Ford Ranger Trucks | Vans

Ranger

The Ranger is Ford’s compact pickup truck that was introduced in 1982, redesigned in 1993, and received a new exterior design in 1998. The Ranger was the best-selling compact truck in the U.S. for 18 straight years. The fourth generation Ranger is a two- or four-door pickup truck, with compact-truck capability and can seat five.

User Reviews (424)

Showing 1-10 of 424  
Dlordier   [Mar 10, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Ford Ranger XLT 4X4 3.0
Strength:

Reliable, OEM replacement and aftermarket parts are plentiful, 4 wheel drive is great

Weakness:

Engine strength

I have owned this vehicle for 4 years and with 295k miles on the STOCK engine i think it has treated me pretty well. It seems like most people overlook the concept of preventive maintience and just drive the damn things until they break. Buying a Haynes repair manual and doing regular work on this truck works wonders for this engine.

Fixes- for the 120k miles i have put on this it has been such low upkeep. Basic oil and belt rotations have help keep this thing running perfect. Vulcan V6 engine is solid and easy to work on. Only big fixes was the oil pan gasket and replacing the rear differential.

Things to watch for: Camshaft sensor, and keep up with the cooling systems, the heads on this things like to crack if they get too hot

Similar Products Used: 1996 Ford explorer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AluminumClaw_92   [Jul 01, 2010]
Model Reviewed: XL
Strength:

Very fun to drive and great on gas. I've put almost 17 000 kms on it (218,000)altogether, and haven't had any major problems. Very reliable.

Weakness:

4 cyl. lacking power on highways. Needs more traction in snow, with the rwd.

My first truck. Never thought I wpould drive a Ford, but this truck has been absolutely great. Great on gas, Great on fun and comfort, and very reliable. The best small truck on the planet.I've gotta try to get my to 300,000 kms. only 82,000 to go!

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff Samples   [Sep 11, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ranger XLT 4x4
Strength:

Engine, brakes, transmission, suspension.

Weakness:

Cargo box too small

I have had a lot of small trucks and the Ranger wins, especially this one. I bought the 4.0L, with the fancy auto transmission and the 4x4. You get what you pay for. Get into a low end Ranger and get in a high end Ranger and you will know the difference.

The salesman told me I would not have to do anything with the engine for 100K miles. In the back of my mind I am going "yeah right". At 91K now, one set of brakes, lots of oil changes, and 1 transmission fuild change. I averaged 18 mpg when I got it, I average 18 mpg now.

I had a 1988 Ranger that I bought new and drove it into the ground, I never had any trouble with it either. I was a high end Ranger also.

This is the best truck I have ever owned and I would recommend a high end Ranger to anyone.

Similar Products Used: 2001 Toyota Tacoma
1999 Dodge Dakota
1988 Ford Ranger
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Khunting1   [Jun 15, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ford Ranger
Strength:

Yes it's strong. Good Power, Incredible Torque, Great looking truck

Weakness:

No room for more than two. Fabric poor quality. Light back end (slip and slide on wet pavement)

Loved this truck I had 193,000 on it before I upgraded to an SUV. Everything that failed on it was due to age. Ford replaced transmission, problems as I drove off lot. Tires the famous Ford recall, A/C Charges, tires, brakes serpentine belt, batteries, alternator all age wear. Used it for everything, hauling, 4 moves, towing multiple things(cars, U-Hauls). Okay gas mileage about 18-25 on the big 4.0l V-6. Had the King Cab but still not very comfortable for more than two adults. Solid Truck. Flattened BMW that rear ended me. I needed a new bumper, they needed a new car.

Similar Products Used: Explorer XLT, Honda Odyssey, Toyota Camry
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
T. White   [May 14, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ranger XLT
Strength:

reliability, durability, prettiness.

Weakness:

electrical system is not so great. The truck has mysterious quarks, like frantic windshield wipers that turn on high speed and are unstoppable for several minutes and a dome light that refuses to turn off.

I bought this Ford Ranger with 27,000 miles on it in 1998 and have been driving it ever since. It has given me very few problems and is extremely reliable. I keep up with basic maintenance like oil changes and tune-ups, and it has made me a very happy Ford truck owner.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
servndrinx   [Apr 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: ranger xlt
Strength:

durability, i drive the crap out of it

Weakness:

wish it was 4x4. tire are $70-$100 apiece

bought brand new, 7 miles, now has over 200,000. had to replace rear end, but that was after taking to bad mechanic. most everything upfront still factory

Similar Products Used: old f150 wasn't mine
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
robranger   [Mar 19, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Sport 4x4 4.0L Ext Cab
Strength:

4.0L motor, Interior and Exterior looks great. Nice seats with lots of leg room.
Good power for pulling my trailer.
A very SOLID feeling ride.

Weakness:

Poor gas mileage..........

My 3rd Ranger and the best Ranger so far.
The Ext Cab is great for storage of things that need to be kept locked up.
This truck feels so much bigger than my 97 Ranger. The 4.0 L has good power and is very smooth and quiet. I have driven a friends Colorado many times and it just doesnt have the same feeling of quality as the Ranger. The Colorado 5 cyl motor is very BUZZY and the truck just feels cheep.
I am very happy with my Ranger. I think Ford has done a good job with this truck.

Similar Products Used: 1990 Ranger 4x4
1997 Ranger 4x4
2008 Colorado 4x4
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
tjr730   [Dec 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ranger XLT
Strength:

Towing capacity, MPG, comfotable interior, power band and range.

Weakness:

I cant seem to keep tires on the back!!

I have nothing but good things to say about my Ranger. I've had it for nearly 7 years and had no mechanical issues what so ever. My Ranger is equipt with the SOHC 4.0 V6. Super cab short bed 4X2. Trailer towing with the 5 speed automatic transmission is excellent, fuel milage is decent for a mid-sized pick-up @ 19mpg. I have 145,000+ on my Ranger and drive it everyday.

Similar Products Used: Dodge Dakota, Chevrolet S-10
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
billy   [Jun 11, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ford Ranger Splash
Strength:

plenty of power, comfort for long rides. Fast truck if you get in a tight spot. Pulls/hauls plenty.

Weakness:

Little bit of a gas drinker, but not bad. Small bed space. Light rear end, so spins a bit when it rains.

I am the 2nd owner of this truck, father was the 1st. Great truck. Got the big 4.0L. mine has 576,000 miles on it and still running strong. Transmission went out at 340,000 miles so I had to rebuild it then. Once again, back on top of it's game. Even with 576k miles on it, it still hauls ass and doesn't bog under a load. Only downfall is what use to get 20mpg is now getting around 16mpg. Getting old on me..but i have loved this ranger so much that i am looking at buying a new one.

Similar Products Used: 1997 Ford F-150 and 1995 Ford Explorer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
RangerBoy18   [May 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: XLT Stepside
Strength:

Reliable

Weakness:

Expensive to customize

Great trucks this is my second ranger. It has little power but it is a 2.5 5 speed

Similar Products Used: Bronco 2 Cavalier
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 424  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com