Isuzu Hombre Trucks | Vans

Hombre

The Hombre has available a 120-hp 4 cylinder or a 175-hp V6. Both with option of a manual or automatic transmission, 2 and 4 wheel drive, and optional ABS.

User Reviews (40)

Showing 1-10 of 40  
jake lekan   [Jun 21, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Hombre
Strength:

utility, a/c

Weakness:

A manufacturer that won't help you when you need them..."Talk to your local dealership".

I purchased this truch new in 2000. Have put 150k miles on it with no problems. All of a sudden...major problem. It quit on me while on the road and have sunk $1300 into it and the problem still isn't fixed. Master Isuzu mechanic has told me: "sorry". He even suggested that I take it to the GM dealer!

The codes showing up are: open injector circuit and random misfire...Any of you all have similar problem? If I had to do it again, I wouldn't buy it. Paint job was week, scratches when you look at it.

Similar Products Used: Nissan, Ford
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
malinda   [Apr 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: hombre xs
Strength:

none, the truck is nothing but problems and i so regret buying it.

Weakness:

everything!!! it is a very cheap made truck and with all the problems it has,and all the same ones on lots of hombres, seems like isuzu should make good on them, i paid 11995.00 for the truck and have put atleast 1500.00 or more into it for repairs and that was just on repairs that couldnt wait, i have a list of repairs still needing to be done, it is a rip-off,i will NEVER own another isuzu not even if its marked down half price!

i bought my hombre in 1999 it had 4000 miles on it. 2 weeks later the turn signals quit.both seat handles have broke,driver side broke twice,windshield wiper motor quit,has had a bad paint job since i have owned it,driverside window crank broke,has a fluid leak, not forsure if its oil or trans fluid,gasket on the motor blowed,and now the cat converter it messed up.

Similar Products Used: i have never in my life have had such a cheap pos as i do now with this isuzu hombre.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
gshock7   [Mar 30, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Pick-up
Strength:

-Looks Sweet -Stylish -Good 4wd -Fun

Weakness:

-Alot of stupid repairs -No acceleration -Low power

This truck definantely looks cool and is fun to drive. The 4WD works great and the drive train is very dependable. This truck will run into the ground when it comes to the motor. 300000kms on the clutch and still runnning strong. But this truck will nickle and dime you to death.HAd to fix power windows broke, new cluctch master cylinder, new throw out berring, new ignition, the lsit goes on. It also leaks like a civ.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
clehr2002   [Nov 15, 2003]
Model Reviewed: ISUZU HOMBRE`
Strength:

THE 350.

Weakness:

THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS,THE REAR VIEW MIRRORS.

I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE SINCE 2/2/03.I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS FROM MY TRUCK' EXCEPT FOR THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS. I HAVE DONE ALOT OF WORK TO IT SO IT;S NOT SLOW IT HAS A SONOMA DOGHOUSE ON IT WITH A SMALL BLOCJ 350 SO IM HAPPY.

Similar Products Used: GMC SONOMA,S-10
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
clehr2002   [Nov 15, 2003]
Model Reviewed: ISUZU HOMBRE`
Strength:

THE 350.

Weakness:

THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS,THE REAR VIEW MIRRORS.

I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE SINCE 2/2/03.I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS FROM MY TRUCK' EXCEPT FOR THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS. I HAVE DONE ALOT OF WORK TO IT SO IT;S NOT SLOW IT HAS A SONOMA DOGHOUSE ON IT WITH A SMALL BLOCJ 350 SO IM HAPPY.

Similar Products Used: GMC SONOMA,S-10
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
STRTCH23   [Jun 23, 2003]
Model Reviewed: ISUZU HOMBRE
Strength:

IT HANDLES CURBS AND OTHER STUFF I PUT IN FRONT OF IT BEING A STOCK TRUCK.

Weakness:

THE MOTOR IS THE BIGGEST PROBLEM. IT IS TOO SLOW MAKES A LOT OF NOISE AND THERE IS NOT THAT MUCH STUFF TO BUY FOR THE MOTOR FOR MORE HORSEPOWER.

THIS TRUCK IS TOO SLOW AND DOES NOT HAVE THAT GOOD OF GAS MILEAGE, PLUS IT LOOKS JUST LIKE THE CHEVY S-10. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE IS THE MOTOR AND FRONT GRILL. IF I COULD TRADE IT IN I WOULD IN A HEART BEAT.

Similar Products Used: THE CHEVY S-10 IS THE EXACT SAME TRUCK JUST WITH A DIFFERENT MOTOR AND GRILL AND A LOT MORE FASTER.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
JASON   [May 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: ISUZU HOMBRE XS
Strength:

Price and reliability , more basic warranty than GM clones 5yr/60k mi. Get the upgraded stereo, it's awesome and the bench seats with deluxe cloth add about $1,000 but, it's worth it for comfort. I love the aluminum rims and heavy duty sport supspension.AC is the coldest you will find anywhere on the planet and having managed many car rental facilities, i know what i am talking about. This truck is as much quality and reliability as any other more expensive vehicle. I have owned other cars that cost me twice the money and they got traded because they made me angry when they left me on the side of the road. Foreign is not any better than anything made in shreveport LA. This truck converted me from my old thinking that foreign is better quality. American vehicles are just as good if not better than any Honda Toyota or Nissan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Weakness:

limited seating for more than two people but, it's a truck worth buying if you are single or just have one other person.

I purchased this vehicle new in January of 1999 for $12250 tax and tag included and have driven it over 94,500 miles since. I have only done regular service and a few little quirky things that cost less than $100.oo such as the egr valve sensor when a spark plug wire went bad and and was arching and a battery at 70k miles. I couldn't ask for more dependibility and having owned a new nissan sentra before, it is definately more vehicle for less money. I would recommend this vehicle for anyone that wants a nice looking yet dependible vehicle to drive. five stars all they way. The resales are cheap in the newspaper , save your pennies and bargain for the best price with cash.

Similar Products Used: Never had a truck before this one
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
GEORGE   [Apr 14, 2003]
Strength:

i especially like the a/c it works great.of course the great gas milage.

Weakness:

kinda slow at the get go,but once you get up to speed it moves right along,,

I bought this truck outa nessisity,i needed to have a truck tommorow,and its the best thing i have ever purchased,as far as a vechicle.i have owned other trucks some bigger some a bit smaller,but this is the absolut best.It looks good runs good and gets great milage.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Greg Shevchenko   [Apr 03, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Isuzu Pickup
Strength:

Fairly good on gas and easy to drive. Basic enginee and not too hard to fix. No problem in getting new parts

Weakness:

Engine runs poorly when raining out. Very little room in Cab. Needs more features such as a clock.

It is not a bad little truck. When I got it there was some rust on it from being in Alberta. Otherwise there are no real problems. I enjoy driving it around. When it rains sometimes water gets in the gas and then it gets cranky. (funds in CDN)

Similar Products Used: Mazda B2200
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Marcus Nelson   [Mar 30, 2003]
Model Reviewed: /hombre
Strength:

With patience you can find anything to soup up the 4 banger engine to be quite the streetrod will take most parts from s-10, gmc sonoma(94-00), blazer, gmc jimmy (95-01)

Weakness:

not enought power... buy seatcovers No room for speakers

I bought this truck off of some guy for peanuts. Sure it had 130,000 on it but it runs like a friggin champ. I love this truck overall and I would buy one New if they could give me more Ponies. I recommend dropping the front end 2 or 3 inches (eibach springs) and getting stiffners for the leaf springs

Similar Products Used: Silverado, Ranger
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 40  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com