Ford F-350 Super Duty Trucks | Vans

F-350 Super Duty

The F-350 is Ford's Super Duty full-sized single rear-wheel (SRW) or dual rear-wheel (DRW) truck. The F-350 manages to mix innovation, comfort, and style into a competitive vehicle that has impressive torque ratings, towing capacities, and payloads.

The F-250 Super Duty and F-350 Super Duty are Ford’s heavy-duty pickups that are updated for 2008 with a bold new exterior design and new interiors. The F-250 and F-350 are built on a separate platform from the light-duty F-150.

User Reviews (35)

Showing 1-10 of 35  
Evan Brown   [Jun 30, 2009]
Model Reviewed: F350 Crew Cab Diesel
Strength:

Powerful 7.3L Powerstroke Turbo Diesel. Lots of space. Can tow anything.

Weakness:

Automatic transmission needs to be taken care of in order to last.

Amazing truck. Lots of power and plenty of space. Easy to work on. Very dependable and easy to drive.

Similar Products Used: '96 F250 Diesel,'05 Dodge Diesel, '87 F150 Gas
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jeff   [Jan 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: F350
Strength:

Interior cab is very large.

Weakness:

Having to rebuild the transmission with only 1 1/2 months of ownership under my belt.

First look the truck is very nice. Plenty of power.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
nipper100   [Sep 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: f-350 4by4
Strength:

good engine power

Weakness:

transmission SUCKS ford should be shot they have not heard the end of me

well here we go the truck was really good until i hook my horse trailer to it we the trans. get hot it throughs all tthe trans. fluid on the ground any time it gets under a load it acts up it will shift fine but throughs all the fluid out

Similar Products Used: dodge ford chevy dodge has been my best
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
donna371   [Jul 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: F-350
Strength:

Good looking truck

Weakness:

transmission

F350 Diesel SuperDuty Supercab:
This truck has been a lemon. The transmission has failed twice in less than a two week period. It will not tow my fifth wheel that is less than 10,000lbs.
When I first bought the truck it ran pretty well, but when I used it to tow my fifth wheel into the mountains, it began to have transmission problems. I took it to the Ford dealer in Show Low and they rebuilt the overdrive components. On my way back from Show Low(after picking the truch up and hauling my fifth wheel back to Yuma, the transmission gave out again, this time spewing the oil out and smoking. It almost left me in the middle of a mjour highway.

Similar Products Used: I own a 1997 F150 and have not had any problems.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
gardner401@earthlink.net   [Apr 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: F3504x4 4door Duely
Strength:

Good pulling power

Weakness:

The transmission went out at 13,000 miles while we were on vacation 600 miles away from home. after two rebuilt transmissions that wouldn't work and us sitting in our camper with no car they gave us a loaner and sent us home. One week later with a new transmission and another 1200 mile trip we got my truck back. At 32,000 miles I had major problems with my transmission again. The new transmission came with a 35,000 mile warranty but they don't tell you that warranty starts back at the odometer being at 0 as when it rolls off the lot. Which is the most ridculous warranty i have ever heard of. At around 42,000 miles I took it to have it aligned at a tire shop. They said the ball joints were bad so i took it to the Ford dealership. The owner who is my client said thats not the problem it's just cheap tires. so he put on some new tires for me. Now 20,000 miles later the same problem is happening and the dealer my client want even talk to me. After the last transmission problem I tried to trade it in and the people at Wabash for wouldn't even call me back. Needless to say Ford is a four letter word to me. Now I still owe a ton of money on a piece of Sh _ _ .

I like the truck and pulling power but will never own another Ford.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
transmission troubles?   [Apr 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: F350 Diesel
Strength:

Power for hauling trailers.

Weakness:

Transmissions

We have owned a 2001 F250(gas), 2004 F250(gas), 2005 F350 Diesel and now a 2006 F350 Diesel. The first three trucks we had four transmissions on the way out...replaced one transmission for $3000 and then sold the others before the tranny got too bad. The 2005 Diesel had less than 40K miles on it when the transmission started slipping. We've had electrical troubles and it just seems like one thing after another with these trucks....mainly the transmission troubles. The 2001's engine blew after we traded it in...lucked out on that one.

Similar Products Used: Toyota
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Luv My Trucks   [Aug 12, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Ford F-350 Super Duty Ext Cab 4X4
Strength:

Nice looking and comfortable truck- pulls great when you have a working tranmission.

Weakness:

Transmissions in F-350 is the same as the one in the F-150(?). Overkill or inadequate? You decide. Replace as needed or every 60K miles... Customer Service Department and Reps- VERY Unhelpful, Uncaring and Rude, with the exception of 2 we have found so far...

We are on our second transmission at the time I am writing this. Ford has been less than helpful in our quest for repairs/replacement of this vehicle. This will be trip #7 for our truck into the shop. We have gotten nowhere trying to deal with Ford. However, I see here, many of you also have major problems with your Super-Out-Of-Duty trucks. Here is some info that may be helpful to everyone. www.lemonlawbasics.com is a website that lists lemon laws by state and what you need to do. There is also a list of lemon law lawyers who may be of assistance. 800-392-3673- Ford customer care phone number- listed on Ford.com (also passed on to me by Dodge customer care!) 800-232-5952 -TDD # also listed on Ford.com Here is the big one folks- 313-322-3000 Ford Executive Offices in Michigan! This number is available through 411 or 1411- information. If you press 00, you can skip the recordings and get an operator. Feel free to go as high up as you feel you need or deserve! I am not guarenteeing any of these options will work, but Ford will tell you, "It is up to you as a consumer to research the lemon laws and inform yourself of all courses of action you have avaiable." (hoops to jum through!)

Similar Products Used: Several ford trucks as well as Dodge and Nissans
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Soon buying chevy   [Jul 04, 2004]
Model Reviewed: F350 7.3 ltr auto Crew
Strength:

fuel mileage good in the mud

Weakness:

poor - no tranny flawed air box design limited wheel well space

20000km problems begin and culminate with $9000.00 repairs out of my pocket at 151,000 km. Alternator, trailer plug 3 times 1st transmission 51,000 km rear u joint seized twice replace all rotors 80 km two o ring repairs leaking oil both batteries have twice drained for no reason This week alone 4X4 shift module $800 air box -700.00 Turbo 2500.00 installed transmission again 3100.00 installed $9000.00 in 1 week and still have 36 payments left. going to try chevy as I do not think there is a tranny available that can holdup. A stock one anyhow. I loved my new f350 as well but a person needs to be able to drive them as well as look at them in the driveway. All highway kilometres towed trailer three times 280 km per pull! youch! Research Ford problems with transmissions

Similar Products Used: Dodge ram
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
7ZEUS   [Oct 11, 2003]
Model Reviewed: F350 4X4 Powerstroke
Strength:

Appearance, Performance and Durability

Weakness:

That I just can't have a fleet of them!

Very good truck. Never a Ford fan over the last 30 years till now!! They have come a long way. Great cab with the most room of any. Good looks. Drives and rides well. Strong engine that runs very cool. Strong automatic trans. Can easily upgrade to a performance chip and exhaust that will wake these things up. The best of the other Chevy and Dodge trucks we have owned. We work these trucks and know how they compare.

Similar Products Used: Chevy 3500, Ford 450 and Dodge One ton. All later models
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kara   [May 30, 2003]
Model Reviewed: F 350 4 dr 4wd Super Duty Diesel

We purchased this truck as a "show" truck. It's only purpose was to pull the horse trailer. At 12,000 miles the torque convertor went out of the transmission. Ford is not stepping up and facing the facts that "their" product failed. There was damage done to the truck's cap and tail gate and to the horse trailer from where the truck and trialer jack knifed. I have loss of use of my show horse and vet bills. Why can't Ford pay to get everything fixed? We can't do that, they say.

Similar Products Used: Purchased Ford trucks and SVU since 1970's - over 20 total!!!
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com