jl-audio 250 1 Amplifiers

jl-audio 250 1 Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

Rated Power: 250 W RMS @ 1.5 ohm-4 ohm (11V-14.5V).
On-board Crossover: fully-variable (40-200 Hz), selectable-slope LP (12 or 24 dB per octave).

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Nov 27, 2020]
findalex80


Strength:

Clean sound. Internal crossover, R.I.P.S. technology is choice.

Weakness:

Heat dissipation, gets hot fast needs air flow (don't put under a seat).

Price Paid:
150.00
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2007
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Sep 24, 2004]
do0tson
Model Reviewed: 250/1

Strength:

Adjustable sensitivy, bass boost, bass volume level. Overall great buy

Weakness:

JL is a little expensive, but its worth it.

All I have to say is wow. This amp may not seem like it has to much power, but it does. I orginally had this amp wired up to two JL 10w0. I wanted louder and deeper subs so I moved up to two Memphis MClass 12" Dual Voice Coil. I was expecting to have to get another amp. I tried it out on my new subs and DAMN. The subs hit unbelievably hard. I was underpowering them by like 150 watts. This amp has ALOT more power than you expect. If you want your subs to hit like crazy, i recommend this amp to anymore.

Similar Products Used:

JL 10w0, Memphis MClass 12" Dual Voice Coil, JL 300/2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 15, 2004]
P_Marshall
Model Reviewed: JL 250/1 and 2 JL w3/d4 dual voice coil 12's

Strength:

Its a better system than i had before.

Weakness:

none

I bought the amp and the two 12's and i was wondering if any one can help me out. I need to figure out what is the best way to run them on a Pioneer Premier DEH-P350 HU. If anyone can help me, it would be nice. Thank You.

Similar Products Used:

two Pioneer 12's witn a orion heca 225 amp.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 29, 2003]
Dustin
Model Reviewed: Integra GS 4dr

Strength:

Clean Amplification, Excellent Clarity, Constant 250w RMS *truth*, Ooutputs for your next one when you want that ridiculous bass ppl on 3rd floors can feel it. Excellent control over the filters and clean solid look for those of you with your amp where people can see them.

Weakness:

Price when you are buying it. Once the amp is in powering a decent sub you will find a way to forget about the price

AWESOME. Ok so I decided to go a little ape sh** this month. Went on a little vacation and won enough to get the HU I wanted; Alpine CDA-9815. In my old CRX I got an Alpine SWR-1241d sub in a sealed box. I was stupid and spent too much on the dang sub so I got a Kenwood 7A29c 600w 2 ch. This amp is not "bad" so please don't get me wrong. So my car at the time blows up, now no car and a system. Anyways, I got my deck installed in my newer car and sure enough this just made me want to go all the way around. In my limited knowledge of car audio components I was looking for MA Audio, Alpine, AudioBahn. I don't know why JL didn't come to thought. So after some long talk with the installer at Dig City he kept pushing me towards cheaper components trying to get me to save my money *blah* (I wanted to spend it). After going over all the specs for my sub and what options I had I was left looking at about a 200$+ difference for the JL in comparison to the other mediocre will push my sub OK amps. I talked myself into it and I got the JL. I LOVE IT.I have not heard it skip a beat, only when I screwed up the Xover. One IMPORTANT thing to mention. I like bass but as some others are like me, I like to feel it, I like to hear my music clean. This lil 250/ SMASHES any other amp I have heard in regards to clarity. Now mind you if you are 4 cars back from me and I dont have the backseat dropped and all the windows open you are more than likely not going to hear me. However for the people inside my cab we get the best sounding everything. I put on any music and this JL just eats it up and pumps it back out. GET ONE! If you like clewan solid bass coming from just about whatever sub you might have check out the JL/'s. If all you care about is your bass thumping enough that people on the 3rd floor of buildings can feel your bass then look into a nice Xover and some powerful cheap amps. Its going to work great. However if you like to enjoy your music and of course still have it loud enough your ears bleed then JL might just be the one for you.

Similar Products Used:

Kenwood 600 (now powering my front components), MA Audio (friends civic), Phoenix Gold (Friends).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 13, 2003]
John Blaine
Model Reviewed: JL 250/1

Strength:

looks, clean sound, class d cool amp, has level detection

Weakness:

price

I have the amp hooked up to a Directed Studio 10" woofer. It sounds really really good. I dont know how much quality and power I am losing by going through a low level line from my head unit. I have a RSX type s and like the head unit. I wish it would hit a bit harder at times, but the SQ is second to none.

Similar Products Used:

phoenix gold

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 10, 2003]
aramis11
Model Reviewed: 2003

Strength:

Unimaginable damping factor that gives you tremendous controls even at ultra low frequency. Power rating that never changes. etc... there's too much to say.

Weakness:

Not only raise the price of your systeme by is own price tag but you won't have any other choice but to buy another amplifier to power all your other speakers in your car. the reason is YOUR RADIO WON'T HAVE ENOUGH POWER TO FOLLOW NO MATTER WHAT RADIO YOU HAVE OR HOW MUCH MONEY IT COST. I actually have a 45Wx4 by Sony and when the radio start clipping my sub and my amplifier are still luaghing at my face. Frustrating!

This was my first car amplifier and obviously I was affraid to pay that price of range for that kind of power. i've looked to the specs on internet. ask questions to one of my friends who know a lots about car audio and i looked to reviews. I didn,t know nothing about car audio at that time but i've been selling Hi-end home audio for 11 years nowand waht i know is what i want the sound in my car to be. after 3 weeks of thinking i finally decided to buy that amp. MAN IT HURTS!!!!. Hooked to my 12" punch he2 Rockford (i have a review on that too) it can be too much. the only thing i want to say today is: Guys, don't be fooled by amplifers specs from low end low pricesmr. everybody brand like s__y that says they have a 1000W amplifier until you listen to a JLAudio "slash". THESE guys are serious.

Similar Products Used:

Never used any other amplifier but i know amp... and unless you use a JL "Slash" you've never used similar products.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 31, 2002]
amf9in27k
Model Reviewed: 2002

Strength:

HEAVY, STRONG, CLEAN, CLASS D, STAYS COOL, CONNECTIONS

Weakness:

PRICE

HOOKED IT UP TO 2 KICKER SOLOBARIC CIRCLE 15"S AND THEY WERE LOUD. I NEVER KNEW THAT THIS AMP WOULD PUSH 2 15"S THIS GOOD. IF YOU GOT A HOOK UP THAN IT IS GREAT.

Similar Products Used:

MA AUDIO, MMATS, MEMPHIS, FOSGATE, PIONEER, HIFONICS, US ACOUSTICS, ALPHASONIK, JBL, KICKER, EARTHQUAKE, AUTOTEK, ULTIMATE, KENWOOD, ALPINE

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 25, 2002]
bigpauli_78
Model Reviewed: JL 250/1

Strength:

Looks (black and silver) R.I.P.S. hasn't clipped doesn't get hot SMALL fine tunning controls (once you get use to them)

Weakness:

might blow an expensive sub. making me ( a college student) go out and buy another expensive sub.

This amp is outstanding. I have it runnung an Alumapro Alchemy 12 with the signal coming from a Panasonic HU and I'm afraid it will blow the sub. I listen to heavy metal and the 250/1 with the Alumapro produce some of tightest bass for kick drums(like a 2x4 slapping water).And as for Rap, the hair on my neck vibrates like crazy when the low Hrz hit. Every week I need to tighten some bolt or stop a rattle because everything is getting shook loose.Ive also heard this amp power 2 subs no problem. No matter wich way you look at it, this is the amp for a one sub system.

Similar Products Used:

Alpine 2ch(always clean) Blaupunkt 4ch(decent starter amp)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 07, 2002]
Josh L

I can't believe how great this amplifier is. It perfect for all aspects and levels of car audio. If you don't know jack about wiring it's cool, it handles everything from 1.5-4 ohms. It's wicked powerful too. I used to have mine running a single 12W3 and that was loud as hell. Now I have it running a box with TWO 12W3's. They're each getting half the power they need and I can;t even turn it up all the way. BUY THIS AMP!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 12, 2002]
Lil NiCKy
Model Reviewed: 02

Strength:

Pumps for a little guy, sleak design, lots of different buttons for feedback.

Weakness:

Its not the 500/1 :)

Considering I got this amp for my old 10" pioneer sub then I upgraded to my 2 JL 12w6's and it still sounds good. Well, I highly recommend this amp.

Similar Products Used:

Kenwood

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com