GMC Savana Cargo Van Trucks | Vans

Savana Cargo Van

The 2011 GMC Savana Cargo Van is a full size van, available in 10 trims, ranging from the G1500 Regular Wheelbase RWD to the G3500 Extended Wheelbase RWD Diesel.

The G1500 Regular Wheelbase RWD is equipped with a standard 4.3-liter, V6, 195-horsepower engine that achieves 15-mpg in the city and 20-mpg on the highway. The G3500 Extended Wheelbase RWD Diesel is equipped with a standard 6.6-liter, V8, 260-horsepower, turbo, diesel engine.

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
Julius   [Jun 07, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 1500 Cargo Van
Strength:

Roomy, Good looks with the upgrated package for the front, Confortable.

Weakness:

More responsive sifting.

This is my second Savana in 6 years. The first one was very reliable and w/o any mechanical problems. The only problem I had was with the wire touching the brake pedal witch was killing my brake lights everytime I used them. They lokated the problem quiet quickly.
This new 2005 model is OK. Bigger wheels which give you the feeling of slower acceleration. The engine vibrates when the engine is cold and lasts until you warm it up or you drive faster than 5 miles/hour. There is a recall for the safety belts.
I wish to have a 2500 series model to have more power. Other than that I still like it and I would probably buy the same Van in the future.

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
dusty   [Jan 21, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Savana 2500
Strength:

Roomy, Looks nice(big deal the internal parts are what matters...kind of like a person).allright power

Weakness:

You just dont get that secure feeling like when driving a Toyota or an older model Ford...WHEN IS TOYOTA GOING TO MAKE A CARGO VAN !!

Well my first GMC product and a lot of these reviews are beginning to scare me...I bought it used with 30000 miles on it for 12,500...obviously the price was the reason for the purchase...COnsumer reports gave it terrible reviews but I dont know how much clout to give consumer reports...if this van goes another 70,000 miles without any major repairs...i.e..$300.00ish will be considered relatively minor than it will be considered a good vehicle(Its not a Toyota so we cant excpect over 300,000) but well see. The speedometer will slip now and then...I hear some people say..."So far so good" when the vehicle only has 20 to 40,000 miles on it..but that is not what you should say....70 to 80000 miles on a problem free vehicle is .."So far so good."

Similar Products Used: NONE...but I did have a 1988 Ford 150 that I used for painting even pulling a 12 foot cargo trailer for a while that never gave me any MAJOR problems..I beat on it...never really maintained it and changed its oil only when I thought about it..it had 190000 on it when I got rid of it but I still wish I never had
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
American Graffitti   [Nov 15, 2004]
Model Reviewed: savana 1500
Strength:

Rear cargo doors open wider then Ford or Dodges. Better ride then Fords Twin "I" beam front end which eats up tires. Has the dome lite overide button on dash so you can leave the cargo doors open on the work site. Its great. No more dead batterys at the end of the work day.

Weakness:

Side cargo door hinges freeze up. Chew up brake pads and brake rotors. The tin sheild between the chassie and the foor rattles when you idle at a light. The clip that hold the rod to the latch on the left rear cargo door just wont stay on. I had to weld a washer in its place.

I have a 1998 GMC Savana 1500 cargo van with the 4.3 V6 which I bought used with high miles in 2002. It was just shy of 90,000. I had to replace a leaky brake caliper around 120,000 miles. Replaced the automatic trans at 142,000 miles. An altenator at about 150,000. other then the slight clunk coming from the rear when I put it in gear the last 10,000 miles or so the only problem I find with the van that is abnormal is it chews up front brake pads and the side cargo door hinges freeze up if you dont keep them WD40'ed. Now keep it in mind this van is a work van and I work it to death. I overload it. Pull a car trailer, change the oil late and she just keeps on going. With almost 170,000 miles is it a good van or am i just lucky? Let you know when I hit 250,000. This van owes me nothing.

Similar Products Used: New ford E-150, 4.9 6cly cargo van. New Ford E-250 4.9 6 cly. Extended cargo van
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
hardcharger43   [Jun 20, 2004]
Model Reviewed: GMC Vandura 2500
Strength:

Engine is strong and smooth. Lots of room. Comfortable with great visibility when looking ahead. Towing capable. Parts quality seems better than many GM products.

Weakness:

None, really, The cruise control failed after 11 years (no real complaint there). The power steering hose now slowly loses fluid but it is inexpensive to add a little every six to eight weeks. The 33 gallon gas tank will cost more than a few $ to fill which may be a concern. (I drive this vehicle about 6,00 miles yearly.)

I purchased a 1992 Vandura 2500 with the Starcraft SC conversion package in Sept. 1994. The vehicle was 23 months old with slightly under 18,000 miles. Almost 10 years later, it has 75,300 miles. Overall, it has been a great vehicle. It has taken my family of five, often times towing a Coachman tent trailer(about 2,000 pounds loaded), on vacation through the Western United States. Because this is a heavy vehicle (3/4 ton chassis, 5.7 V8 engine, with the best, but somewhat heavier, conversion package (Starcraft)available, I have replaced upper and lower ball joints as well as a tie rod bushing along with front brakes sooner than one would on a light weight vehicle. I run LT235R75-15 tires to better handle the weight and towing needs. I have replaced the battery, muffler and tail pipe, shocks (twice on the rear), the radiator hoses, and the rear brakes once. All of this represents maintenance. With the exception of the cruise control which stopped working last year, I have not had premature parts failure although I do wonder about GM's transmissions and their longevity, or lack thereof ( the fluid has been changed 3 times). The engine is very strong ( I use full synthetic motor oil and Mobil 1 filters when towing and semi-synthetic during the rest of the year - two changes per year). Changing the sparkplugs and air filters takes time and will cost $ if hired out (I personally have changed the sparkplugs twice and the air filter every 10 to 12,000 miles.) For the first time, I added R12 freon to the air conditioning earlier this month. (I bought some as a reserve years ago). The air conditioning now works as well as it did when I bought it. In terms of towing, it performs very well. In Wyoming, I crossed the Continental Divide 3 times in about 3 hours. Aside from down shifting which is to be expected towing the trailer while climbing at that elevation, the drive train performed flawlessly. The gas mileage is modest but within acceptable parameters for a vehicle of this nature. With maintenance, these vehicles can pass 200,000 miles. I have a coworker whose 1987 conversion van has reached 218,000 miles without engine or transmission replacement. I will settle for about 130,000 miles before moving on to something newer. In sum, these are great vehicles for anything but exclusive city driving on congested, narrow streets (buy a minivan!). This vehicle represents one of my best automobile purchases during my 37 years of driving.

Similar Products Used: 1998 GMC Jimmy 2002 Chevrolet Blazer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Veronica Herrera   [Jun 03, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Savana
Strength:

Comfortable, good engines.

Weakness:

If you have an ongoing problem with your vehicle, GMC does not care, bottom line.

The electrical in these vans are no good. Since the first day I purchased the vehicle, I have had nothing but electrical problems, I dealer cannot fix them, I keep taking it out of the shop with another electrical problem. I finally called GMC Assistance and they are worthless and washed their hands of the problem. I will never buy another GMC vehicle again, those folks just don't care.

Similar Products Used: I owned a Safari and it too had electrical problems.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Ron Hill   [May 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: /Savana
Strength:

Tight engine, great air in rear, good visibility, super running - we have taken multiple road trips and it has been great!

Weakness:

Transmission went out at 44,000 and I have heard that is typical. I was not happy. Passenger front seat needs better leg room Vibration in driver mirror breaks seem to need replacing a lot!

We have a Souther Comfort Conversion Van. We have loved our van it is a nice solid running vehicle. I always had Fords in the past - I will never go back!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
annmkruse   [Apr 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Savana Van
Strength:

Seating room/cargo room

Weakness:

Unsafe conversion package. The front drivers seat keeps coming out! The third time in 3 years. GMC apparently does not care that the seat is not attached. They have washed their hands to it.

The van is exactly what I wanted for my family. It was beautiful. Until all of the parts began falling off of the vehicle. The entire conversion package has had to be redone.

Similar Products Used: I have owned 7 vans
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Janice   [Apr 16, 2003]
Strength:

Comfort and power. We got the V-8 and are considering pulling a light weight travel trailer with it. Have had virtually no problems. Did buy the extended warranty just in case, but have only used it once for a sensor.

Weakness:

Can't complain about anything so far.

This is our third van. Two GMC's and one Chevy. All have been great, but this one is the best. We didn't get a lot of the bells and whistles, but have what we want. Have only 30,000 miles on it as we use it mostly for trips and not day to day use. Wish it came with more cup holders that are good sized. Have used the electric bed several times and it is really nice. Fabric seats have held up real well.

Similar Products Used: 1973 Chevy Van that we customized. 1994 GMC short van, customised.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Bernard Hanlon   [Dec 14, 2002]
Strength:

My wife and I love the way it drives and handles.

Weakness:

steering had to be serviced within days. It was catching during turns.

There is vibration in the driver's side rear view mirror. I was told from the service advisor that this has been a problem on this van. She told me that there was not a solution. I called the Customer Assistance line and got no help. I then filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and got a call from another GMC Assistance person. A couple of days later he told me that he talked to a regional service manager and there was nothing GMC could do for me. I'm in the process of going to arbitration with the BBB and GMC. Has anyone had a problem with the outside rear view mirrors vibrating?

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
John   [Nov 28, 2002]
Strength:

Nice looking, and handles/drives well.

Weakness:

Here they are: Front pads changed: 3 for each. Rear shoes: 1 for each. Dash changed(speed,fuel,etc : 1 for each. Fuel Pump: 1 for each. Interior Driver Door Handle: 1 for each. Factory Battery:1 for each (within 1st yr) Sliding door handle replaced: 1 vehicle. Power steering pump: 1 vehicle

Currently using 3 1999 Savana in our regional provincial fleet. One has low Km, and is hardly used. The other two have just over 130000km in 4 yrs of use. Each has had the same number of problems. These vehicle handles well, and is a excellent drive, but has way to many problems pop up after warrent expires.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com