Chevrolet S-10 Trucks | Vans

S-10

(1982 - 2004) The S-Series Pickup comes with 2 engine choices, a 4 cylinder with 120-hp, and a V6 with 175-hp. Both are available with a 5 speed manual or automatic transmission. Available in 2 or 4 wheel drive and standard ABS.

User Reviews (244)

Showing 1-10 of 244  
dv92   [Aug 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: s-10 Long bed 2wd
Strength:

Good MPG about 30, light, and just a nice riding truck

Weakness:

little underpowered..but its quite enough to pull a small trailer and do whatever you gotta do

i bout this truck used with about 80,000 on it. Its got the 2.2L I-4 and its a 2wd Long Bed LS. The motor is a little underpowered with the A/C on. but its not made to be a powerhouse. the long bed is nice and so is the auto-tranny.

Similar Products Used: 1995 Chevy s10 blazer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Trinitys Desire   [Jul 07, 2008]
Model Reviewed: S-10 Reg cab
Strength:

Durable, reliable, great gas mileage if maintained properly.

Weakness:

Ehh, 4cyl. version underpowered... ESPECIALLY when AC is on!!!!! but its nice and frigid!!! Regular cab barely has any storage space behind seats, but I guess thats what you get when you get a regular cab...

I have had this truck for a little over 3years now. This is the best little truck I have ever owned. (knock on wood) The only thing I had to replace on this vehicle was a gas pump, which was my fault for over flowing it. Other than that I havent had to replace anything (knock on wood) other than the normal wear and tear. I work with horses, and have have overloaded it numerous times with feed, hay and bedding, yet not once did my litl truck ever give me a fuss. Ive had it since it had about 32k and it is just hitting 80k. I am just giving it a new set of tires, that I hope wont outlast the truck. It still purrs like a kitten, and I think I have maintained the mechanical aspect well so far for being a female and all!!! haha. My only gripe is I wish I had gotten a 4x4 but I needed a small around the barn beat up truck, and I definitely got my moneys worth with this one!!!

Similar Products Used: Chevy Silverado, GMC Sierra
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
philipward   [Feb 29, 2008]
Model Reviewed: sonoma shortbox
Strength:

simple to maintain
cheap to operate
easy to fix
nearly indestructible

Weakness:

rust

This is without a doubt the best vehicle I ever owned. I bought it for 80.00 with 159k on the odometer and a slight knock in the engine, fixed the loose rocker arm, and it's over 300k now. The 2.5 "iron duke" is unkillable! It's simple, easy to maintain, and you can find parts for it anywhere--I think that anything GM manufactured will fit on a sonoma. The transmission syncros went at about 230k, so I had to put a new transmission in it, but other than that it's just been basic maintenance work. I got about 90k out of the tires, and nearly 100k out of the brakes. The only real issue with the truck is rust--the cab floor's gone, and I've had to replace the bed. The truck will haul anything you throw in it, and not care. It'll drive through almost anything. Best 80 dollars I've ever spent. Oh--and it gets almost 28mpg.

Similar Products Used: various other s-trucks from '84 to '89
several late 70s full-size chevys
1990 Silverado
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian   [Feb 07, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Chevrolet S10 LS
Strength:

Extremely reliable, decent gas mileage, good visibility.

Weakness:

The 2.2L is short on power.

I bought this S10 used in 2002. This is, by a long shot, the best vehicle I have ever owned. (I have owned Hondas, Nissans, Toyotas, Fords..) The 2.2L engine, although not a powerhouse, is extremely reliable. I have 140K miles on my truck and I still have excellent oil pressue, it starts right up every time, and the auto trans still shifts like new. I am rough on this truck as well, as I am constantly using it to haul around engines and parts for my various classic car projects, as well as driving it in city traffic daily. Other than routine maintanence, I haven't had to replace anything.

Also, the AC is cold as a meat locker, which comes in handy here in Florida. The interior is roomier and more comfortable than any small truck I have ever driven. (But I don't recommend it for long trips - although the interior is comfy, it's no Cadillac)

I wouldn't hesitate to drive this car across the country and back, and if GM still made them, I'd buy another without thinking twice.

Similar Products Used: Ford Ranger, Nissan Frontier, Toyota Tacoma. S10 is definitely my fav.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
GG   [Jul 13, 2006]
Model Reviewed: S-10 LS Crew Cab
Strength:

Powerful engine - it drives the same even with the bed either empty or full of soil. It climbs steep dirt roads very well(in low 4)and can accelerate while doing so. It is stock and decent for dirt roads with the exception of the clearance - the wheelbase is quite long and tends to hit rocks. This could be fixed with a lift kit.

Weakness:

-Gas guage: 15 gallon tank registers at half full when actually there is only 5 gallons in the tank.
-When selecting cool, fresh air (not AC) I notice that it is 5-10 degrees warmer than the outside air temperature. It can get a bit annoying on those days that are warm, not hot, and you don't want to run the AC.
-The doors get misaligned quite easily and do not shut smoothly.
-Some of the interior molding makes noise like it needs to be re-glued or tightend.

I wanted a truck with 4 doors so I could have my kids (car seats) in back and the bed loaded with Home Depot stuff. I chose the S-10 because the Nissan Frontier 4 door truck wouldn't fit child car seats with enough space for a comfortable seat position. I can't afford the Toyota Tacoma 4 door , so, the Chevy was the choice.

Similar Products Used: Honda CRV (not really in the same class, eh?)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
KC10Chief   [Jun 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: LS / Regular cab
Strength:

Reliability
Looks
Gas mileage
Value

Weakness:

Some would say the 2.2L engine is underpowered. I don't care though.

This has by far been the best vehicle I have ever owned. My truck just turned over 202,000 miles! The 2.2L engine has never been rebuilt and neither has the 5 speed tranny. It fires right up without fail every single day, idles great, runs great and I wouldn't hesitate to drive it across the country. I never have any problems with this truck. I've had it for years and haven't had anything go wrong with it. No leaks, no engine or tranny problems, just an alternator going out. That was about $80 and 10 minutes of my time. My A/C works better in this truck than it does in my $30,000 F250. Not only that, but it gets great mileage too! On the highway if I set the cruise, I can get up to 30 mpg. It looks a bit rough but I sure do love this truck! The 2.2L engine is definately underpowered but who cares with these gas prices? It will still go 90 mph before the governor kicks in. Parts are dirt cheap for this truck too. There's so many of them out there. I bought a brand new grille for $20 after some knucklehead backed into me and ran off. I paid $1,200 for this truck. That was by far the best money I ever spent on a vehicle.

Similar Products Used: 1993 Mazda B2200 - Can't hold a candle to the S-10!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
golfer   [Jun 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: chev s10

Update to previous reveiw.

Shortly after posting original reveiw, the truck was sold. I recently bumped into the person who bought it and he told me the intake manifold gasket had to be replaced and the ball joints are going. He was thankful to have the extended warranty. Oh yes, the third door continues to need adjusting.

I have found out the intake manifold gasket is a common problem as well the ball joints.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
TyHoolie   [Jun 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 2wd 2.2L xcab
Strength:

interior is comfortable, nice looking

Weakness:

weak power, if your looking for a daily driver to get you from A to B, this is the truck for you, but if you want to have a little fun while your out, this is not the truck for you.

nice little truck. it looks good but i did lower it a few inches. but overall good quality truck. trustworthy, dependable. rides nice even with lowered suspension.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jerry shaffer   [Apr 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: S10 LS ZR2 4x4
Strength:

Sharp Looking
Smooth Riding
Spacious
Great Towing Power with 3.73 Gear Ratio

Weakness:

Breaking System (many recalls in "rustbelt states"
Ball Joints
Wheel Bearings
Gas (low mpg)

If you are looking for a dependable truck to handle the bad weather and last a considerable long time with limited repairs; Look somewhere else. The S-10 in the ZR2 package does however offer some great aspects. It is a sharp vehicle that has an engine that just won't quit. You will get plenty of compliments on the looks. The downside is that in this specific package is that they are high maintainace. Ball joints, wheel bearings, ABS sencers, rear breaking equalizers, and third door handle and locking are all major issues that GMC needed to attend to. These areas can be pretty costly. The gas milage is around 15 mpg city / 18 mpg interstate.

Similar Products Used: 1998 Silverado Truck
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
golfer   [Jun 29, 2005]
Model Reviewed: S10 LS extended cab 2wd
Strength:

4.3l has lots of power ,good heat / ac, Stereo good features and sound, decent handling and ride, "courtesy transportation" included in warranty

Weakness:

Third door , seat comfort and material used, stock parts are poor quality ( shocks, starter ), speakers have good sound but can't handle any reasonable volume the stereo has, warranty service ( awful ), seem to have to order repair parts

2 issues: 1) GM and their dealers 2) the product Bought the vehicle new on 0% financing ( can't go wrong with a free loan ), full extended warranty with the intention to keep it for a long time. I only drive it in the summer and only in the cold part of winter never seen the slushy ,wet, salty stuff. I'm very meticulous about maintenance and staying on top of fixing any problems when they showup, neglect is a recipe for disasster for any vehicle. Within two weeks the third door rattled and a rear shock was leaking ( 200 kiolom ), fixed by the dealer although had to wait for a shock to be ordered. Returned to have shock replaced again had to have third door adjusted. The first winter the starter went and had a whinning noise from rear also third door rattle.Starter replaced, door adjusted again,tech. roadtest for whinning and said it was winter tires ( wrong ). I had performed my own diagnostics by having rear wheels off the ground and spinning them in drive , noise was there. Took it back to dealer and test drive with shop foreman , immediately he said there was a bulletin on this ( hanger bearing ) and the tech should have caught this ( duh ). There were a few rattles fom the center dash, the vents were tweaked and the stereo was replaced. Second winter the starter was acting up again and their was a coolant leak after a minute or so when started again third door rattle ( 3700 kilom ). Took it in for the repairs and told them i would be out of town for a week so they would have plenty of time. When i came back to pick up the vehicle ( Friday ) they told me they couldn't duplicate the problem with the starter and they couldn't find any leak so they put a dye in the cooling system. They told me to drive the vehicle for a 1000 kilometers to circulate the dye and book an appointment for them to use their infrared light to trace where the leak is coming from . I told them that was ridiculous since just running the engine for a period would be enough to circulate the dye , especially when it was dropped off on the Monday and this was on Friday, oh well was their reply. Oh yes the third door was adjusted again. After starting my vehicle in the parking lot and was brushing the snow off I noticed coolant leaking and forming a puddle, at that point I was seeing red.Back inside to tell them, the tech working on the vehicle came out and saw this and said the water pump was faulty and they would have to order one in. That Sunday I went out to start the vehicle and the starter wouldn't engage , called roadside had it towed to the dealership. Monday down to the dealership went out with them and showed it wouldn't start ( funny how that works ), they promised to fix it right away. I do like the " courtesy transportation " part of the warranty, when your vehicle is in for warrenty service they either drop you off and pick you up or provide a loaner vehicle. To date there are 4800 kilometers the third door still rattles the two front shocks are leaking and I'm selling it. I feel the third door is a week point and will be an issue for ever , the stater seems to be an issue in cold climates. The 60/40 seat is not all that comfortable and cheap cloth material. The sevice at dealerships is awful, part of this is the restrictions the manufacturers ( GM in this case ) have on how to do warranty work and how much they pay the dearlerships for the warranty work. It's ridiculous the owner has to first diagnose the problem for what to repair. This is the last North American manufacturer vehicle I'll ever buy, swithching back to Japanese. If you decide on this vehicle make sure there is as much warranty available as possible , you'll need it.

Similar Products Used: 92 nissan truck ( fantastic) 94 nissan Maxima (fantastic)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 244  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com