Flowmaster 50 Series Muffler Mufflers

Flowmaster 50 Series Muffler Mufflers 

DESCRIPTION

The 50 Series offers a mellow, deep sound in most applications. It is quieter than the 40 Series mufflers outside the vehicle, and is significantly quieter inside the vehicle through the use of a special Resonant Tuning Chamber within the muffler. The 50 Series provides performance comparable to the 40 Series. The 50 Series is also available for SUV applications and provides mellow interior sound levels (ISL) and mellow to deep exterior sound levels (ESL).
- Most all Street/Strip vehicles with or without catalytic converters
- Vehicles with dual exhaust

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 34  
[Apr 01, 2014]
Michael Whealen
Model Reviewed: Caprice Classic

Strength:

Increased power and mileage, better sound, cooler running temps.

Weakness:

None

2010 pro street build at original 28k miles. 50's mesh seamlessly with the build. Cruising running or racing this exhaust gives me the sound engine management and performance I want. Totally satisfied.

Similar Products Used:

Cherry Bomb, Borla, Corsa Magnaflow Dynaflow on others

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 28, 2013]
John Ggaffey
Model Reviewed: Mercury Grand marquia

Strength:

Sweet sound, better gas mileage with duals than with single stock sutup

Weakness:

None

My Grand Marquis had less that 50,000 miles when I installed a cold air induction system along with a pair of 50's. Both performance and gas mileage are great I was getting 25mpg highway and now I am up to 28 - if I keep my foot out of it. No Hot Rod but, man, is it fun to drive.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 11, 2009]
Aaron Adkins
Model Reviewed: Dodge Ram 1500

Strength:

-Agressive, Bassy sound
-Makes a V6 sound MEAN
-Overall a great value for the outcome

Weakness:

-None at all

I just got this muffler put on my V6 and it went from the boring stock sound to a rumbling, bassy sound. I paid $110 for the muffler and labor, but I had to get an extension pipe installed for $25 more.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 03, 2008]
rugby01
Model Reviewed: F150

Strength:

Great sound and even better idle sound

Weakness:

None that I can hear

Upgrade from the Model 40 to a Model 50. Boy does my Dentist thank me. If you want to rubmle the fillings out of you mouth, then Model 40. If you just want to be abel to hear and feel your engine under load, model 50. Great sound and even better idle sound

Similar Products Used:

Flowmaster Model 40

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 06, 2007]
Josh Fritz
Model Reviewed: Pontiac Grand Am SE

Strength:

Sound, increased power and gas-mileage, tough and rust resistant stainless steel makeup

Weakness:

Some people don't like the dull stainless steel look

This muffler is awesome. It turned my average sounding V6 into a deep rumbling beast. For my car, this muffler is just right, not too loud and not too soft. Improved my gasmileage by about 2-3 miles per gallon as well, but the deep, smooth sound alone is enough to buy this muffler.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 09, 2006]
Andrew
Model Reviewed: ford f150 fx4 supercab/ 50 series flowmaster

Strength:

looks great on truck dual rear exit/ 40 series going on

Weakness:

not loud enough

i have a 2002 f150 with 4.6l v8 the 50 series flowmaster kit

Similar Products Used:

cherry bomb, v force, stock :(

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 04, 2006]
Rocker
Model Reviewed: Toyota Tacoma 3.4 TRD

Strength:

- Quiet (not a strength for some)
- Powerful sounding
- Deep (not throaty though, like a packed-type muffler: more hollow like a Flowmaster should be) and not raspy at all

Weakness:

- A little pricey for just a muffler
- Maybe even a little TOO quiet (I know I've been touting that as a good thing, and it is, but I'd still like to hear that there's something aftermarket on there!)

This muffler is on a 2003 Toyota Tacoma TRD 4x4 3.4 (5VZFE) V-6 5 spd. I wanted a quiet, free-flowing exhaust. I ordered a 50 Series SUV (part # 52457), which is greater in length and width (and therefore volume) than the standard 50 Series and labor cost was $55 at a local muffler shop to have the stock muffler cut out and the new one welded in, retaining all the stock 2.25" pipes. I expected them to mount it kind of sideways (the whole purpose of getting an offset out), but they put it in level and it works great anyway with the stock tail pipe location. When you start it up, you hear a nice, low rumble and then it's barely louder than stock when the rpms settle down to idle. Now, I'm a huge fan of American V-8s and their exhaust notes, and not a fan at all of loud rice-racer exhausts (unless we're talking sportbikes). This is a low rumble that is pleasing even to me. Engaging the clutch and shifting through the gears is maybe 15-20% louder than stock (if that), and what you do hear, all the way up to redline is a good, relatively deep, solid tone and not loud, raspy, high-pitched noise pollution that is common to so many other exhausts on smaller displacement engines, especially Japanese V-6s (I generally consider anything smaller than 300 cubic inches to be small). Even under wide open throttle, I would not consider this exhaust to be loud or annyoing and there is no resonance in the cab of the truck whatsoever. A buddy of mine has a 40 Series on his Tacoma (identical to mine), and I consider that to be loud and annoying. If you're looking for a quiet, yet powerful sounding muffler for this or a similar truck, you won't be disappointed by the Flowmaster 50 Series SUV. When you let off the throttle to maintain speed, it is barely louder than stock. I can only speak for the stock 2.25" pipes - don't know how much louder it would be with 2.5". Probably a little and I doubt that would be a bad thing with this muffler. As for fuel economy gains, I haven't had it on long enough to give a reliable report, but I'd guess that as with most free-flowing mufflers, it'll be 1-2 mpg. And for power differences, I didn't dyno the truck before or after, but I can say for sure that it is quicker to the redline under acceleration (quicker even than with just the intake alone), and combined with the Airaid intake I installed a couple of weeks ago, total RPM drop at 75 mph cruise in 5th gear (vs stock) was about 450 rpm. That should equal a very noticeable highway miles per gallon increase.

Similar Products Used:

Gibson, Dynomax, LC Engineering (on other vehicles)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 22, 2006]
4alltime
Model Reviewed: 1970 Chevy/C10

Strength:

HD construction and quality weldments.

Weakness:

none

Just replaced a universal turbo muffler with a 50 series single out and what a difference in perfomance. The 250 with 150K is more fun to drive and the sound is a light rumble at idle and mellow raspy at city speeds and no more trombone sound!

Similar Products Used:

none will match

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 13, 2006]
elninoloco
Model Reviewed: Flowmaster 50 Series SUV

Strength:

Nice Deep Sporty Mellow Tone, perfect for SUV's. Gained about 10HP, and about 1 mile mpg more on my gas. Which is better than nothing.

Weakness:

None.

I own a 2000 Infiniti QX4 (aka Nissan Pathfinder), i was looking everywhere for a muffler that would fit in my car, becuase i has Dual Ins, and Single Out, I know, WEIRD! I went to many shops and i couldnt get anywhere. Until a guy in Majestics Muffler told me we have this product that will fit in your car. (Item Number 524553) Just what my car needed. I heard that fowmaster were VERY noisy, and too much resonance. Either i was lied, or depends on the car, but after it was installed i was on my way home..i couldn' here anything - MY WINDOWS DOWN...i could hear a little bit not thats it. Then i told my dad to drive it...OMG....It is the perfect tone for an SUV. It isn't like those EXTREMELY LOUD mufflers, it has a nice Deep Sporty Mellow, tone, and my V6 sounds like a V8, It sounds like i gave my car steroids or something. If you accelerate fast, boy, my car cries. haha...the best muffler ever owned.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 18, 2004]
Ironman7
Model Reviewed: Dodge Ram1500 5.2l V8

Strength:

Loud with a nice lOW Rumble. Nice performance gain as well. Loud but not straight pipes loud.

Weakness:

This muffler is loud outside and inside.

I put a Flowmaster 40 Series Delta Flow 3inch inlet dual 2 1/2inch outlets. This is a MAJOR improvement over stock. I noticed I had a little less low end power but I gained more top end power. I noticed that I had more power to pass while on the highway. This has a nice low rumble and is loud outside the cab. Has alot of resonance inside the cab as well. I personaly love it. Combined with my Gibson Headers and high flow cat this truck purrs. I may caution that if you are not looking to set off car alarms or do not like interior resonance then this is not for you. You have to love the sound of the muffler more than the radio. This is not to say you can not hear the radio or hold conversation but it is loud inside.

Similar Products Used:

Dynomax Ultra Flo and Hooker Aerochamber

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 34  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com