GMC Sierra 1500 Trucks | Vans

Sierra 1500

The GMC Sierra 1500 is GMC’s half-ton full-size pickup that was redesigned for 2007. Available in Regular Cab, Extended Cab, and Crew Cab versions with a choice of three different box sizes: 5 feet 8 inches, 6 feet 6 inches and 8 feet the Sierra 1500 is completely redesigned with all-new major components, stronger and stiffer fully boxed frame, restyled exterior and more spacious interior.

User Reviews (145)

Showing 1-10 of 145  
Del Cleland   [Nov 08, 2010]
Model Reviewed: GMC 2500 HD SLT w/duramax diesel
Strength:

Good power
Cab has lots of room
Smooth ride
Duramax/Allison great drive train combo

Weakness:

Nothing you wouldn't expect from a truck with 300,000 km.

Bought this truck as a 2 year old used truck with 90,000 km.
Chipped it, added 4 in. exhaust and cool air intake immediately - increased fuel economy to 25 mpg. I have put over 200,000 km. on the truck - replaced all the electronic injectors twice, replaced all the wheel bearing seals twice. Other than that most work has been for wear and tear items. When I first got it, had an annoying clattering noise from engine coming into the cab. It was a fuel rail banging on a heater line - once fixed the problem was gone and never came back. All in all this has been a great truck - I'll buy GMC again, but this one has a good decade left in it.

Similar Products Used: 1994 GMC 6.5 Turbo Ext. Cab SLE
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
bigchevy   [Feb 08, 2008]
Model Reviewed: gmc/k1500 high seirra
Strength:

pulling and towing and gettin through what u want it 2

Weakness:

none

I am 18 years old and have the best truck at my school. I put a 3 inch body lift on it and run 33 inch tire. It is a modified 350 crate engine and i have a hooly carborator and intake. m putting my flow tech headres on it and run true duels from the block its the beast of springfield illinois. I plan on putting a 4 inch sky jacker suspension on it but im poor right now.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
deftones56   [Nov 29, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Seirra SLE Ext Cab 4 door
Strength:

4.8
Great ride for a truck
Body integity and paint
Interior

Weakness:

Turning radius
Fuel Milage

I just recently bought my 2001 Seirra at a small car lot in my town. The truck looked to be in exelent shape. After further inspection I noticed that it had 182,900 miles. So when I test drove it I figured a old worn out ride but I was wrong. Even with so many miles on it it rode like a dream. The interior is still in showroom condition as well as the Pewter extirior. So I have taken a chance and bought the truck even with so many miles, Look at the price and you can tell I got a good deal. With so many miles I look at it like this, Any little problems as well as big problems have already been fixed and sombody has already taken all of the depritiation of the value. They are probly still paying for it somehow. This truck is still very solid and drives like a Cadalac for a truck with enough room in the back to carry some friends around comfortably.The power is still there and will throw you in the seat when summoned with no unusual noise. The steering is still tight and trans feel strong. I hope that when I have 300,000 miles on it it will still feel the same. I truly feel like it will.

Similar Products Used: 1998 Dodge Ram 4x4, Gas Hog!!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
heybjb   [Nov 11, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Sierra SL
Strength:

unbelievable reliability, parts are very easy to find and inexpensive, very easy to work on. Simple, bulletproof, reliable, well made truck.

Weakness:

gas consumption (to be expected with a v8 pickup, though

Bought the truck, a little too well used, from the previous owner. It had a million miles on it already, and the odometer hadn't worked in several years. I fixed it up a lot cosmetically and mechanically. After driving it for 2 more years, I replaced the engine, because it had a bad head gasket, and I found the oil passageways were clogged pretty badly at that point, but it probably had well over 250,000 miles on it at that point. It still ran well, but I had the money, and wanted to make it bulletproof. The truck has ALWAYS run well, never left me stranded anywhere, and it always does what I need it to. Mine has the 305 engine. Would recommend this truck to anyone.

Similar Products Used: 2002 Silverado Extended Cab LT 5.3 V8, 1985 Isuzu pickup 1.9L 4cyl, 1975 Silverado Pickup 5.7L V8, 2001 Silverado 4.3L V6 5spd.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
FORD_KILLER_89   [Aug 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: sierra/1500
Strength:

The 5-speed ofcourse,and the 350!!!! and the posi-trac and the hemi killing POWER!!!!!!!!!

Weakness:

NOTHING!!!!!!!!

Well it started off as my dads work truck.And he has took care of that truck more than anything ive seen.And it has many many miles on it and still runs strong.It is the 1500 sl sierra 2wd 350 5-speed.And he has had to replace the clutch once and all of the belt drive stuff.Nothing big,the block is perfect, the intake is flawless,the throtle body is like new and everything works PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!And believe me It can dust a few tritans and HEMIS every now and then with gear still left.And now its mine im 16 and I luv the truck ive loved chevys every since I could pick up a wrench.And I wana fix her up.Im getting some ss sport rims,from a crashed chevy,and some tires,and a throtle body spacer,and exhaust. Flowmaster 40 series not the delta flow strait POWER!!!!!!!!!!And planing on lowering it in the future and rebuilding the motor and maybe boring and stroking and so on.She has 319043 miles on her and running strong if that meens anything...lol...CHEVY ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: 1975 monte carlo,1996 jeep cherokee sport
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
RUBEN   [Jul 29, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 1500 sle us gear
Strength:

damn good strenght picks really strongh

Weakness:

none

use it for work and it runs damn well this truck picks up fast well made truck
1989 sierra 1500 sle us gear

Similar Products Used: 1990 chevy cheyene 1500 veryyyy good on gas
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Cory Shepherd   [Jun 18, 2006]
Model Reviewed: GMC Sierra SLE 4 X 4
Strength:

Looks, engine, dependability, reliability, sense of pride

Weakness:

Transmission fell out at 66,000 km., just after warranty expired. Dealer and GM helped cover the cost. Wish the truck was a little taller.

Purchased this truck at 50,000 km. I love this truck. My Dad had a '76 GMC and I have been loyal ever since. I have added many accessories to show pride of ownership. By far the nicest looking truck in the area. Thanks GMC for making me and my Dad proud of our trucks.

Similar Products Used: No fair comparisons available.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Riley   [May 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Sierra
Strength:

Interior comfort, will always start, 4x4 capabilities are ver good

Weakness:

Can't think of any.

This truck is very dependable. There are some faults like any other vehicle. I have added 100,000 miles to it and have raced it since i got it. No major problems. I havent had a vehicle last for than a year except my 91 GMC. I f you want a very well built truck go with this one.

Similar Products Used: 1989 chevy 1500 2000 chevy 1500
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Wheeler   [Apr 29, 2006]
Model Reviewed: GMC Seierra SEL
Strength:

454 BIG BLOCK....will tow anyting you want as long as the transmission is performaced to tow alot

Weakness:

Gas milage like 6 towin up hill but like 12 on the hwy towing a heave load

Good for the year it is 89, its the 1ton 3500 4x4 with the 3spd auto, which is powerd by the masive 7.5L (454) v8 which has the power to tow a tank, i have a 34 Foot Taho traler that is also a quad traler in one so i use it to tow out to Browns camp and its all hills and it just Goes like no other i even passes a tricked out Ford 350 and a dodge 3500 both with suped up cummins and power strokes, a stock truck who would have thunk it... but just had the trans rebuilt kinda fryed it, forgot to check the trans fluid but only 800 and it has all performance towing part shirt kit and all, but the only thing is MPG

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Sledge   [Sep 04, 2005]
Model Reviewed: GMC Sierra 1500 SLE
Strength:

Cargo room: this is the widebody with the loger bed, I think. Interior room; Gas mileage: pretty good for a truck-21 highway/17 city. My nissan frontier only got about 15-16 mpg.

Weakness:

-not really a weakness...but I don't have the extras that show me exact mileage at any time or the premium sound package.

I purchased this truck to have more interior room, pretty good fuel economy, more cargo room, dependability and comfort. That's what I have experienced so far. I had a 2001 Nissan Frontier crew cab with the supercharger prior to this one (for about 6 months) and this is a totally different animal. They don't feel anything like each other. This Sierra feels much more solid as it should since it is a fullsize truck. The four doors make the back seat much more accessable. The truck tracks well on the road, allowing me not to have to work hard to keep it between the yellow lines. All in all, this is the nicest truck I have owned and I am very happy with my purchase.

Similar Products Used: 2001 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab ` 1991 GMC Sierra (sold it with 185,000 miles on it) ` 1985 Chevy Truck LWB ` 1991 Chevy S10 x2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 145  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com