Random Technology Catalytic Converters Catalytic Converters

Random Technology Catalytic Converters Catalytic Converters 

DESCRIPTION

The Super High Flow meets Federal EPA and California ARB requirements, enables virtually any vehicle with a properly tuned engine to meet emissions standards with little, if any power loss (compared to an exhaust with no catalytic converter).

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Jun 25, 2011]
John
Model Reviewed: Chevrolet Silverado

Strength:

Increased flow, no initial problems, long-term durability was good. Slightly louder than my stock converters. Has lasted 10 years and 70,000 miles. Need I say more?

Weakness:

Inlet/outlet size was oversized for my stock sized pipes. Good fitment for those with upgraded full exhaust, but not for stock. Not an issue for a competent exhaust shop to deal with.

Purchased ten years ago in 2001 for my 1998 chevy silverado. I don't remember how much I paid ten years ago. Replaced factory dual cats on 350 vortec. Had at least a couple instances for check engine lights of converter efficiency codes for being below threshold. This is over the course of 70,000 miles. I understand this is the nature of hi-flow converters and they have been great over the last decade. Still no sign of rust (except welds) and they still flow well. Just started getting a continual P0420 code on bank 1, so they may be about used up. Will definitely consider buying again. Buy if you want more performance than stock converter.

Similar Products Used:

performance mufflers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 06, 2009]
christophero1973
Model Reviewed: 142-30027 3"inlet2.5"outlet D.P.

Strength:

POWER, IMPROVED MPG, LIGHT-WEIGHT.

Weakness:

SELF-INSTALL(of course).

I bought this Down-Pipe #142-30027
for my 2002 Monte Carlo SS, 3.8L N/A. It made a tremendous increase in both HP & TQ! 3yrs. now and counting, no trouble code, very little rust, better MPG!

Similar Products Used:

Stock Down-Pipe & CAT, ZZP Down-Pipe & CAT(second-hand).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 12, 2004]
thea5rida
Model Reviewed: civic ex coupe

Strength:

power gains

Weakness:

rattling from heat plates.

this thing has great power gains but only after 1500 miles the heatshields broke loose and it rattles like a mother trucker. for the price paid it shouldnt be doing this, it ridiculous.

Similar Products Used:

stock

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 04, 2004]
Maxima_99
Model Reviewed: Nissan Maxima

Strength:

Looks better than the rusty stocker

Weakness:

Much less durable than stock Heat shields rust away Particulate gets loose inside with normal driving

I first purchased the product because of the gains I read about and the fact that it added little to no noise. I bought one for my 99 Maxima and my 96 Civic. Before the RT I had a Carsound Cat on my Maxima which worked fine but the RT was supposed to add 5hp on top of that so I gave it a try. I have had to replace the Cat twice on my Civic and once on my Maxima in the last 2 years. Eventually the heatshields get loose and rattle and they have to be removed. The reason I replaced them was because of a horrible rattle from inside of the cats. The particulate gets loose and rattles around. I got sick of replacing my cat on the civic and went back to stock. I don't feel like replacing it again in 6 mos to a year. On the upside the warranty process was fairly painless. Unless you like paying someone $40.00 a time to replace your cat or enjoy doing your own exhaust work, stay with the stock cat and upgrade the exhaust and or header/y-pipe for more performance.

Similar Products Used:

Stock Carsound Cat - No problems

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 14, 2003]
Vic Jordan
Model Reviewed: C5 Corvette

Ever since I installed the R/T Cats I've had nothing problems. My check engine light has popped on 3 times with less than 100 miles since install. First code indicated a bad 02 sensor. Next, a hot sensor, and I haven't even taken it in to see about the third one yet!? I can't even drive the car around the block with it coming on. With no fix recommended, it looks like I wasted my time and money with this product. Corvette drivers--BEWARE!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 14, 2003]
Phil
Model Reviewed: Honda

Strength:

increaed throttle response power increase in VTEC nice tone installation was pretty simple

Weakness:

little pricey

Ive been replacing my stock exhaust system piece by piece and i went with a RT HI-Flow converter because ive heard some nice things about them and when i had it installed it didnt disapoint.It had a nice power increase in VTEC and a better throttle response.i havnt had a engine light or trouble code yet.

Similar Products Used:

stock

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 06, 2003]
Tom Le
Model Reviewed: 98 V6 Accord

Strength:

Nothing

Weakness:

Check engine light came on, No performance notice over stock cat, sounds the same, became rust after few months, and did i mention crappy product. Also don't even try to work it out with Martel or Random because they are no help!!!

Do not buy this product. Avoid at all cost. The gains was nothing better then the stock cat. Why spend 200+ when you have the same performance on you oe part. I put it on my car and check engine light came on. This really pissed me off. Called random and got the run around. If you don't want a check engine light, don't buy.

Similar Products Used:

stock cat

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 19, 2003]
kilfoydj
Model Reviewed: 1997 Dodge Ram 1500

Strength:

Increased HP. Sounds great. Oxygen sensors installed easily. Great price.

Weakness:

No exhaust hanger where OEM hanger was.

Great product. Sounds great with Gibson dual exhaust. Definite increase in power, especially at higher RPM’s. Installation went okay. Be sure to cut the inlet pipes as close as possible to the old converter. I received an estimate at MIDAS and they wanted $597 for parts and $80+ for labor.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 10, 2003]
lexLothar

Strength:

nice hi- range power, looks nice

Weakness:

price, install difficulty, increased noise

nice product, opens up the exhaust more than just a cat-back, great when done with the full cold air intake, header/cat back setup, bit on the boomy side,but at least it doesnt cheapen the deep sound of a Thermal exhaust. Also had to have the cat flange extended to install correctly.

Similar Products Used:

stock cat

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 26, 2002]
CLARKEC
Model Reviewed: 1997 HONDA PRELUDE

Strength:

Perfect direct fit. Installation was a breeze. Compared to stock, throttle response is awesome throughout RPM range, VERY noticeable gains in the Vtec power band. Nice deep throaty sound. Comes with full installation and warranty papers and even a number to contact EPA regarding emmissions issues.

Weakness:

Unfortunately after doing research, some vehicles equipped with OBDII systems ('97 and up)have problems with high flow cats (Note: this applies to ALL brands of high flow cats, not just Random Technology) being too free flowing causing the O2 sensor(s) to trip the check engine light with the P0420 code. It will pass emissions fine; however, your check engine light will always be on which can eventually cause other problems because the computer will be trying to compensate for the problem. Nevertheless I still highly reccomend this product if your model vehicle hasnt had a history of this problem when equipped with an RT cat, just ask the guys if your particular model car has had any history of my problem with the check engine light. Random Technology is constantly developing and improving their products so the guys there will know.

Installed Random Tech cat on a '97 Prelude. Compared to stock, throttle response is awesome throughout RPM range, VERY noticeable gains in the Vtec power band. Unfortunately had to return because the converter is too free flowing for the OBDII on my vehicle and was tripping check engine light with code P0420 (Catalytic Efficiency Below Threshold). Dealt with Clay at Random Tech and Tom at Lightning Motorsports about the problem, was told this is a rare occurrence but they've seen this scenario happen. I have two friends with RT cats on their 97 Civics and they've had no problems with check engine lights and pass emissions with flying colors. My hat definitely goes off to Clay at Random Tech and Tom and the boys at Lightning Motorsports. They were very understanding of my rare situation, gave me a full refund with no hassle what so ever. I highly recommend both these companies and won't hesitate for a second to do business with them again. I'd like to add after reading some of these reviews that some of these clowns need brains. Like the fool recommending NOS instead of this cat....you need to have a proper free flowing exhaust before you even think about NOS (you know he's fresh off the boat, but hey thats the crap they do..he's probably riding around right now in a '79 pinto with hydraulics, a ton of chrome trim and tassles, no exhaust, and NOS,...oh yeah, an alarm, cant forget the alarm!) and the guy with the '87 Vette...gimmie a break (your problem is that corvette emblem on the front....being that old and being a vette, trust me used to own one, ... you got far more problems than a catalytic converter.....junk..oh yeah and ya know your supposed to take the shipping packing out of the cat inlet and outlet pipes before you install it............) --Gimmie a break!

Similar Products Used:

Stock.... very restrictive/ Magna Flow...personal opinion didnt like. Looks nice and throttle response was comparable with Random Tech's converter; however, the sound was awful...too raspy, and they

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com