Advantage Rent A Car Car Rental Company Car Rental Companies

Advantage Rent A Car Car Rental Company Car Rental Companies 

DESCRIPTION

Advantage Rent A Car is a privately held rental car company, headquartered in San Antonio, Texas. We’re a proven service-focused company that provides business, leisure, government and local customers with a wide range of services at more than 150 U.S. locations and 130 locations in 33 countries internationally.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 55  
[Oct 31, 2017]
gary winuk

Don't be fooled by their low rates. Their customer service, quality of vehicles, and rental experience is the worst. My car was dirty and in poor condition. The staff at Newark Airport was rude and dishonest. And I got a flat tire and they made me pay for the repair to the car. Then they promised me I would be reimbursed for the tire, strung me along for months promising reimbursement and then told me after nearly a dozen calls that I would not be reimbursed. More than half the time no one even answers their customer service line. Not worth it.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 13, 2017]
Artie Martino
Model Reviewed: ACCENT

Strength:

Ripoff company

Weakness:

Ripoff company--added charges with no explanation. $50 for horrible smartphone GPS with no place to mount in car. Car cost twice as much as advertised and I expected to pay.

This company doesn't care about repeat customers

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 06, 2017]
Susanna Gibson

Strength:

None

Weakness:

I would give a 0 if I could. We have been waiting in line to pick up our car that we had reserved. When the shuttle dropped us off there was already a huge line that was looped inside and still out of the door. We have another probably 45 minutes to wait in line. At first there was only one employee at the desk. Now there are 3. I called customer service while in line and was told that this is "usual for Advantage" and that there was nothing that I could do- I just need to wait in line. And that I can't cancel my reservation with them. The absolute worst telephone customer service I have ever had in my life. And obviously the worst rental car experience I have ever had in my life. I have never written a review online before, but this experience has been so ridiculously bad that I have to. What else am I going to do while standing in line for 2 hours waiting for my rental car reservation?

I would give a 0 if I could. We have been waiting in line to pick up our car that we had reserved. When the shuttle dropped us off there was already a huge line that was looped inside and still out of the door. We have another probably 45 minutes to wait in line. At first there was only one employee at the desk. Now there are 3. I called customer service while in line and was told that this is "usual for Advantage" and that there was nothing that I could do- I just need to wait in line. And that I can't cancel my reservation with them. The absolute worst telephone customer service I have ever had in my life. And obviously the worst rental car experience I have ever had in my life. I have never written a review online before, but this experience has been so ridiculously bad that I have to. What else am I going to do while standing in line for 2 hours waiting for my rental car reservation?

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 17, 2017]
Richard Hamilton

Strength:

Car not bad

Weakness:

FEES, FEES, FEES

Rented a car at Denver Airport. Upon return, found that the gas station at the airport could not accept credit cards due to a computer problem, so I returned the car with a half tank of gas.
I thought, how bad could it be?
My final bill was $31 for the car, $70 for the half tank of gas!
This is not charging an inconvenience fee, this is robbery!
Never Advantage again!

Similar Products Used:

Fox, Avis, Budget, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 09, 2017]
Terry

Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Totally deceptive business practices - read reviews from all over the nation! Terrible company - tried to rip us off.

BELIEVE the terrible reviews! Reserved a mid-size SUV through Travelocity - where it prominently stated "UNLIMITED mileage". This was a bald-faced lie. Mileage was limited to 250 miles a day, additional mileage was a whopping 55 cents per mile, unless we paid $20 PER DAY for true unlimited mileage. We might have bitten the bullet and done it, however the next bombshell they hit us with was "We don't rent SUV's to locals" (we live in Albuquerque and were renting at the airport.) When asked why, the rude man at the desk replied "IF you had read your LOCAL service contract, YOU would have SEEN that it is our policy". He had no explanation of why that was their policy, and his attempt to throw the blame back on us because of not reading the massive fine print was equally aggravating. I had even called the company the day before to make SURE I got an SUV, as we needed it to navigate the dirt roads we were going on for our camping trip. At the call center - which was obviously in a different country - the woman ASSURED me that it was fine, and we would get an SUV. So, another lie, or at least complete misinformation. After reading a number of terrible reviews for the company, it appears this is the same kind of "local" policies they use at every office. They call it "local" policy, but the same criticisms appear over and over nationwide. I rent cars frequently and had never had an experience like this. I will never, EVER use Advantage again, and if you do, I assure you you're asking for trouble. Even if the 250 mile limit doesn't affect you, do you really want to do business with a company this sneaky and dishonest?

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 04, 2016]
Lori

Strength:

rented me a dirty car, dented with a chip in the window, sent me to the location of a car marked DEAD in window marker

Weakness:

if that was their strength, the weakness is customer service. you will get rude employees both on the phone and in person. the 800 phone number will take you an hour to get through to someone, who will then tell you that they cannot help you

go anywhere else, please

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 06, 2016]
Mark jones

Strength:

None!!!

Weakness:

Slow/poor customer service

The worst customer service EVER!!! They double charged my credit card and locked it out for 24 hours while on vacation!! They also didn't have a car available for me! Had to wait 2 hours!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 08, 2016]
Valerie

SCAM: they advertise low rates and after you do the booking they add "fees" and more "fees". I first entered the site because it advertised $10/day (I got a deal like this on last year's trip), so I went on it. Than the "real" price was $18/day. At the end of my trip, I check my credit card statement and it was over$43 per day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Excuse my "french", but WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 29, 2016]
Maureen
Model Reviewed: Toyota Yaris

Weakness:

No return phone call from company.
Didn't care that they knowingly gave us a car that the bumper was falling off.

Flight arrived late in evening. Picked up car around 11:45pm at Ft. Lauderdale Int'l Airport. When we checked in regarding the car, woman called to the back and was on phone for 15 minutes. Let person know we needed an economy size car. Picked up car, no one walked around to check for problems with us. As we were driving down the road, could hear flapping noise. Saw that the bumper was flapping. When we arrived at our resort, we called the company and had to leave a message that the rear bumper on both sides was falling off of the Toyota Yaris. Expected a call in the morning. Received no call. Had to drive back to the airport to exchange the car. Asked the person there why they gave us a car like this. He said that all the Toyota Yaris's have this problem of the rear bumper falling off. Asked why he gave that to us the night before when there were other vehicles there. He said it was probably the last economy size. There had even been tape that they had removed that was holding the bumper together. He also said that you just need to pop the bumper back in. Really???? I paid for a complete car. The second car was just as ridiculous. What a huge disappointment!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 07, 2016]
Scott

Strength:

None

Weakness:

A reservation does not actually guarantee you a car!

I had a car reserved at the Atlanta airport, but no cars were available when my flight arrived. There were several other customers present in the same situation. I was told it would be at least a two hour wait to get any car, let alone the type I had reserved.

The employees informed me that a reservation doesn't guarantee you a car, it only guarantees the price. Advantage will never refuse a reservation. They will let anyone reserve a car anytime, regardless of whether a car will actually be available.

You read that right - A RESERVATION DOES NOT GUARANTEE YOU A CAR!!!

Fortunately, Hertz had a car available for a reasonable price. However, some others were not so lucky. They had booked their car directly with Advantage and pre-paid to get a slightly cheaper rate. Advantage refused to refund their money, even though they had no cars!

What a despicable company.

Avoid this company at all costs. They are cheap for a reason.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 55  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com