Ford Econoline Van Trucks | Vans

Ford Econoline Van Trucks | Vans 

DESCRIPTION

(1960 - 2002) The Econoline has the following array of engine options; 4.2-liter V-6 with 195 hp; 4.6-liter V-8 with 215 hp; a 5.4-liter V-8 with 235 hp; a 6.8-liter V-10 with 265 hp and a turbocharged and intercooled 7.3-liter diesel V-8 with 215 hp. All come standard with a 4-speed automatic transmission. This van sits up to 15 passengers.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 68  
[Sep 13, 2010]
Stephen cox
Model Reviewed: E-350 Cutaway Chassis AC 15'L 7'H Box

Strength:

It holds me up off the ground at above sub-compact height.

Weakness:

If I drive 200 miles in one day, the next day it won't go over 45 mph. For whatever reason I am stranded, the vehicle will go up to 45 mph if I let it sit for an hour, then won't go over 15 mph, so I let it sit again.

Did not expect this intermittent engine problem. I don't know what the problem is. I hope its not the oil viscosity the database listed as the oil viscosity for the vehicle (1996 Ford Econoline 350 5.8 Liter Gas).

Similar Products Used:

This is just about the only van I have ever used. I have never driven an RV as long as I have driven this van, nor have I ever owned an RV. That's about as much closer to meeting my needs as this vehicle could get.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 02, 2009]
mlamb3rt
Model Reviewed: e-250

Strength:

large mirror and the acceleration is the best of categories!

Weakness:

suspension is very hard and you havethe impression truck do a top in curve!

If I have a choice betwin a express or econoline express! You must be try the two van and I'm shure you choice a expres you two if you find confort security and reliabity

Similar Products Used:

Chevrolet express very nice van come qith shift tronique 6 speeds it's very nice feeling!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 17, 2009]
adamk
Model Reviewed: e-150

Strength:

big space

Weakness:

Break System, DOORS DONT LINE UP AND CLOSE PROPERLY, WATER COLLECTS ON THE ROOF and after rain is over, even next day, it LEAKS INSIDE vehicle from the roof if window open.

I spent 22grand for the van in may'08. At 12k i noticed problem while braking. One day I hit the highway I-95. while braking from about 70mph steering wheel almost ripped out of my hands. it vibrated so much. it became so scary that i took it to a dealer. I told them i had 3 year 30k warranty, I'm sure they knew about that.
After i told service advisor my experience i was suprised they would not look at it unless I pay them diagnostic fee. So they wouldn't have technician look at it for $20+ dealer pays him, even thou I spent $22,000 to buy their product.
I even called ford customer rep directly to ask if it was for real. Sure enough you gotta pay.
Unfortunately there isnt any other better cargo vans out there that size. So ford got me by the balls. SUCKS if I need to spend extra$$$$(from what i read below$600) every year for things that should last at least 50,000.

Similar Products Used:

chevrolet astro van

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 10, 2009]
movenu
Model Reviewed: e150 / 4.2 L V6

Strength:

Strong engine and transmission (unlike Dodges which don't seem to last). Nice sized and comfortable to drive. Real metal bumpers instead of the plastic everything seems made with today.

Weakness:

Brakes don't last as long as I would like. 4.2L lacked power when loaded

Bought this with 60,000 miles and had it until 170,000 miles when it was totaled in an accidant. Great running vehicle that I still miss. Came in handy for work and road trips. Very reliable.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 23, 2006]
Luvthenoles4
Model Reviewed: E350

Strength:

FORD SUCKS!

Weakness:

THE WHOLE VAN SUCKS!

I special ordered from the factory my E350 12 passenger extended cab van. I recieved after 8 week in June 2005. The van ran great, for about 6 weeks. We were sitting in a drive thru and the A/C in the whole back went. We got out of line and went home because it was to hot to keep waiting. To make a long story short our van does not blow cool airr unless the pedal is being pushed down. So when it sits at a light, in traffic etc. you sweat your ass off. It has been in the shop 11 times in 10 months. My power stering was going, the step side cracked, my van makes a noise that no one can find. Everytime it is in the shop ford says its a "chareteristic" of the van. And my favorite is they blame the air not working because the van is black. My van is a lemon and thats just where its going thru the court system to get lemoned out!!!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used:

I had a 87 Dodge van that ran better than this ford!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 14, 2006]
eightisenuf
Model Reviewed: Ford Super E350 XLT 15 pax van

Strength:

lots of power with the 7.3 Diesel; very comfortable driving and driver's positioning; handles well, tons of cargo space;

Weakness:

Rear air circulation is still an issue; can't put a roof vent in as the air vents go down the middle of the roof. Still feel that the mileage should be better than it is.

Purchased Dec/04 w/66,000 kms or 40,000 miles (see review below)
update May/06: 170,000 kilometres/106,000 miles; 66,000 miles in 18 months. We've put alot of mileage in 18 months city driving, highway travelling, gravel roads during hunting season. Religiously changing oil at 10,000kms/6250 miles; vehicle has performed very well under a wide range of uses. Front passenger bench arm rest won't stay up, needs fixing as it is abused by kids . It could use a better support mechanism, should've lasted longer and been made tougher.
Doors are tight,no rattling; front end is good with even wear on the tires; no leaks all seals good; seating is holding up well. Happily no mechanical problems except for some corrosion in the wiring leads at the hookup to the tranny, resulting in bad shifting and frying the tourque converter @120,000kms. Was not cheap to fix the R4100 tranny! Some rattling noise on the exhaust system up front which leads to a tough-on-the-ears exhaust noise in the back seats during hard excelleration. It happens when it shifts 2nd - 3rd at full throttle. This van also has 4 wheel disc brakes and needs the heavy duty extra thick rotors all around in order to prevent warping due to heat buildup. Tried using jobber rotors and they lasted 2 weeks before they were shaking the van quite badly when stopping. No problems using the proper discs. A/C works great, no prob's. Fuel mileage is 16-17 mpg, using fuel additive for low S fuels increases mileage to 18-19mpg city, still gets 23 highway. The van has performed well and is a pleasure to drive. The paint has held up well. Generally this van has been very good and reasonably economical to operate considering its size and weight. It's easy to drive even for my wife. A very versatile vehicle and worth the money spent. I'd buy another one.

Similar Products Used:

1989 E250 Club Wagon

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 25, 2005]
jeremygosub
Model Reviewed: Econoline 150

Strength:

Runs great. Needed very little maintenance (about $1000 over normal wear and tear itmes like breaks and tires)

Weakness:

Very bad for dating. But when she hands you the keys to her car, at least you know where you stand.

I loved my Ford Econoline 150 cargo van. Had it for about 6 years. Sold it for the wrong reasons :(

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 16, 2004]
eightisenuf
Model Reviewed: Super E350 15 passenger van

Strength:

Driver controls are well laid out, easily reached without taking too much eye-time off the road. The turbo-diesel has power to spare. It has a very smooth ride and good driving characteristics for such a large vehicle. Very comfortable seats and benches as well. Great heating system.

Weakness:

There is no cargo space behind the last bench seat. There is a lack of circulation at the back of the van which leads to it being stuffy when fully loaded. You can turn on the AC, but that may not always be the best solution. Aside from the front door windows, only the front left passenger window and one barn-door window on the right side open for ventilation. I feel this is inadequate. I expected better fuel mileage in town with the diesel. Currently getting 16mpg.

I purchased at the end of Dec/03 a 2002 SuperE350 15 passenger van with a 7.3L Turbo Diesel with 66,000 km's(41,000 M.)on it. Lots of options. I had it shipped from up north so it comes with battery and oil-pan pads and block heater . It's mostly a family mover - we have 8 kids. The fit and finish are good. I took 14 kids from school on a ski trip to Whistler, over the infamous "Sea-to-Sky" Hwy 99 out of Vancouver BC. This highway is not for the faint of heart. Plenty of sharp curves with cliffs up one side and 400 ft drops down the other, and plenty of steep hills too. The van was great on the drive up and back. Very comfortable effortless driving. Tons of power with the diesel, I was able to pass a line of cars on an uphill grade. I also installed some Zenon lights to replace the stock Halogen lamps - what an improvement! Driving at night will never be the same, especially in the rain. And being in Canada, I find the van handles and goes in the snow just great with a few sand bags in the rear. Our '89 E250 ran on propane, but this new van is cheaper to run fuel wise. I wouldn't mind loading up a computer performance program on it a little later.

Similar Products Used:

This van replaces our 1989 12 passenger E250. Old faithful has a new engine and tranny and is in great shape, but doesn't compare to the new one.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 16, 2003]
RGFrederick
Model Reviewed: E350 Club Wagon XLT

Strength:

Dependable and rock solid.

Weakness:

Power driver's seat began failing after about 5 years. Fuel economy is 11mpg/city and 14mpg/highway.

This 12 pssgr. XLT van had 60k miles on it when we bought it 8 years ago. It now has 176k miles on the original V8 5.8 liter engine and transmission. I keep very precise maintenance records and have spent less than $5k on the vehicle (including oil changes and minor repairs) over its lifetime. The van has been spectacular, regarding its reliability. With our large family (7 children) this has been one of the most dependable and inexpensive vehicles I have owned. The only repairs have been the usual (alternator, brakes, water pump, rear axle seals, etc.). The front end has never needed an alignment and we're still on the original exhaust system. I recently bought new Michelin tires after the original Michelins logged 71k miles. This van is a workhorse and is a dream to travel in, after being loaded with luggage to dampen the 1 ton suspension. I am so impressed with Ford's vans that I just recently purchased a new 2003 E350 Super Duty van to replace "Old Faithful". I hope to see a quarter-million miles on this one. P.S. This van is For Sale in Jacksonville, FL for anyone who may be interested. Ph. 904)470-1078

Similar Products Used:

1987 Ford Econoline Van

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 13, 2003]
merwederplein37
Model Reviewed: econoline

Strength:

Good engine, very few problems. Electrics are good, and very spacious.

Weakness:

The seats are basically cardboard with a piece of plastic and the small safety problem.

I bought the van version as my first car in 1970. I've had it ever since and I still enjoy it every time I drive. It makes even the 8 track player sound great. With the paint job and mag wheels its ridiculously cool.

Similar Products Used:

I have never owned any other car so.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 68  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com