,good
gas mileage.

Weakness:

converters will cost app $750 per yr usage
based on my personal experience.

great automobile but will definitely look at other options on next purchase.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Bruce   [Aug 23, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 4runner/limited v-8
Strength:

power,ride,quality,looks and trade in value

Weakness:

My ice house won't quit fit in back (short bed)

This will be my 4th 4 Runner. I will not buy anything else. All have been traded for newer models. I was leary about the v-8 only because Toyota Trucks are not the best mpg trucks around.At 55 or so i am pulling about 1600 rpm and will get 19 to 21 mpg.At 70 mph (we wont talk about that). After 57,000 miles it is still solid,air tight and very smooth. I have always been a Toyota person. I had read lots of reviews on the 2005 before buying.Some not so good(minor stuff)Most complaints where about hard ti figure out dash to bad milage,nothing ever about the performance and engine problems.I do take great care of it and only use synthetic oil in her. I am more than happy i baught this one.Even pulling the boat it still gets 16 to 18 mpg and i have a very big heavy boat. I dont need to go into Toyota quality as it speaks for itself. I am American very much to those that are nolt happy reading this ,but when it comes to spending that much money i want the best weather it's American made or not. Bottom line it Americans just cant build a vehicle that comes close to Toyota standars(Sorry to all i offend by that)

Similar Products Used: 1991 4-runner,1992 4-runner,1999 4-runner
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Doug Galbraith   [Jul 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: sr5
Strength:

Dependability
Interior room
Very Quiet ride
Great power for a 6 cylinder

Weakness:

The best you will get is 21 MPG

This is my second 4 Runner. Solid vehicle with comfortable ride. Interior space and storage make it extemely accommodating for great versatility. Exterior is rugged, rims are sporty and finish is very fit and trim. If you are shopping for a dependable, versatile and sporty SUV, look no further. For the price, you can't beat it. Also, it gets 450 miles to the tank.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard Savary   [Jun 23, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Toyota 4Runner
Strength:

Quality, comfort, simple styling and utility.

Weakness:

Poor gas mileage (compared with my cars), poor CD player (mine is now dead), costly tires (compared with my cars).

I've had my 4Runner for almost 6 mos., having chosen it on the basis of many positive reviews. My truck had only 90K miles on it when I got it, which is very low for a 10 year old vehicle. I'd intended to get a crew-cab pick-up, but this SR5 version, with the somewhat hard to find 4WD with a 5-speed, is a combination I could not resist!

I'm perfectly happy with it. It gives the impression of being stone-cold reliable, and does in fact reek of quality in virtually every part. Everything, except the 10 yo factory CD player, works perfectly.

Yes it rides like a truck, which is fine with me, and yes it gets only 16 mpg in town, or 19-20 on the highway, which is adequate, since I don't commute.

I HAVE found my rear window mysteriously down several times, and the gas tank IS too small, but otherwise it has been perfect.

Oh, I did take it on one 1400 mile round trip, and found the driver's seat to be very comfortable, even on the straight shot, 650 return drive. I love driving this truck!

I expect to keep it at least 10 years, and expect it will easily last that long...

I'd recommend these to anyone who wants a comfortable, smallish truck for family or any other use.

Similar Products Used: I've never owned another SUV.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tammy   [Apr 02, 2009]
Model Reviewed: TOYATO 4/RUNNER SPORT V8
Strength:

VERY COMFORTABLE SEATING, LOTS OF ROOM TO MOVE AROUND, GREAT SOUND SYSTEM, VERY SPORTY LOOK. LOVE THE STYLE.

Weakness:

NOT CHEEP ON THE GAS.

THIS IS A GREAT SUV. VERY COMFORTABLE RIDE. LOOKS GOOD, RIDES GOOD, MADE GOOD, I LOVE IT.

Similar Products Used: FIRST SUV
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
yelmking@gmail.com   [Mar 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 4Runner Sport Edition
Strength:

Utility (handles well in all conditions) style, mechanical quality is unrivaled. The sun roof and hood scoop are both stylish and practical. Powers up hills without any problem.

Weakness:

It is a little bit smaller than your typical SUV, but bigger than a cross over or hybrid.

This V6 model 4Runner is a quality rig. We looked at the Honda Pilot and 4Runner, but the style and quality of the 4Runner won out. It has just the right cargo carrying capacity, and gets slightly better fuel efficiency (city 16-20mpg, 22-25mpg highway) and handles better than your typical SUV. The eletric back window is nice when you have a big dog that likes to look out the back.
We have taken it on a number of mountain backroads in diferent weather conditions and never had a problem with traction or stability. I have never had any mechanical problems and it is a very comfortable rig to drive.

Similar Products Used: Tahoe, Blazer, Expedition, Silverado
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
keypat   [Jan 26, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 4Runner

Buyer Beware--Research the mid 1990 models and you will find the 4Runner with a V6 3.0 engine has MAJOR head gasket problems. Toyota has issued a limited recall, and many owners including myself feel the recall needs to be extended to include more models. Our 4Runner blew a head gasket at 120,000 miles. 18 months after a $2200 rebuild, it has now again blown a head gasket.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Rosemarie   [Feb 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Toyota 4 Runner
Strength:

I loved my Four Runner! I loved all the room in it. I could fold down the back seats for camping and sleep in it. Most comfortable vehicle for camping.

Weakness:

Poor gas mileage, 17 MPG. Constantly broke. Repairs ran me broke, gas prices ran me broke. Such a shame as I really liked the vehicle.

I have owned this vehicle for almost 6 years. I bought it with 150,000 miles on it. 1 month after I bought it the engine blew. I had it replaced with a Jasper rebuilt engine. 6 months later the transmission went. I had a used one put in. After that the repairs were constant. I have replaced brake rotors, front axles, rear axles, transmission lines, brake lines, you name it, I've replaced it. It has been completely mechnically rebuilt. It has an oil pan leak. Uses 1 qt oil per month. I have about $7000 to $8000 worh of repairs in it, not including the purchase price. I have $14,000 in a vehicle that is now not worth $2000, since it has blown the head gasket AGAIN in the Jasper rebuilt engine which is 3 years old and has 75,000 miles on it(already out of warranty). If I knew then, what I know now, I would have NEVER bought this vehicle! It has been nothing but an unreliable money pit. A good vehicle for people with money to burn. I doubt I will ever buy another Toyota. I'm now out car shopping for another vehicle because I refuse to sink any more money in to this one.

Similar Products Used: None. Had a 1987 Dodge D50 Ram pick up truck that is STILL going, and going, and going! I think I am going back to Mitsubischi products.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 278  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com