Jacobs Pro-Street Ultra Team Ignition Ignitions

Jacobs Pro-Street Ultra Team Ignition Ignitions 

DESCRIPTION

The Pro-Street Ultra Team custom-tunes each spark in each cylinder, to guarantee 100% fuel burn.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 27  
[Mar 03, 2016]
james j. prueher
Model Reviewed: 1965 f100 with 410fe merc motor

Strength:

Matched color theme under hood. No engine knock even with high compression, crappy fuel & total advance of 36 degrees. Highly detailed 1965 390 autolite 4v, modified 1965 galaxie stock air cleaner with paper filter(added another snorkle for duel!) aggressive hydraulic isky cam, indexed spark plugs (.050" gap), Dialed in STOCK DISTRIBUTOR WITH POINTS FOR SIGNAL, headers, edlebrock performer, 2 1/2" mandarel bend duel exhaust with magnaflows, 423 hp @ 5250rpm, 474 ft. lbs. torq. @ 2877rpm! 428 flywheel, original 3-speed on the tree, stock clutch (be gentle) 3.50:1 rear (too low). Truck weight with 18 gallons fuel & extra cloths, spare tire, tools, jack, etc. is 4250lbs. with me included. Once got 17mpg, that includes standing on it once. Was a long week... This set-up works great on the road & in town. Has very smooth, sweet throttle response. Installed a 1 3/8" swaybar in front, stock springs otherwise. Stock freshened front end geometry, refurbished stock rear suspension stock. Comfy ride & holds the road well on curvy roads!

Weakness:

Have not found any. followed the installation instructions & added a few tricks of my own.

I would use jacobs ignition systems on other modified vehicles used for any variety of road service, long distance or short distance travel. Using jacobs systems I have found benefits over a wide range of road conditions. from high speed driving to more technical mountain driving. Good fuel mileage mixed with horsepower in an older vehicle is great. I suppose it would be interesting to see what the tailpipe readings are on a smog machine.

Similar Products Used:

mallory unilite distributors, excel & mallory coils,(too many to list)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 09, 2013]
curt hancey
Model Reviewed: Chevy S-10

Strength:

None. I could not tell of any improvement and mileage actually dropped. I did some research and found out that many times, a hotter spark can actually quench the igntion burn due to an anomaly in the way igniton occurs. In other words, a hotter spark doesn't necessarily mean more hp.

Weakness:

Unit failed after just over a year (Pro Street unit) Had to install old coil wire. For the kind of money paid for this unit, it should have lasted the life of the car. For the money spent, and the ads that accompany this unit, I feel I should have gotten something for my money. It appears I lost hp. There was no gain in gas mileage. The bottom line is I feel like I spent a lot of money based on hype that I fell for. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone. Save your money or apply it towards a Hypertech chip programmer. That is where I got my largest gains.

Sucks...

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 04, 2011]
ricciardelli
Model Reviewed: Ford Eddie Bauer Bronco

Strength:

Installed in a 1995 Eddie Bauer Bronco with 351 in September 1994. Has NEVER failed or caused problems.

Weakness:

None

CYLINDER EFFICIENCY REPORT

STOCK FORD IGNITION

INITIAL ENGINE SPEED: 752

CYLINDER 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 AVERAGE
RPM DROP 41 34 38 37 38 38 40 33 37


ENHANCED IGNITION SYSTEM

INITIAL ENGINE SPEED: 801

CYLINDER 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 AVERAGE
RPM DROP 5 3 3 3 5 5 3 6 4

This indicates that when the spark is shorted on the standard Ford
ignition system the engine looses 37 rpm for each shorted spark. With
the Jacobs System the engine looses only 4 rpm with each short.

This should result in more power and more miles per gallon.
__________________________________________

FUEL SYSTEM REPORT

STOCK FORD IGNITION

EMISSION HIGH SPEED RESULT LOW SPEED RESULT LIMITS
CO 0.00 OK 0.00 OK 1.20 %
HC 8. OK 9. OK 220 PPM
CO2 10.3 OK 14.6 OK 10. MIN
O2 5.04 HIGH 0.41 OK 5. MAX
RPM 2537. OK 752. OK 2700/1200 MAX


ENHANCED IGNITION SYSTEM

EMISSION HIGH SPEED RESULT LOW SPEED RESULT LIMITS
CO 0.00 OK 0.00 OK 1.20 %
HC 0.00 OK 0.00 OK 220 PPM
CO2 10.49 OK 14.53 OK 10. MIN
O2 4.91 HIGH 0.41 OK 5. MAX
RPM 2678. OK 801. OK 2700/1200 MAX

My impression of the above indicates that the engine is running cleaner,
and that with the same throttle settings I am getting 49 more RPM at
idle from the same amount of fuel, and at partial throttle I am getting
141 more RPM for the same amount of fuel.

This should result in more power and more miles per gallon.
__________________________________________


DIGITAL SECONDARY KV REPORT

STOCK FORD IGNITION

CYLINDER BURN TIME BURN KV AVG KV DELTA KV SNAP KV GAP KV
1 1.8 1.4 10 5 16 6
2 1.8 1.3 11 3 19 6
3 1.9 1.3 11 4 15 5
4 1.7 1.5 12 1 18 6
5 1.8 1.4 14 3 16 6
6 1.7 1.5 12 3 20 6
7 1.7 1.6 15 7 21 9
8 1.7 1.8 16 7 25 7
AVERAGE 1.8 1.5 13 4 19 6

NOTE: The high SNAP KV on 8, the high GAP KV on 7 indicate faulty spark
plug wires. This engine is new and has only 1,500 miles on it.


ENHANCED IGNITION SYSTEM

CYLINDER BURN TIME BURN KV AVG KV DELTA KV SNAP KV GAP KV
1 1.2 0.7 9 3 14 6
2 1.3 0.8 7 3 14 6
3 1.1 0.9 7 2 13 5
4 1.0 1.1 8 4 21 8
5 1.2 1.3 11 4 17 6
6 1.0 1.1 9 3 19 4
7 1.8 0.8 9 4 12 5
8 1.3 1.0 9 3 17 6
AVERAGE 1.2 1.0 9 3 16 6


My understanding is that the above indicates that the fuel is burning
quicker at a lower voltage.

This should result in more power and longer plug life.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 31, 2006]
JLR
Model Reviewed: Jacobs wires / coil

Strength:

it does work...

Weakness:

I thought the kit was overpriced at 300.00
its bulky and does not look stock...

DEFINITELY WORKED...

I had been curious about jacobs electronics after reading Dr. jacobs book.
I have a 70 Dodge Coronet with a 318 engine which used to run points. I installed the chrysler conversion kit... (which was piss poor from chrysler by the way I had to replace the pickup unit and reluctor with aftermarket pieces to get it to work). Once that was up and running,I bought the jacobs wires and the jacobs coil for $100 (the stock looking coil one not the ultra coil) I opened up my spark plug gap to .045 (from 035)and I must say it was a noticeable improvement. Very fast starts, smoother idle, slightly better acceleration and mpg. so for $100 I was happy... I then bought the mileage master computer ignition system for $300.
from Summit. I had to really think before installing it... because of the size/logistics of the engine bay and the connections etc... However, this was fairly easy to work out. The system basically dropped in and has worked better than I expected it to (so far).
I have only put about 2-3 hundred miles on it but the gas mileage has gone up from about 15-16 to 19-20.... I wasnt really looking for improved performance (you know 100 HP) but better economy and better starts-- I definitely got it...

Similar Products Used:

Stock points & chrysler Electronic conversion kit

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 27, 2006]
hemidurango
Model Reviewed: Corvette

Strength:

Great performance

Weakness:

pain to install, bulky

The first unit failed out of the box, sent it back and got a replacement. Amazing difference in the car, more power. About a year later the unit died while I was driving,out of warranty of course, towed to a Chevy dealership, put back on a distributor cap and coil wire, as original bypassing the system and the car ran fine. How do solid state units like this crap out, beats me. Had another unit on an 85 Vette, no problems with that one. Also bought a unit for a 93 Explorer I had, sent the first one back and no problems with the second one. so, now i have one for an early Exlorer and one for an 85-91 Vette if anyone is interested.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 30, 2006]
jcweide
Model Reviewed: Ultra Team Ignition System

Strength:

More torque,
Better idle
3.5 more miles per gallon

Weakness:

Does not look "stock"

I have a 1972 Pontiac Lemans Sport Convertible with the Endura/GTO bumper option. The car is equiped with a 350 ci. pontiac engine, 8 to 1 compression, and a 4 barrel carb. The rear end is about a 3.30. My Lemans got horrible gas miles (15 mpg) while cruising at 55-60 miles per hour. I had many cars (68 Cutlass Convertible) get better mileage (around 18 mpg). I bought the Ultra Team ignition system, put it on my car it the difference in idle quality, bottom end torque, and mpg was STUNNING. The car drove better in stop and go traffic, and I improve my average miles per gallon from 15.3 mpg to over 18 mpg.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 07, 2006]
eti engineer
Model Reviewed: Chevy S-10

Strength:

None

Weakness:

product failed in my driveway yesterday while backing truck out. bypassed unit with old coil wire and truck started right up. Did a 0-60 time later and could not tell a difference between this and the stock ignition. for this much money i would expect a unit to last the life of the car, but this one wouldn't outlast the stock ignition. truck is equipped with k&n filtercharger, gibson performance exhaust and has been hypertech'ed. granatelli MAF sensor installed, too. I have achieved noticeable performance gains with everything but the pro street igntion system. could tell no difference in performance and mileage and now it has quit on me. Will Jacobs do anything for me?? hope their service is better than their product...

Product does not live up to the hype.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 07, 2006]
curt h.
Model Reviewed: Chevy S-10

Strength:

None

Weakness:

product failed in my driveway yesterday while backing truck out. bypassed unit with old coil wire and truck started right up. Did a 0-60 time later and could not tell a difference between this and the stock ignition. for this much money i would expect a unit to last the life of the car, but this one wouldn't outlast the stock ignition. truck is equipped with k&n filtercharger, gibson performance exhaust and has been hypertech'ed. granatelli MAF sensor installed, too. I have achieved noticeable performance gains with everything but the pro street igntion system. could tell no difference in performance and mileage and now it has quit on me. Will Jacobs do anything for me?? hope their service is better than their product...

Product does not live up to the hype.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 21, 2006]
Luke
Model Reviewed: Jacobs Pro Street Ignition Kit

Strength:

More MPG
Easy starts
Better throttle response

Weakness:

Difficult install

I installed a jacobs ignition on my 72 Dodge Challenger. I immediately noticed easier & fast starts, 4 mpg more, no miss fires, no more fouled plugs, and to top it off better low end responce. I had a heavily modified small block (340 dyno'ed at 461.3 HP) in the car and its lived happily ever since.
So I bought the Off-Road kit for my pick-up and got the same effect. I am miffed at the amount of negative reviews for the product. Its been nothing but a great system for me. Of course it would make sense if they were miswired, Badly grounded, or shorting. It wasn't the easiest install even with my automotive experience.

Similar Products Used:

MSD(Blah)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 04, 2003]
DeputyDog35
Model Reviewed: Acura Integra

Strength:

NONE!!! Maybe a good thing is it comes with a Rev-limiter, and Kill switch. That's it!

Weakness:

EVERYTHING Well over priced!!!!!

This product sounded great at the time but for the price you should notice a difference. I DID NOT! I was running 150 shot NOs with all kinds of motor work about $10,000 to be exact. All that and there was no difference!!! I would never buy one again!

Similar Products Used:

MSD way BETTER!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com