APR 1.8T Stage 1 Chip Engine Management

1.8T Stage 1 Chip

Chip upgrade for the 1.8T engine. Available for the Audi A4, and TT. VW Jetta, GTI/Golf, Beetle, and Passat.

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
MartinC   [May 02, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Audi TT 180 / APR Satge 1
Strength:

Amazing change to the stock 180 HP TT. Far more drivable, torque increase is very noticable.

Weakness:

None

Why the stock mapping is so poor compared to APR's is a mystery. Gas milage seems comparable as well so it's a win win change.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
onelucke1   [Mar 14, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Audi A4 1.8t
Strength:

Best HP/TQ gain that $1000 can buy. TT225 injectors+Forge 007 Dv+NGK Race Plugs=$500 + 500 APR ECU= More Fun

Weakness:

None w/ the ecu flash. Just have so much further to go

Apr rocks. Got my chip at the perfect time the "Spring Sale". Fully loaded stage 1+ for $500 at GRD. Bill Jacobs VW wanted $765 w/ just 2 programs. Glad I called around. Tried Revo first it was good but the APR powerband is better. I read many forums and researched dyno results and APR always came on top. Seem to get better gas mileage, better power in higher gears

Similar Products Used: Revo Stage 1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David   [Feb 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: A4 Sedan Quattro
Strength:

Doesn't take me 45 minutes to get to 60.

Weakness:

None so far, but I've only spent 45 minutes using it.

I have had my car for almost 6 years. I was getting bored, but with the economy how it is I didn't feel comfortable getting a new car. I figured I'd give this chip a try and see. WOW. It went from sluggish heavy beast to actually quick on several occasions. Don't let some of these weird-os mislead you into thinking this is more than it is though. You won't be keeping up with an M3s on this thing. Seriously its just 215hp.. you're still 118 shy of an M3 and I think the A4 is a bit heavier plus awd takes some away.

Bottom line - If you're bored with your car and looking for a bit of new excitement it definitely fits the bill. It makes it the old engine competitive with the new ones.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Loujo02   [Nov 14, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Audi A4 1.8T Quattro
Strength:

Excellent increase in accleration. The 1.8T actually feels like it is the proper motor for the car now. The ability to easily flip the car back to stock is a great feature with this product as well.

Weakness:

I have some concerns about what the extra boost will eventually do to my little four banger turbo but my research really only uncovered the need to change the MAF, O2 sensor, etc., more often. The diverter valve should also be replaced from what I understand to accommodate the extra boost, I will more than likely do this soon.

Just got the APR Stage 1 Direct Port yesterday and what a difference. I love my A4, the styling, comfort, ride, handling (esp in rain/snow with the Quattro) but the car always felt a bit heavy and slow during hard accleration. The APR chip most certainly solved this. No, the car doesn't feel like a 600hp rocket but for the first time ever I can actually feel it pull with the pedal down esp above 3k RPM in gears 2,3,4,5. I can best describe the feeling by saying that the car now feels light and fast instead of sluggish during accleration, a vast improvement. This chip took an underpwoered car and brought it right where it should be performancewise.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
redclaw01   [Oct 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: jetta gli
Strength:

best bang for the buck hp and tq increase out there

Weakness:

are you kidding?! its a weakness for everyone else you race against :)

this chip is amazing thats all i can say for lack of a better word, i had turboback and intake already and added the chip with the n75 race valve and OMG! IT GOT FAST!! A 2005 mustang cobra passed me yesterday so i downshifted to keep up and i did exactly that, i stayed right with him the whole way until we got off the gas at about 100mph. the driver of the mustang was very impressed. i recommend this upgrade (works well with n75 race valve from ecs) for every 1.8t owner. turns the car into a beast!!

Similar Products Used: n75 race valve--hks ssqv bov--custom hks hi-power 3"exhaust--fujita short ram intake--downpipe with one cat
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BJTGTR   [Jan 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: VW Jetta GLI
Strength:

More torque plus more horsepower equals more fun!!!!!! Valet mode is fun when you want to disapoint the parking attendent

Weakness:

Well I made the mistake of leaving it in 93 mode when my wife drove it which resulted in her getting a speeding ticket. Now she is hooked. Since then we have purchased a turbo back APR exhaust, Carbonio CAI, APR motorsport silicone turbo inlet pipe and a 007 diverter valve. I guess that really isn't a weakness other then my wife has a lead foot.

I had this chip installed on my wife's car w/o her knowlegde. When she has the car I leave it in stock mode using the EMCS features and she does not know any difference. When ever I drive I switch it over to the 93 octane chipped mode and let the fun begin. This is so worth the $499 price tag. I purchased my when it was on sale so it came with all 4 programs (stock, 93, 100, and valet) and there is hands down no other mode for the money that adds so much to this motor. This is how it should have come from the factory.

Similar Products Used: No Need!!!!! BUY THE APR CHIP!!!!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
the_journalist   [Aug 24, 2004]
Model Reviewed: APR Stage 1 1.8T Chip
Strength:

EMCS program switching, torque where the factory should have put it, dusting off sports cars with bigger engines and bigger price tags at stoplights

Weakness:

Have to hide it from the dealer to keep my warranty.

I purchased my '03 GTI 1.8T based on its superb build quality compared to other sporty compact cars in its class as well as its pocket rocket liniage. The 1.8T engine is well known as a "tuner's engine" and the promise of more power down the road was a big factor in my choice as well. After getting used to the car, I felt that it was lacking in some performance areas, mostly horsepower. So, I decided to turn to the aftermarket to wake up my hot rod shoebox. After driving my GTI with the APR chip, I'm more than amazed. The little 1.8T engine has gone from merely a scrappy performer to an all out powerhouse. EMCS makes the chip ultra versatile, giving the user a selection of performance and security features that are easily selectable using the cruise control switch, all without even turning off the engine. The GIAC chip offers program selection, but uses an easy to lose remote control and forces you to shut the engine down before switching. The APR chip has turned my GTI into the car that it is intended to be, a true wolf in sheep's clothing. I'm no longer intimidated by a VR6 badge at a redlight. Overall, the APR chip is an outstanding product with very impressive features for about the same money as the competition. Definitely an improvement over the stock setup.

Similar Products Used: GIAC - Comparable power and features, but not as well executed as the APR Neuspeed - Less power, no program selectability, say goodbye to your warranty.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Patrick Lilla   [Aug 05, 2003]
Model Reviewed: A4 1.8t
Strength:

Gobbs of torque, that's about it.

Weakness:

In time things will start to fail quicker than normal. First your MAF, then your O2 sensor. The chip produces more power yet it has to create more heat from your motor to do so. More heat=less reliability from your engine. Plan on using Mobil 1, a turbo timer, and replacing your sensors after about 15,000 miles of use.

A great mod to help your car perform like a true sports sedan should.

Similar Products Used: Split Second boost controller. I used one for about 6 months and it is no match for the APR chip. APR has much more usable power, is more refined with it's power delivery and delivers better HP and FT
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
goguma   [Apr 29, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 2003 A4 Avant
Strength:

Gobbs of torque, sweet whine of the intake sucking in the extra air (i got the apr air filter also), and there's no way others can tell that its modified!

Weakness:

Did take a dip in gas mileage, appx 2 mpg loss, but well worth keeping those other imports in the rear view mirror!

Never guessed how much one modification could bring so much satisfaction. I recommend the apr chip for all 1.8t owners. This is why sticking with the 1.8 vs. dumping an additional 5000 for the v6 is one of the greatest steals for a car of this caliber.

Similar Products Used: none, not necessary once you've tried this chip.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Teris   [Apr 14, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 99 Audi A4
Strength:

over 200hp! Fast, Solid, consistant POWER. Mash your gas pedal at 80 and you are up to 100 in no time!

Weakness:

5 days with a chip and I need new brakes. Be ready to upgrade your breaks, release valve and snub mounts. These acutal upgrades are a weaknedd but see above in the strengths why you need to do this.

GET THIS CHIP. I did my research on the APR chip and others like it. I felt that APR offered the most torque, for the best price and value. The chip is an excellent mod. and gives the car a very stable feel to it's driving. This is something that if Audi did this from the factory they would probably sell hudnreds more A4's. Fast in acceloration and thus far I have only noticed a minimal MPG reduction. Also note that chip really brings alive even my factory turbo and you can even hear the turbo spooling, which adds to the feeling of power that has been gained.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com