Dodge Ram Van Trucks | Vans

Dodge Ram Van Trucks | Vans 

DESCRIPTION

(1971 - 2003) Introduced in 1971 and refined slightly in 1994, the Ram Van received completely new bodywork in 1998, along with improvements in interior space, sound isolation, and fit and finish. It is the only full-size van to offer short-, regular- and extended-length versions. The Ram is powered by the following engines; the 3.9-liter V-6, and 5.2- and 5.9-liter V-8s. Other options are the 3 and 4-speed automatic transmissions. This full-size van can hold up to 15 people.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 39  
[Aug 26, 2010]
bryncomeaux@yahoo.com
Model Reviewed: 1 ton 360 cu in v-8

Strength:

Great van. I get better that 11 mpg. Because i'm very careful . i keep up with traffic, try to stay off the freeway, avoid lights etc. i think i get almost 15mpg. Is an extended van and the one ton holds a lot of weight. I didn't pay much for it because it's a little beat up But it runs like a top . It was used as a courier vehicle and then by several private owners and yet after 250,000 miles it still runs great, starts every time without fail and is simply the most reliable vehicle i've ever driven. Dodge is the best. I've owned a lot of good brands and I still think Dodge is the best.
I mean are you relaly going to buy a Ford Van? I'v had one, got tired of towing it. Chevys alright but it broke too. Keep this in mind i'm the guy who only owns old beaters. I know what will survive abuse and age, it's Dodge.

Weakness:

Engine still runs after nearly every other system has failed and its not really safe to drive. I'm serious!
i had a 1966 dodge split window with the engine between the seats. It was ancient. But it still ran . 30 years old and it still ran. The don't make cars like that anymore but this 90' dodge full size van is pretty close.

Dodge lives forever.

Similar Products Used:

ford chevy van

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2006]
cruisinmopars
Model Reviewed: B-2500 Glaval-Conversion

Strength:

starts every time, runs smooth.
plenty of power. the 318 FI is very strong.
lots of room inside.
the ride is fantastic, better than a caddy.
the wheels interchange with ford truck. So you have a better selection of wheel styles.
the instrumentation is easy to read and understand.
the engine is very easy and cheap to get parts for, and work on.
IT is a dodge, what can I say, Reliability,usefulness,long lasting,easy to work on,.

Weakness:

SEVERE VIBRATION???????? RUMBLE from drive line. Driveshaft? rearend?
leg room is terribile, makes your legs feel like you are a russian space test pilot. van makes sounds when you cut wheel hard to make tight radius turn. van sits way to low, should be at least a foot higher. the van is called a B-250, yet it has the same drivetrain as a 150????? this I do not understand? it also has a 5 lug pattern???? is this a bad joke from dodge???? van needs a bigger fuel tank. van has major major problem with the fuel sending unit? gauge does not work? and of course major problems with the speedometer cluster, and fuse panel problem,.

1991 Dodge B-2500 Ram Van, Great van strong 318 CI V-8 FI, This van has a whel chair lift and is beautiful, white with blue pin stripe, and silver. I bought the van for my handicapped mother and she loves it, starts every time, a lot of power, it has 120,000 miles on it. It does have a severe vibration, very very severe, presently I cannot drive it, I replaced the universal joints in drie shaft, I also replaced the transmission mount, and engine mounts,. The drive shaft has no play in it, I do not know what to do, I did not check the rear end yet, I love the van and love to drive it, it is a southeren van and rust free. Glaval conversion made a nice top for it, it has a low profile high top. If anyone has any info about dodge van vibrations or went through this please drop me a line and let me know, my E-mail cruisinclassics@fastmail.fm

Similar Products Used:

Ford econoline van,chevy g series van. ford trucks.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 24, 2005]
ahanix
Model Reviewed: Dodge Ram 2500, Coachman conversion

Strength:

Powerful engine Loud speakers TV/VCP Tight cornering Pulls more than it's rated for without a problem

Weakness:

Stock tires don't look the best Not the best mileage Not a lot of legroom due to the large doghouse

This van is a solid performer. We purchased the passenger version with V8 5.2l engine, and it had no problem pulling a 9,200 pound travel trailer. Sound system is loud, handles nice, engine sound plenty powerful. We have had to do maintenance such as a new fuel pump, but for 97,000 miles, it hasn't given us much trouble. Replaced the tires with new Radial Trail Mark tires, and that makes a huge difference in how it looks. TV/VCP combo sits a little too close to the ground (Family dog often blocked it), but we were able to modify the cabinet to raise it higher (Giving us space under the TV to store videos). Rear bed broke rather easy when we put a large load on it, but that shouldn't be too hard to fix (A piece bent). Fuel efficiency isn't the best, but that's to be expected. Brakes can be a bit lacking (Especially when an old couple in a Saturn Ion pull out right in front of you), but the horn helps in situations like that. We have a cover thing over the steering wheel, which makes it feel more comfortable to drive. A simple way to preserve the life of the carpet is to get custom plastic covering for it. We did for both our vans, and the carpet is still great. A common situation is people will sometimes pull out in front of us at a 4-way stop because they think we can't accelerate fast enough. But we tend to show them ;)

Similar Products Used:

2002 GMC Savana, Explorer conversion, 5.7liter 255hp engine

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 06, 2004]
RamVanMan
Model Reviewed: B250

Strength:

The body is galvanized, so rust only affected the doors and hood, which didn't much bother me. It had propane from the start, and a roller-cam 318, and the differential and transmission finally quit funcioning last month at 635,000 km (380,000 mi). At 635,000 km the 318 has almost no ridge, and all is well inside except the camshaft, which will need replacing. This is by far the best vehicle buy that I have ever made! Parts are cheap and easy, I can fix it myself, and it's relatively inexpensive to fuel up. Congrats to the design crew at Chyrsler!

Weakness:

The doors and hood rust because they're not galvanized. I can't think of any other weaknesses. This is an incredibly reliable working vehicle!

I bought a white Dodge B250 in 1993 from a Purolator owner/operator. It had 235,000 km (140,000 mi) on it then, and the differential whined all the way when I drove it home. I insulated & panelled the interior and put a bed platform in it, and drove it for 11 years, hauling incredible amounts of stuff and travelling long distances. I have recently purchased another identical vehicle (except red) with a rust-free body and 235,000 km on it, and am busy moving the interior, engine, and propane systems over to it. A truly amazing vehicle!

Similar Products Used:

Previously owned Ford 1/2 ton & 1 ton vans, and thought that they were good....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 20, 2004]
Danisada
Model Reviewed: Dode Ram Van 2500

Strength:

Lots of fun. Very reliable. Nice Highway cruiser.

Weakness:

Rust in snow country. They don't make them anymore.

This has been a very good vehicle. It is a part of the family now. Bought it new in June 1993. Primetime conversion by Glaval. Live in Midwest, traveled to both coasts. Usual problems for vehicle that is 11 years old. It has 48,000 miles on it. Gas mileage 10 to 12 around town (many short trips in winter lowers mileage a lot) Very reliable engine and good interior. Started rusting about five years ago. Dodge replaced one side door and both back doors and repainted under 7 yr/70 rust warranty. Sits outside 24/7. Lots of salt in winter. Always starts. In 11 years replaced brakes, catalytic converter, brake line, tune up, fixed heater control, replaced vacuum line for cruise control, converted and recharged a/c fluid, tires once, 2nd set still good at this miles, driver window came out of track when I tried to lower it with ice frozen on it, battery, fuel gauge sender replace twice. Great ride on highway. Handles like a bus. Kids now teens grew up in this vehicle, lots of fun camping and traveling, drive-in movies with kids. When kids were little they slept three across on folded down rear bench seat. Bought a 12 volt VHS player and hooked to TV for trips. Take seats out and it has been a great hauler-4x8 sheets of plywood, drywall, Lots of Lumber, cement bags, furniture on and on.

Similar Products Used:

1980 Plymouth Trail Duster. Had 13 years traded for Van

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 18, 2004]
Greg
Model Reviewed: 1500 conversion v-6

Strength:

Rides fairly well, engine runs good, and tranny shifts like a dream. I like driving it. Wife likes riding in it.

Weakness:

Problems mentioned above. Only 15 mpg highway. Wind whips it around easily. Fairly loud exhaust noise since engine is spinning pretty fast at 65 mph. They should have used lower ratio rear axle gears. Bought it cheap, otherwise I would be real ticked off with the problems.

I bought this van at auction, and generally love it, but have a couple problems with it I haven't found how to solve, such as driveline vibration. Apparently a previous owner tore up the driveshaft, and a machine shop built them a new one that was not true. Bought new driveshaft which helped some, but still have an annoying vibration that gets worse over 55 mph. I think it must be a problem with the pinion shaft. The other problem is the torque convertor jumps out and back into lockup all the time while just cruising down the highway. If anyone has a suggestion how to fix this let me know.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 28, 2003]
James Eatman
Model Reviewed: Ram Van 1500

Strength:

Reliability Seat Comfort (custom conversion) Cargo Room Ride

Weakness:

Noise (tires, exhaust, and drivetrain) Gas mileage (gets 16 - 17 city or highway) OEM tires (Goodyear Invictas, blowouts) Heavy scheduled maintenance (rear axle fluid changes, tranny fluid changes, etc.)

This is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. I drive a four state sales route, and this van has logged 82,000 miles in three years without a mechanical failure of any kind. It is a Regency conversion. I have seen the other reviews for this vehicle, stating that the front ball joints have gone out. My guess is, you let the idiots at the oil change place grease your ball joints at each oil change, and you'll blow the seals. The maintenance schedule recommends lubing the steering components every oil change, but the ball joints far less frequently. I do what the schedule says, and have had no problems. There has been gear noise in this vehicle since the day I bought it. I ignore it, and it hasn't gotten any worse. Likely if you don't change the rear axle fluid according to the schedule, the rear axle will fail. The 75W-90 gear oil goes in there honey-colored when it is new, and after 20,000 miles, it comes out black. I asked a petroleum consultant about that, and he said that there must be a lot of heat generated in the differential - so you either change the gear oil regularly (as the maintenance schedule indicates), or the differential will fail.

Similar Products Used:

1993 Ford Aerostar - 130K miles and still going (tranny rebuilt at 120K)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 09, 2003]
Deacon Hughes
Model Reviewed: KMC Edition

Strength:

Very strong hauler.It has room enough for the whole family. The look is beautiful on every edition. Last for a long time.

Weakness:

The top on the conversion style vans fade very quickly if you don't wash it. I recommend that you don't get the "powerstroke" trailer hauler b/c it weakens your brakes.

This van is fully equipped with all the extras. It only had 95,849 miles on it. The blue book value is @ $6,195. This Dodge Conversion van is the one for someone who wants luxury. You would think that since it is so big that it would use up a lot of gas but its actually great on city miles. We have'nt had chance to take it on the road but its a real MCcoy. The service and ride of this van is perfect. I would recommend this van to anybody who wants cheap luxury.

Similar Products Used:

n/a

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 18, 2003]
jacob
Model Reviewed: Dodge Ram Van 1500 Starcraft Conversion

Strength:

Comfort. Looks. Conversion. Good enegine (5.2L v8) for the size van.

Weakness:

Wear on front tires, and brake pads.

My family has loved this car. Within twpo months we decided to be a one car family (sold our other vehicle) and use this van exclusively. Great all-leather all-wood conversion. Bought this used in 2002 wiht only $40k miles and a year left on Factory Warranty. Have had no major repairs. Did change tires, but the originals were still on it. Only problem has been the pasanger window in the rear door hinge broke. Have not found a replacement yet. It stays it place. But rattles. My band puts about 1000 miles per month on this going to weekend gigs thru-out the southeast. It holds the band, two girlfriends and all our gear.

Similar Products Used:

Have driven Ford Econline for work for several years.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 11, 2003]
Phantompower
Model Reviewed: Dodge 1500 Ram Van Conversion

Strength:

Space and comfort. Safe because of size and visibility. Scored 4 in crash test for both driver and passenger.

Weakness:

About same gas economy as a full size SUV or pickup. About $10k less than a SUV.

Have had this for three weeks. Kids love it. Lots of room and a ggod value for the money. More functional than a SUV.

Similar Products Used:

I have had a Bravada, Chevy pickup and Subaru Outback. The van lacks 4WD but I only needed it a few days out of the year. The van is big and perforamnce is good with the V-8 and 4 speed auto.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com