Mazda B-Series Trucks | Vans

B-Series

The B-Series offers a 119-hp four-cylinder, a 150-hp V-6, and a 160-hp V6. All come with option of manual and automatic transmissions as well as choice of 2 and 4 wheel drive. ABS is optional.

User Reviews (138)

Showing 1-10 of 138  
Drew   [Mar 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Mazda B3000
Strength:

Good gas mileage, good looks, excellent clutch, great reliability.

Weakness:

No crew cab available.

This is an extremely good truck. Many people say they would go for something like the Tacoma, but the B series is much cheaper (price wise) and the B series is more unique. Mine has been running well for 128,057 miles.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
90chevy2500   [Feb 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: mazda 2600i
Strength:

4 wheel drive worked better than my 1990 chevy 2500. worked better than my dads 03 chevy 3500. easy to work with. reliable for the rated bed captivity we put 1500 pounds in the bed and hurt nothing.

Weakness:

lifted not a smooth ride, got 11 mpg, rusted easier than i liked

i loved this truck! It was a 1990 mazda and it ran like no other. i wrecked it at 156,000 miles but in the 120,000 we owned it I never had one problem. This truck had a 5 speed manual transmission with a 2.6l 4 cyclender. engine undestructable, after kartwheeling over 2 times and landing on hood engine still ran.

Similar Products Used: 1990 chevy 2500
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Monty Mills   [Apr 15, 2007]
Model Reviewed: B-4000 - 4x4
Strength:

Good solid truck with plenty of power, nice handling and interior comfort.

Weakness:

Mazda Canada.

This is my third Mazda B Series truck and my third leased vehicle. Hopefully it'll hold up as well as the first two. It does have a smoother shift leading to somewhat improved mileage. The interior is as comfortable as ever, even without the lumbar seats, and is a little quieter than the previous trucks I've had.
The dealership was absolutely fantastic but, that's more than I can say for Mazda Canada, who sent me a bill for $130.00 for some slight damage. They even called me about it. One would think they'd be more interested in congratulating me on my third consecutive Mazda truck. Having not received a letter of apology and not being at all partial to being insulted in that way, this will be my last Mazda ever.
I do, however, feel sorry for such a fine dealership.

Similar Products Used: Chevey Silverado, Dodge Dakota, Ford F-150, Toyota Tacoma
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave Simmons   [Oct 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: B3000 extcab troy lee design
Strength:

Reliable, V6 150hp strong enough to pull a smaller boat and moderate loads, dependable. Drives nice and no knocks or squeaks after 80K miles.

Weakness:

A/C just went this year, haven't gotten around to fix it yet but that is it.

Great truck. No leaks, fair gas mileage, pull a 16'Pro-Craft bass boat all over, 82K miles now and only replaced brakes once and tires once. Semi-truck backed into me today and the bed is totalled, hopefully frame isn't bent. Will continue driving it until it falls off the wheels. Only been in shop once for a rear sensor issue which did not cause any problems. Change oil every 3K miles and filter and you should have no problems.

Similar Products Used: Fords, Dodge, this is my 4th Mazda vehicle and I'd definitely purchase others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Bloomgren   [Jul 09, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mazda B 2300
Strength:

This truck ran strong for me as a work truck. I loaded it heavy and ran it hard almost every day and it got decent mileage.

Weakness:

However, it would, with no warning, develop a loud knock. Every year! To make it the worst experience ever though is that the dealer does not sell parts. That has to be a crime. There answer was I could buy a rebuilt from them for $3200. I need to unload this vehicle, it has serious oiling problems with the rod bearings. May just be the 4 banger I don't know.

This truck ran and performed well for first 45000 miles. It then developed a knock in the engine. Eventually, the dealer replaced it. At 65000 miles that motor developed the same knock and then blew the head gasket. Out of warranty I
pulled motor to find out they cannot be rebuilt as no after market parts are available and the dealer has no parts available. Had to buy wreck motor for a swapout. At 105000 miles it now just blew
again. At teardown found bb size metal and shavings in 3 of 4 journals which caused severe scoring of rod bearings. Still am unable to locate parts to repair this motor. Was forced to tear my previously unrepaired motor apart which showed same severe scarring on one rod bearing to steal used bearings out of other three rods to get this motor working again.

Similar Products Used: 74 Datsun, 80 Ford F 150,82 D 50 4x4,86 Chevy 2500, 90 Ford F 250 supercab, 98 Nissan,
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Beer Me   [Nov 16, 2005]
Model Reviewed: B3000 Extended Cab 2wd 5 speed
Strength:

Better looks than Ford counterpart. Adequate power. Parts are easily available since it's mechanically identical to a Ford Ranger.

Weakness:

Not a Mazda - it's a Ford. Interior has held up ok but it's crappy plastic. Not a good powertrain. Engine burns oil and transmission / clutch needed work at 100,000 miles. Poor handling in bad weather, even with good tires and sand over the rear axle.

First of all, for anyone considering buying a B-series, be aware that any Mazda truck built after 1993 is a re-badged Ford Ranger. I'll start with the good. The car doesn't leak any oil or coolant, although I had to fix a transmission leak. It always starts, it idles good, A/C still works, interior has held up. I drove this car on a 2000+ mile trip hauling a trailer, probably totalling around 3,000 lbs. of stuff. I was able to make it without problems, but I BARELY made it. Driving through the mountains I had the truck in 3rd with the pedal on the floor. I couldn't maintain highway speeds in 5th. But, I made it. Overall, this truck is nothing special, no more than average. I bought it nearly 3 years ago. I immediately had to get the transmission fixed as it leaked oil. This is a very common and well documented problem in mid-90's Ford Truck manual transmissions. Read all about it here: http://therangerstation.com/tech_library/ManualTransmission.html The engine also burns oil, about 1.5 quarts every 3000 miles. At 100,000 miles I had to replace the clutch, clutch master cylinder, clutch slave cylinder. Don't waste your money and time on the 3.0 L engine - it's not worth it. The power is not amazing, more like barely adequate. If you really need the HP, get the 4.0. The problem is that the gas mileage isn't that great. I get ~ 17 mpg, and that's after I replaced both of the O2 sensors. So if you need gas mileage, I'd get the 2.5 L, and if you need HP, I'd get the 4.0 L. This engine is really the worst of both worlds. When I used to drive this truck in cold weather, the brakes would hang up sometimes. When you pushed the brake pedal, it would brak very jerky and hard. Speaking of cold weather, the 2wd is undriveable in any real snow. I had 300 lbs. of sand over the rear axle and very nice brand new tires and I still had to call in to work whenever it snowed. The tires spin and rear end swings around at the first sign of any real snow. I also have problems when it rains hard. I've also had problems with the tail-lights. They get moisture in them and stop working.

Similar Products Used: 88 Jeep Comanche, 91 Ford Explorer, 96 Dodge Dakota
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Monty Mills   [May 17, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Mazda B 4000 4x4 Cab Plus
Strength:

Comfortable to drive, great handling, excellent climate control, outstanding reliability, fantastic fit and styling.

Weakness:

Less than adequate gas mileage.

This is my second B-Series truck and my first 4x4. I'll definitely be having a third. My Mazda is everything I could ask for in a truck and I've driven them all. From groceries to building supplies, there's ample room for my every need. It's simply a joy to drive with very comfortable seating, superb handling and a smooth ride. I've been driving a Mazda mini-truck for five years now and never again will I purchase a full-sized truck. The dealer has been very co-operative and helpful as well. I love my truck!

Similar Products Used: Chevy Silverado, Chevy S-10 Dodge Dakota, Ford F-150, Toyota Tacoma.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Manson   [Apr 17, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Mazda B2300 Ext Cab
Strength:

Good miles per gallon. Average per year is about 24 mpg: winter is ~21; summer is ~25. A/C is good; heater is good; paint job has been adequate. Low to moderate maintenance costs.

Weakness:

The truck has poor traction without at least 200 lbs of sand in the back in the winter. It's also "soft" on dirt roads in the non-winter months. Without sand or some weight, you can expect fish-tailing on dirt and loose gravel roads anytime of the year. It would have been nice if this truck was a formulated fuel vehicle. Here in MN we're headed towards 20% ethanol from the 10% ethanol we have now. I'm not so sure this truck engine will tolerate the higher alcohol content.

It's been a great truck. 'Bought it in 1998 and have put on 170,000 of its 185,000+ miles. I'm still on the the original clutch! (Most of my driving is highway based.) I'll look for another B-series truck when this one dies or 250,000 miles rolls around, whichever comes first. Even at 185 thousand, it still doesn't burn oil.

Similar Products Used: 1985 4WD Ford: and I'd never buy one of these again.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Toyota_Next_Time   [Mar 23, 2005]
Model Reviewed: B3000 Dual Sport
Strength:

The brake pads have lasted 69,000 miles so far but that is the only strength I can think of.

Weakness:

Bought new: Miliage is worse than my old Formula 350 CID Firebird! Far worse. This 3.0 L V6 has the worst spark knock if I burn the recommended fuel (regular); I have to burn premium to avoid knock, midgrade won't do! The ABS brake computer died the first month. Power windows and locks have failed mulitple times. Trans has the sound and feel of 1920's engineering. Front-end can't seem to hold alignment which eats my tires and makes it seem as though my hubs are bad. Interior and exterior finish trim is literally falling apart, finish is just pealing off! When you turn on the A/C you swear you must be towing a house due to the drag on power - of which there is VERY LITTLE to start with combined with spark-knock you can't pull away from ANY car. All of the above are very serious issues for anyone even considering this "truck".

I will never again buy a Mazda of any kind. I've been to the dealership so much for repairs (most of which they couldn't fix) that I switched dealers and they also were helpless to fix spark knock! I've had time to examine the other Mazda line, all feel and sound like mine, cheap and not worth the $18,000 MSRP which I laughed at recently.

Similar Products Used: Wish I had kept my old Plymouth V6 Grand Voyager, yes it was ugly and older but it had better miliage, speed, sound, no knock, better A/C, better ride etc, or my Firebird...also better in all of these areas.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
noland   [Feb 25, 2005]
Model Reviewed: B2200
Strength:

Started up in -40 Ceilcius weather. good on gas. took abuse and still kept going. For a 4 cilinder, it did excellent

Weakness:

rear end to light for Canadian winter of ice and snow.

I bought the truck in 1991 and kept it for 13 years. It had only 60 000km. on it, when I sold it, it had over 225 000km. All I did to it was basic maintainance on it. It did blow blue smoke on start up but is a common thing with that model. Decent gas milage. excelent for a single guy at the time. It was a cab plus 5 speed standard.

Similar Products Used: Driven Ford f250,f350, Dodge, and Chev full size, Nissan Frontier
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 138  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com