Venom 400 Control Module Engine Management

Venom 400 Control Module Engine Management 

DESCRIPTION

The Venom400 performance control module is an add on control unit that features it's own micro-controller. This module is connected to the throttle position sensor and the Manifold absolute pressure sensor, and by monitoring the sensors output characteristics and modifying the input signal to the vehicles existing ECU.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 62  
[Nov 13, 2011]
Rick
Model Reviewed: Honda Prelude 2.3 non v-tec

Strength:

Cheap and easy upgrade compared to taking the car to a performance shop to get dyno tuned. Works great with bolt-ons. Faster down shifts with automatic.

Weakness:

The Led light a bit cheap and broke.

This procuct is worth the money. I am very happy with it. For those of you with four bangers make sure you have bolt-ons to max out your power gains. For those who want extreme power, save up for bolt on turbo kit and the custom tune.

Similar Products Used:

I had a jet power module on a 96 grand am 5 speed 2.4l.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 07, 2011]
dentonerik
Model Reviewed: dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.2l

Strength:

easy to instal

Weakness:

F'd up my truck! all it does is act like your overdrive thats all. it maxs your rpm instantly when you mash on the pedal. if your vehical is in no need for what it does it will screw it up. i have to take it down to the shop too see what the hell is goin on with it but i have lost about half my power, thanks to autoanything who swore up and down its the best product its harmless it will give me 20hp instantly no problem, yea more like loose hp!

it was easy to instal sure, but apprently it was not ment for every vehical. the unit screwed up my truck now i have to put atleast 500 back into it. none the less if i return the product i lose 15% back, if it is not all there and in perfect shape like i got it, i lose more or they wont take it! do not buy this product it sucks, it is not worth the gamble. i recomend doind upgrades that are not goin to be hooked up to computer components!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 05, 2010]
Joey
Model Reviewed: Mustang GT

Strength:

don't let negative reviews fool you. this product is like any other piggyback "chip" you will find. they do work, maybe not aswell as a programmer, but you get what you pay for. there is proof if you look hard enough of this unit being used on a dyno and gained 15ish RWPH on a Iroc camaro i believe. ive used this product for over a year now and am very pleased with it. once you use it u'll find it's clear that it works. for those saying they didn't notice a difference, well maybe ur 4banger needs a headjob to get things flowing right. it seems that the majority of positive reviews are coming from v8/v6 owners. the bad ones are coming from 4cyl guys. im sorry N/A 4cyl usually do not make much power without some serious work.

Weakness:

not a programmer. semi bulky.

verdict= for the price you can't really go wrong, please do not pay attention to the bad reviews. who obviously have no idea how/what a product does. the majority of bad reviews started on this product were all based on one persons theory that grew and grew and ended up really hurting the sales of this great product. probably the same flamer who started the back pressure theory on a 4 stroke motor, absolute morons

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 12, 2009]
da2rugamer
Model Reviewed: Supra

Strength:

If your airfuel ratio is lean in theory it should level it out causing hp gains.

Weakness:

If your airfuel ratio is rich or at a good operating level then it could make your car run rich or richer. As result you may experiance performance losses

I have not bought this product but for those of you who don't no exactly what it dose i will explain. It takes the output signal from the map sensor and uses it to control a transistor. This allows the current entering the venom module to be limited to a level that corosponds to the airflow rate. Then the signal is sent from the module to the tps sensors return to be sent to the ecu. This signal then tells the ecu to add more fuel obviously. So it actually dose have a good theory behind it in that it will increase hp if the airfuel ratio was lean before. But if the airfuel ratio was not lean before then it will cause your car to run rich. To truly monitor this module install an airfuel gauge.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 28, 2009]
EDGAR
Model Reviewed: VENOM 400

Strength:

1996 PONTIAC FIREBIRD V6 3.8L (200 HP)PLUS THE HORSE POWER OF THE UPGRADES MENTIONED BEFORE. PLUS ECU2000 JET CHIP SPEED LIMITER REMOVAL. VERSUS A 2007 CHRYSLER 300 (300HP). RESULTS? = CHRYSLER LEFT BEHIND ON THE HIGHWAY.:)

Weakness:

ACTIVATES AFTER HIGH RPMS. 3000 AND UP :( IT WOULD BE BETTER IF ACTIVE AT THE START POINT.

IF YOU DONT HAVE IN YOUR CAR: HEADERS, AIR INTAKE, 160 GRADES THERMOSTAT, IRIDIUM SPARK PLUGS, PERFORMANCE COILS, MSD IGNITION , ATS SENSOR COLD PLACE RELOCATION HARNES AS MINIMUM. FORGET IT MY FRIEND , YOU WONT GET NOT EVEN A 10% OF THE 25% HORSE POWER POWER THAT THIS PRODUCT OFFERS.

Similar Products Used:

THE MENTIONED BEFORE TO MAKE IT WORK AT ITS PEAK LEVEL.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 06, 2009]
Rostang50
Model Reviewed: Ford Mustang GT

Strength:

Did seem to give a increase in Hp

Weakness:

Caused car to shift to a lower gear while driving down the road at a steady speed.

Fairly easy to install

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 19, 2007]
Steven

Strength:

Sooo easy. And it works good. A great way to get some fast hp without a lot of work. V6 and V8 only. V4s are already maxed out these days, it seems.

Weakness:

Get a fuel computer if you are serious and want control of the settings. It is a ton more hassle though. The venom will definetly not be as effective.

Sets TPS to 75% at about 35% and increases progressively from there according to my laptop. Adds an offset voltage to your TPS so even though your actual throttle is at 35% your car is believing harder acceleration (your true throttle is not effected air in remains the same/ fuel amount increases). This is not a bad way to gain some lost hp due to the terrible ecofriendly factory settings.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 20, 2007]
Rich Palais
Model Reviewed: Acura RSX-Type-S

Strength:

Noticeable HP and TQ increase; does exactly what Venom says it should do! I do not believe that this unit only fools car's ECM into giving full-throttle response. Fells like it does more!

Weakness:

Slight loss of fuel economy; well-worth it!

AWESOME product that DEFINITELY makes a HUGE difference from off idle to full throttle. I also installed a Next Level Performance Tri-Phase IAT module. With both of these units working together (Tri-phase hooks up across the sensor lead of the IAT which still functions and remains installed) and the Venom 400 interfaces with MAF and TPS, the combination of the 2 units is unbeatable! Only a Supercharger and/or a turbo will beat these! Feels like additional; 25+ HP or more. TQ is also increased all over! DID lose 2-3 mpg, but WHO CARES? The power and the fun-factor is well worth the cost and mileage loss for sure!! I am STILL going to add my Jackson Racing Street Supercharger System shortly!

Similar Products Used:

Tri-Phase IAT module. Other electronic tweaks. They ALL do work well together. WILL be adding a Supercharger as well!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 04, 2007]
CarbonWilk
Model Reviewed: Malibu

Strength:

Bang for buck, power in automatic vehicles.

Weakness:

Maybe 2-3 miles lost per gallon.

As far as budget is concerned, it is worth the bang for the buck to me. You could also dump 4 grand into a car for a supercharger that you may lose in a wreck tomorrow....atleast you have a chance in removing a chip to sale on eBay. Anywho, I gained alot of power from this chip in my V6.

Similar Products Used:

WeaponR intake, Flowmaster exhaust, I used to have a jet chip....doesn't compare to the Venom 400.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 31, 2007]
superman
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi 3000gt VR4

Strength:

Thanks to the skilled professional I had install the module, it is at least a visually acceptable addition (although non-functional) to my engine bay.

Weakness:

No noticeable hp, tq, or acceleration gains.

I bought the module based on the expectation that my VR4 would gain up to 25%hp. I had the Venom 400 professionally installed, and with much anticipation and excitement I took it for a test. Perhaps I gained 1 or 2hp, but definitely not enough to notice any difference. The performance expectations they created are extremely misleading, and I do not recommend this module to anyone.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 62  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com