Flowtech Headers Exhaust Headers

Flowtech Headers Exhaust Headers 

DESCRIPTION

All FLOWTECH Headers are constructed from specially selected lengths of mandrel bent primary tubing, precision die cut exhaust port flanges, and four-into-one mandrel formed collectors. These components are then precisely assembled and welded in specially designed fixtures. FLOWTECH maintains strict quality control at all levels of fabrication and assembly; then each header is leak tested to assure problem free performance. After passing quality control testing, each set is then finished with an electrostatically applied paint.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 36  
[Feb 09, 2017]
Harvey Skaggs
Model Reviewed: 12120

Strength:

none

Weakness:

They DONT FIT. unable to bolt up the steering arms.

I called Parts Geek and ask specifically if they had headers that fit a 1965 Mercury Comet without modifications. I was told this set was made for the Comet and would go in with no mods to them. When I got them, the driver side would fit, but the pass. side was way off. It hit the bell housing and shock tower. the instructions said "some mods" was common with a small hammer. I got the shock tower area to fit, cut 1/2 in off the bell housing, and got them on the engine. when I tried to bolt the steering assembly back up, it would require me to cut one tube off to get to fit. I contacted Parts Geek and was told, "no problem, we will send you a return label. I received the label, but had to pay $14.10 to ship them. 3 weeks later they were returned to me with a note saying unacceptable reason, customer damaged. I called Parts Geek and a very rude customer rep said it was not his problem. I ask to speak to a supervisor and he hung up on me. I filled out a complaint and got a snotty response saying they had already dealt with me and not to reply again.
If your headers are made for a 65 Comet, but won't fit, I should receive a refund for them.
I was never able to speak to anyone that understood the problem.
I will never deal with Parts Geek again, but as the manufacturer of the product, I think someone owes me the consideration of a refund. I have invested over $220 and they are sitting in a box, no good to me or anyone else.
I consider them "JUNK".

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 24, 2015]
Tony
Model Reviewed: 1966 Dodge Charger

Strength:

Easy to install, sound good.

Weakness:

bad welds

Good product overall, cheap, easy to install, anxd a great sound.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 07, 2013]
rodman
Model Reviewed: 66 chevy nova

Strength:

none. good waste of your hard earned dollars.if you think they are cheap,wait till you see how long and what you got to do to put this crap on, if you can.

Weakness:

to start with the welds are at best horrible. tech support (woody) told the truth when i asked for help,he told me he did not know.then woddy tried to brow beat me with the usual crap, wrong mounts,steering box differances,was the engine ment for that car,on and on.we already put the right side header on,no problem.i guess from what i have read here i better check to see if they finished attempting to weld it completly. now we can't send them back so lets see what it takes to instal the flowtech left header for a 64-67 chevy nova ss.first you take a 1 and 1half in.hole saw and saw the no.3 cylinder pipe(second pipe back on left side ) in half 8 in. down from engine flange,this makes a nice fitted joint.you'll probly need a joint after doing this.next go down to the collector and remove the rest of that pie.weld suitable plug to close that hole.next we grind the weld off of engine flange.now rotate no. 3 pipie to no.1 pipe,mark where 1 and 3 join.remove no 3 fitting and cut a hole inside the line you just marked.now put no.3 fitting back in hole it came from.rotate fitting till it wraps around no.1 tube.now weld the tubes together followed welding the flange.now you have increased the clearance by 1 and three quarters in between the steering box and the flowtech header you proudly own.now that you have 3 pipe headers you now have all the room you need to clear the steering box.you may now instal the header efortlesly.don't get out from under the car yet,have an assistant turn the steering wheel to the left take a 3lb hammer and beat in the next till it fits.my now that was great. oh,if your welding skills excead those from the flowtech go find someone who has never seen a welder and hve them do the job ,afterall you want it to your proud of your perchase.

to review these problems are not reserved for any 1 car maker,they screw them up on all models.or they send us this junk followed by a film crew to try to win 100,000 on one of those vidio shows.

Similar Products Used:

broken crutches wheel chair(no brakes) dog with no legs(it won't come or help either when you call it.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 16, 2012]
Les
Model Reviewed: 442 Convertible

Strength:

Fast shipping from Summit

Weakness:

The welding and assembly where the headers bolt to the heads is sinful. The center ports were welded in crooked and there were grinding gouges that will never allow a good seal. Shame on everyone in production and quality control must not exist. Anyone want pictures, just email me.

Extremely disappointed !!

Similar Products Used:

Hooker

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 04, 2009]
Lolamon
Model Reviewed: 99 Dakota R/T

Strength:

Bolt holes lined up to the head, I got some new gaskets!

Weakness:

Leaks, terrible welds, collector pipe fitment way off, beautiful cermacoated job wasted.

Cermacoated ones were on backorder so I got the black heat painted ones. Sent them out to get cermacoated for another $185. Awsome finish, better than factory. Only to find out after install is the factory welds at the collector on driver side leaks and a pinhole in the weld on the passenger side. The top loop hits the master cylinder and the A/C condensor on the other side. The alignment to the factory pipe was off but workable. The welds, well I've seen way better it must have been welded by a kid.

I should have spent the extra couple hundred for a quality product.

Test your headers for leaks first by doing a water test. If welds look like crap they are.

Similar Products Used:

Factory manifold

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 22, 2009]
mark irish
Model Reviewed: mustanggt

Strength:

cheap

Weakness:

leaks

junk!!!! could see air where collector flange was not welded..hard to install bolts..they hit on tube...no egr bung..I have had these off the car at least three times and never have got them to seal up..

Similar Products Used:

hooker

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 02, 2009]
rick garrett
Model Reviewed: Ford 66 Fairlane 500 hardtop

Strength:

Nice finish and header flange sealed up tight.

Weakness:

Could have had more bolt clearance since getting a wrench on some bolts is really tight. There is more then enough room for more shifter linkage clearance if the header tubes were over just a bit. Same for power steering hose clearance....there's more room.

This was an easy install and both headers bolted up easy. (Part number 32100) I'm installing these on my 66 Fairlane with a 289 green dot column shift tranny. Had to put that power steering bracket on but had issues with a power steering hose clamp, had to remove for clearance and had to bend shifter linkage a bit to shift and had to also bend lower arm on gas pedal to clear header tube. Bent that about 1/2" over then it works great! With these minor issues fixed I see no problems.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 07, 2009]
oscar
Model Reviewed: '69 mustang

Strength:

None

Weakness:

All

Absolute junk!!! Driver's side header wouldn't install due to lack of clearance between the flange & the primary tubes' inside radius. I called tech support and the story was "guy musta had a bad day at the jig" Got a second set, a little closer, but still unusable. The differences between the two sets was astronomical, they look like someone's putting them together in their home garage. The paint is mostly worthless and the second set had lumps of paint all over and many bare spots that were already badly rusted. I emailed their tech support and go no response. I returned them again and got a set of Hookers. They're a little more $, but MORE than worth the difference. I'll never do this to myself nor my customer ever again!!!!

Similar Products Used:

Hedmann, Hooker, Thorley, BBK.....

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 03, 2007]
Ryan
Model Reviewed: gmc k1500

Strength:

none

Weakness:

leaks by both collecters

worst headers ever.weld by the collecters and still leaks.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 07, 2007]
JEFF CASEY
Model Reviewed: 1966 CHEVELLE

Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

POOR FIT TECH SUPPORT SUCKS

ATEMPTED TO INSTALL FLOWTECH HEADERS PASSANGERS SIDE DOES NOT FIT CALLED FLOWTECH THEY TOLD ME I HAD THE WRONG MOTOR MOUNT I DID NOT HAVE THE WRONG MOUNTS THERE HEADERD DONT FIT HAD TO HAVE EXAUST SHOP CUSTOMIZE.

Similar Products Used:

HOOKER,HEADERS BY ED

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 36  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com