jl-audio 300 4 Amplifiers

jl-audio 300 4 Amplifiers 

DESCRIPTION

- 75 W RMS x 4 @ 1.5 ohm-4 ohm.
- fully-variable (50 Hz-5 KHz), selectable-slope LP or HP (12 or 24 dB per octave).

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[Aug 24, 2019]
Pipeye619


Strength:

You get your way more than what you paid for! I’m a strong believer in the JL Audio line of amps and subs. From the first time my ears was blessed with the clarity and performance of the JL 300/4 I loved it. When it’s HARD HITTING brother the JL 500/1class D mono hit so hard the filling in my tooth came out I was hook. Rockford, Sony kenwood alpine Memphis audio hi fonix I had or been around all and none compare to the quality and sound of JL Audio amps and subs. If you lookin for the best Of the best JL Audio is my choice Also my opinion

Weakness:

I have nothing bad to say about the JL 300/4 or any of its amps and or subwoofers

Price Paid:
389
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1998
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 06, 2004]
eag

Strength:

Ultra clean, smooth, undistorted sound

Weakness:

lacks dymanics, a neutral/cold sound, less soul(if an amp can have such a thing)

The biggest thing that I can say about this amp is the selectably differential and balnced line inputs. Becuase of this type of input topography you will not get alternator noise from this amp. For me, that was huge. It also eliminated my speaker pop when turning on or off my system. As far as how is sounds goes. It has a very smooth undistorted sound, however, in contrast to my previous amp, this jl amp has a colder more neutral sound that immediatly left me longing for the warmth and brightness that i was used to. Before to long i had also noticed that it was also lacking some dynamics. the louds weren't as loud and the quiets weren't as quiet as I was used to. I guess you could say that with this new amp my music lacked some soul that I had grown used to. however after spending several years and lots of money hunting down my awful alternator noise, the fact that this amp is absolutly quiet is a godsend. I would buy this amp again.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 11, 2004]
DBPro2519
Model Reviewed: JL 300.4

Strength:

looks and sounds great

Weakness:

gets hot, power and ground allen key screws are too small, schould have an auxiniary output

sound quality is incredible, will not get any alternator noise out of this amp, ran it at 4 ohms to each channel and it gets very hot over a short period of time

Similar Products Used:

PG Tantrum 600.4

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 23, 2003]
pauldghertner
Model Reviewed: JL 300/4

Strength:

CLARITY, versitility, practical,

Weakness:

That guy who trashed these amps doesn't know SH*T - these amps rock

Overall Quality! This amp has everything!! I have this running two sets of 6.5" JL High-end component systems + a JL 500/1 running a 12"W6 with my Excelon in the dash. I LOVE MY SYSTEM - these amps are the SH*T!! P.S. I agree with the guy who likes these amps backlight with neon - mine are installed on the sidewalls of my trunk with neon underneath the amprack right behind the heat sink fins & they look like their on fire

Similar Products Used:

Orion, RF

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 18, 2003]
Jeff Ryckman
Model Reviewed: JL 300/4

Incredible amp for coaxials. Period.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 09, 2003]
Jason Lee
Model Reviewed: 2002

Strength:

features -

Weakness:

sound is flat - not dynamic. Not musical.

SUCKS......do you people hear okay? I LOVE the amps features, the looks, the construction.....but the sound is just not dynamic. I play CD's that I have listened to hundreds of times on my other system and I now what they should sound like. With the JL amp they dont have the same "omph" - yeah it gets loud, but its not DYNAMIC and loud. really sucks to listen to.

Similar Products Used:

Will be switching the amp out as soon as the warmer weather comes.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
[Nov 18, 2002]
Daddyrich632

Strength:

Quality, quality, quality. Your ears will give out before this amp does!

Weakness:

The only weakness I found were the speakers I had been using.

This amp if sweet! I've been using for almost a year and I finally upgraded my car speakers to two pairs of MB Quart 218.61s. All I can say is WOW! JL's quality can't be matched. The built-in crossover settings let you tune your music exactly how you want

Similar Products Used:

Alpine, Kenwood

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 22, 2002]
Goku
Model Reviewed: 300/4

Strength:

Sound Quality, Flexibility, It's a JL!!!

Weakness:

NONE!!!

This amp rocks!!! I have this thing pushing 4 Sony MobileES 3-way speakers. 2 6x9's & 2 6 1/2's. Incredible!!! This amp is VERY flexible. Not only in the way it handles different speaker loads, but also w/ the different filter settings. The salesman told me that they stopped carying the Xtant because the JL out performed it at half the cost.

Similar Products Used:

PPI, Pioneer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 22, 2002]
David
Model Reviewed: 300/4

Strength:

Compatibilty with factory units Great internal crossover functionality The best cooling sink on an amp Versatilty for any speaker set up True RMS output

Weakness:

Nope

I recently bought a new car and as we all know only a few of the lines know how to put a decent to tolerable stereo in their cars. My Chrysler 300M was no different. I was just looking for something that would sound good in all three ranges, low, mid, and highs. I never really heard of JL Audio as I have been out of the loop for awhile, while concentrating on the house system. I doubt I will ever deal with another product again. I didn't want to replace my head unit, but have heard of amps not filtering noise, and seperating the different frequencies very well with factory units. My guy at Tweeter informed me that the JL amps excelled at this, so I purchased the 300/4 to power in the rear what else? A JL Audio W3 12 sub in an enclosed box, and a set of Boston Pro 6.5 components in the front. The amp is running bridged to the rear at 150 rms and 75 rms to each pro. There is not only excellent true rich bass from the back, but the it delivers a crisp set of mids and highs to the front of the car where luckily enough I sit. Later on, if I need to, the 300/4 is versatile so I can get a set of rear deck speakers and run it strickly for them and the fronts. Ofcourse if I do that, I'll need to pick up a 500/1 JL to run the 12 W3.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 07, 2002]
Dionisus
Model Reviewed: 2002

Strength:

RIPS (regulated intelligent power supply) Gives you the power you paid for every time form 1.5-4 ohms and 3-8 ohms (brigged) anywere form 11V-14.5 Volts. Also all the controls, RCA inputs, power, ground and remote wires are all on the same side which make this amp super easy to mount where I needed to put it. It is completely out of sight.

Weakness:

None In my case.

I bought a JL 300/4 to put together a small and simple SQ system, I don't compete and I just want something to enjoy my everyday driving. The 300/4 is running a set of infinity 605cs components up front and the rear channels are briged and running a JL 10W0 in a .75 ft^3 sealed box. All I have to say is that this amp sounds incredible. My system will play much louder than I can possibly tolerate with stunning clarity. I shopped around quite a bit and I came to decide on the 300/4 because it fit the bill perfectly for me. I previously had an ALPINE V12 MRV-T503 that was rated at 82W rms @ 12V , I had the Alpine running the 10W0 before and it was supposed to do 300W rms, All I have to say is that the sub sounds way better with the 150W rms it's getting from the 300/4. The bass is crisper and much more defined and will actually play louder with the JL 300/4, the Alpine sounded a bit muddy to me at higher volume. This comparison was with the same deck and sub. This lead me to beleive that the JL 300/4 is really underated or I had a bad Alpine V12. The crossovers on the JL are trully impressive, I think they are the best onboard X-overs I have ever seen on an amp. They are fully variable between 50-5000Hz with percise clicks and offer selectible 12 or 24 dB per octave slopes independently on each channel. This is JL's first line of amps, JL has always been known for quality and they really did their homwork on this amp. I heard the Bruce McMillan (not shure on the spelling) designed the amp for JL. This man Is supposed to be one of the leaders in Car Audio. He designed amps for Xtant and make some serious amplifiers. JL amps are pricey but they are worth every red cent. Remeber you get what you pay for ;)

Similar Products Used:

Alpine V12 series and Phoenix Gold M series.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com