Toyota Land Cruiser SUV | Crossover

Land Cruiser

The Toyota Land Cruiser is a 4-door, 8-passenger luxury sport-utility, available in one trim only, the 4X4.

The Land Cruiser is equipped with a standard 5.7-liter, V8, 381-horsepower engine that achieves 13-mpg in the city and 18-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (62)

Showing 1-10 of 62  
Peter   [Feb 23, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Land Cruiser
Strength:

Smooth shifting, powerful with the 275 hp 332 torque drivetrain, rides beautifully, solid and quiet. Good reliability record.

Weakness:

No memory driver seat, no rain sensing wipers, interior lighting poor, outside rear view mirrors not auto fold in (for parking in tight spots with its large size), heated seat bottom only heats (not lumbar/seat back), no high intensity headlights. Supension needs some work...but sloppy in slippery conditions

Overall very pleased.

A bit disappointed though in the lack of some features one would expect in a luxury vehicle (one in the $50K plus range)

Similar Products Used: Touareg, Exlporer, Jeeep
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
malik   [Dec 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: landcruiser GXR auto
Weakness:

this car has so many problems which i realy regret buying and i dont think i will but it again..maybe the dealer was the problem.

this car model suffers from manufaturer defects which they dont want to admit. on the transmission while shifting the gear between the speeds 40 to 60 km/h..the car suffers from rust from day one.

Similar Products Used: jeep grand cherokee
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
colemanelectric   [Jul 02, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Land Cruiser
Strength:

Ride, handling, quietness, smooth engine, perfect size, comfort, and resale.

Weakness:

Minor electrical problems, Toyota dealers are terrible, repair costs. Know problems with these are exhaust shield rattle(easily fixed), Starters($700!)Thottle sensors( $275)

Let me first say that the Land Cruiser is the finest driving SUV I've ever driven. Room for 8 yet drives like a much smaller car. I bought this used with 62,000 miles on it and we have had two flukes already that have left my wife stranded twice! First the Throttle position sensor went out. On this vehicle when that happens you aren't going anywhere. Toyota should fix this so it will go into a limp home mode like other manufacturers. This is a known problem with the 4.7. The alternator went out a few weeks later. $500 to fix! Hopefully we won't have any other problems with it because I really love the way it drives. Extremely refined. Its the perfect size for my family of five. Not a boat like some of the other SUVs out there yet still seats eight. Puts my old 2000 suburban and 2000 Expedition to shame.

Similar Products Used: 2000 and 1998 Expeditions( horrible handling, good utility). 2000 Suburban( (Too long). 2001 Izuzu Trooper(A 3/4 sized land cruiser and a good buy).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
imnotaplayer   [Jun 27, 2005]
Model Reviewed: landcruiser
Strength:

Safety, super comfortable, my lab loves it, very quiet, 4x4 strength and traction, sound system, nav, reliablility, AC system, tailgate isn't too heavy, remote entry key, placement of all accessories is easy for the driver to reach.

Weakness:

NONE, but I wish there was a memory seat option and passenger climate control.

Even though I don't have time to write a review, I owe it to Toyota to let people know what exceptional products they build. I bought my LC new and have 19K miles on it now. I drive it hard and have had only one small problem. (moisture in one fog lamp) I live in Arizona where summer temps reach 120 degrees easy. My new truck is the most dependable vehicle out there and never overheats even under the most extreme conditions. I have taken it off road, up and down mountains, snow and ice covered roads in Flagstaff, and over 110 mph on the freeways. I was in Park City, UT this January 05 and we got 18 inches of snow in 6 hours. The LC was the only vehicle out of the whole subdivision that could enter on uphill road into our area. Anyone besides me who has driven my vehicle says, "Wow...I wish I had a land cruiser. That thing is awesome!" If you want: great value, no maintenance headaches, reliability, to never get stuck, comfort and luxury...buy the LC or Lexus. I had to buy an LC because no Lexus dealerships would negotiate, but Toyota dealers were willing to work with me on the price. This fall I will be taking it on a hunting trip to Alabama where I will be driving through swamps, streams, ruts and heavily mudded areas. Can't wait to go in areas where tractors are pulling out Chevy's and Fords daily, but never LC's. The LC is the epitamy of a perfect vehicle. Whether you're a soccer mom, an offroad junkie, a WallStreet broker, or a drug dealer in the hood; the Land Cruiser won't let ya down.

Similar Products Used: Mercedes products. (What a nightmare) In the shop every other week. I will never, ever, buy a MB again. They are complete POS.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dwaynem772   [Jan 07, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Landcruiser
Strength:

Ride, responsiveness, utility. Retains value well and is quite durable.

Weakness:

MPG, could use computer to indicate how many miles left of gas since the indicator drops from 1/4 tank to empty FAST and is a little misleading. Console rattles a little at higher speeds. I got towed because of a flat tire and the my mechanic commented on the inferior quality of the jack and accessories included with the truck.

After reading reviews and talking to close friends who are lifelong Toyota loyalists, I kept gravitating back to the LC. Test drove a 4-Runner and a Range Rover. The 4-Runner's front cabin seemed more like a cockpit to me (too tight). The Range Rover's interior design is more nicely appointed than the LC (my opinion). However, it was the slow acceleration (could feel the pressure in my calf when I practically had to stand on the gas pedal for a response) and consistent comments on lack of reliability from current owners that turned me off.Sure enough, while driving home after test driving the RR, I saw one parked on the side of the freeway waiting for a tow. I have yet to see a LC in that position. I've had my LC for 1.5 years and use it for a mostly urban lifestyle. It performed admirably in last year's blizzard on the East Coast. I haven't had a single problem with it. Acceleration and handling are quite responsive. Cargo area usually carries my two dogs, but handles more w/o a problem. I've put almost 24k miles in this timeframe and you wouldn't know it. I bit the bullet on price since I plan on having this SUV well beyond 100k or 200k miles. Why pay the extra 15k for the LX470 when you can add the walnut trim to the interior after-market and pay a lot less? Leather-wrap steering wheel- $7 at Wal-Mart!!

Similar Products Used: Test drove 4-Runner and Range Rover.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Tim HC   [Dec 03, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Landcruiser
Strength:

Ride, handling, smooth V8, safety, 4x4

Weakness:

None so far

This is the king of all SUVs. Good performance, smooth engine, great ride strong build. Test drove the LX470 but I didn't think it was worth the extra money over the Cruiser. When you drive one of these, it is almost like being in a sedan which is amazing for such a big truck. I have been very impressed with the ride, handling and feeling of safety with the permanent 4x4. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for an SUV and buying used with the right miles and history makes sense over buying a new one unless you have deep pockets.

Similar Products Used: Range Rover, Mercedes ML, LX 470 (test only)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shakey Hahn   [Sep 27, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Landcruiser
Strength:

sound system, seats, powerful V8, towing, seats folding down, quiet motor, power passenger seat, windows in back go down all the way

Weakness:

gas mileage, price, not as big as a Sequoia

Has all of the features of a Luxus 470. However the price is much cheaper. The car is very smooth and you can barely feel bumps in the road. The V8 engine is very powerful. It might be a little pricey at first but is very reliable and roomy. I like how comfortable the seats are. The sound system is very good however can only hold one CD at a time.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Sequoia, Chevrolet Tahoe, Ford Expedition, Lincoln Navigator, Caddilac Escalade, Acura MDX, Lexus 470
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
meoneonly   [Jun 25, 2003]

This is a very cool SUV, it will be much better if it has a more powerful engine (like 320HP not 230 HP) and little bit longer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Hulk   [Jun 06, 2003]
Model Reviewed: VX 4.5L Petrol
Strength:

* Commanding driving position. (when towing - being able to see well ahead is advantageous) * Comfortable and roomy. (often 7 adults carried) * Build Quality. (okay it may not have 'the feel' of some German tin - however I don't see the UN inspectors and other agencies using MB/BMW machines do you??) Better value for money. * Reliability. (touch wood so far this machine has not let me down.)

Weakness:

* Fuel economy. (wouldn't be as much of a problem in the States!!) * Parking. (Sizeable station wagon with barely adequate turning circle (thank-goodness for power steering and auto!!)

I've read with interest many of the previous owners reviews and concour with them - this vehicle manages to achieve practicality, style, power, and comfort in generous equal measure. Previously ran Shogun (Montaro) 2.5L D and towed twin axle trailer (1.6 tonnes +) - it struggled. This beast has no problem with towing our newer heavier unit. Only gripe (thanks to exorbitant Govt fuel taxes!) is keeping that 4.5 litre straight-six fed (ave: 16 mpg). Formerly presumed to be a 'school-run car: (I bought @ 39k mls @ 5 years old and VERY clean)the odd wash and wax and it gleams - whilst I've managed to add only 36k mls since then. Not a hickup. Would I recommend one - YES. Would I own another - YES. Am I looking to sell this one - YES (being between jobs just now its proving to be just that bit too much strain to keep. "Sob!!"

Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi Shogun/Pajero/Montero 2.5L Diesel.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Christopher Bell   [Feb 07, 2003]
Strength:

Fantastic towing ability, plus superb off-road performance. (It regularly hauls other 4x4s & horse trailers out of the mud at horsey events.) Comfortable, reasonably fast, reliable, seemingly indestructible. Robust enough to handle the tough stuff, but presentable enough to take anywhere. Massively indifferent to poor driving conditions, giving driver and passengers huge confidence that they'll get to wherever they are going in comfort and style - regardless of flooding, ice, snow, wind, mud, etc.

Weakness:

Surprisingly cramped inside despite its size (3rd row of seats is under 12s only, and boot is v. limited when they're in use). Poor headlights, typically Japanese dashboard with semi-random switch layout. Steering lock poor (= difficult to park in town).

I have the 4.2 Turbodiesel, manual version. (Fuel is expensive in the UK, and this averages 27 Miles to the UK gallon.) I bought it to lug around our family (1 wife, 2 dogs, 3 horses & four children). We regularly tow over 2.5 tons of horses, which it handles with ease. It also doubles up as a tractor for our very small-scale farming. It also serves as a family car, used for everyday running about. All the family love it. This is a big, tough 4x4 that relies on robust engineering rather than gadgets - take a look underneath at the transmission: it wouldn't disgrace a tractor. Yet it is reasonable to drive on the road, and has all the gadgets you need: ABS, electric sunroof & windows, A/C, electric (heated) seats, cruise control.... You won't get the refinement of the Lexus or BMW, because this is a very different beast. It is very much a vehicle for a practical person who actually needs a 4x4, rather than someone who just wants to show off.

Similar Products Used: Land-Rover, Range Rover, Mitsubishi Shogun (Pajero in USA)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 62  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com