Iceman Intakes Intakes/Filters

Intakes

The Iceman Cool Air System. From the time it was first introduced, the Iceman Cool Air System has generated a lot of interest both here and abroad, and much discussion relative to its merits. The Iceman Cool Air System delivers up to 66% more horsepower than our closest competitor. It brings you closer to 100% efficiency because it provides the coolest intake air and highest mass flow of any system on the market. It provides cooler air to your engine because it maintains the intake air almost at ambient temperatures throughout the system due to the material used. Crosslink polyethylene has the lowest thermal conductivity rating of any single-layered moldable material available on the market today.

User Reviews (37)

Showing 1-10 of 37  
hawkampd   [Jan 11, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mitsu Eclipse RS
Strength:

After adding the cold air intake i was able to easily take on a 96 camaro rs and destroy it in a street drag. Well worth the 115 i spent on it.

Weakness:

If you got a lead foot and want to improve gas mpg this won't help much. If you can keep your foot out of it you can easily gain 1-2 mpg.

Great bang for the buck. Increased horsepower and torque as well as mpg.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Williams   [May 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Plymouth Neon Sport Coupe
Strength:

Sounds more aggressive, performance a good 15% better than the stock airbox

Weakness:

Got Cruise Control? Then tack on 2 extra hours for installation. There is no good place to relocate the cruise module. The instructions did not address this.

Big difference in mid to upper range rpms. I belive there was a 5-10 hp gain.

Similar Products Used: Howell Automotive rocks. Tired of the fogged over, yellow b.s. stock headlights? Try howell "krystal Kleers" for appearance and practicality.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
matthew   [Nov 08, 2003]
Model Reviewed: civic
Strength:

light ... plastic dosnt heat up as much

Weakness:

damn filter cost 58 buxks to replace

good product very light and feels stronger than the metal ones.. i only use the short ram now because i got tirred of switching it... still good thow still kinda low to the ground with short air

Similar Products Used: aem
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
NeonRTNY   [Oct 16, 2003]
Model Reviewed: IceMan Cold Air 99 Neon R/T
Strength:

Instant speed gains. Less plastic stock crap under hood. Your engine can be better dressed up now mainly cuase you can see it!

Weakness:

Very low to ground (in order to get cold air). Have to shut engine off and coast through very large and deep puddles.

This was the best upgrade to my Neon R/T. It was very noticeable acceleration gains from the get go. The engine tone along with an exhaust change makes the car sound great. No whinny blender noise. Just a deep throaty sound, like an import V8. Car is definitely quicker. Highly recommened and worth the time and money. Don't buy cheap E-Bay knock-offs.

Similar Products Used: K&N stock replacement
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott   [Jul 07, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 96 Honda EX
Strength:

-Two MODES PLASTIC!!! (you will mess up and puncture thin aluminum...well I would) It's WAY cooler in temperature. Quality Engineering...it's tight as hell, tighter than factory design. Torque...you now will have some. HP...at higher revs.... GREAT SOUND!!! Competition Mode is quiter as well as cooler (dont know how it sounds from the out side though....) CLEAR EASY INSTRUCTIONS!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS EASY!!!!! INSTRUCTIONS EASY!!!!!!! (For Honda Anyway) CARB EXEMPT AND COMES WITH THE STICKER TO PROVE YOUR LEGAL!!! For what it is....it's CHEAP!!!!! Stop whining about it's benificial About Plastix design!!~~~ -

Weakness:

Needs replacement Rubber mountings for air vent, and heat sensor. They are a little fragile. I broke mine I think, or it was ripped a bit to begin with.

First Let me say, that Knight Engineering itself made purchasing an Iceman intake MUCH easier than any retailer on the I-net. Tried to buy one for months and finally wound up buying one straight from Andrew at Knight Engineering. I've read a lot of CRAP written about this company, and let ME say that they gave me well above avarage service, and I would buy other products from them were they to be developed for my car. I tried the WETLANDS set up first, which draws in hoter air from the engine bay, but is better protected from the elements. It was great, acceleration was improved, sound was great,////switched to DRYLAND mode and have less noise, and maybe more power...hard to say. ;) The WETLANDS mode can be installed without removal of the bumper or resonator box and tubing (Civic-integra 96-98), Removing the bumber was really no big deal to experience the DRYLANDSMODE, and yank that heavy assed stock resonator out of the car.

Similar Products Used: K&N, Stock.... This Rules. Makes a nice sleeper, the tone is very controlable.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris McCormick   [May 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 1999 Grand Am
Strength:

Great sounding through out the power band and gives a great intimidation sound to cars without the cool sound of Ice Man under their hoods.

Weakness:

none.

I have a 99 grand am 2.4L and it has some power. With the addition of the Iceman Intake my sound and power has gone up. If you have some extra money just toss it into a new intake. In addition to the intake i have added a preditor X muffler and an rk sport crank pulley. With these few mods i can keep up with my friends 6 cylinder Grand am.

Similar Products Used: AEM short ram intake on old civic good as well wanted to try something new on my grand am
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
skthayer   [Apr 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 93 civic ex
Strength:

-looks heavy duty, but really performs -don't have to worry about dents or scratches. -cold air=more HP -made driving fun. -color options. -can be converted from competition to street(I have only run it in comp config and have had no problems with water induction even during heavy rains and standing water.) -works great without an exhaust mod.

Weakness:

This thing makes me want to buy more parts for my car.

The ICEMAN makes the most sense of all the intakes sold. It really does stay cooler than aluminum intakes. (I tried it against a friends aluminum intake.) He was so impressed with it that he wanted to get one to replace his Weapon R, but didn't have the $200 to spare. Instead, we made a nice cold air extension out of PVC that really works. I love the hissing sound it makes at idle. V-TEC with a stock box is almost useless, but now with the ICEMAN my engine screams when I step on it. The deep growl it makes is sweet music when I drive. I have to be careful because my car doesn't want to slow down when I get on the freeway anymore. Installation wasn't too hard. The only part I had trouble with was yanking out the stock resonator box, after that it was all cake. I would recommend this product to anybody. The best $200 I dumped into a car yet. The durable plastic design let me know that isn't going to get dented up if it unfortunately gets hit by a wrench or oxidize like every other aluminum part under my hood. The price is reasonable, especially when considering the way the other guys simply bend tubes at different points to produce different intakes. Each iceman intake uses a unique mold for each car design. Molds cost $$$. They currently don't have intakes available for a lot of models, hopefully that will change soon.

Similar Products Used: stock
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
NEc   [Jan 05, 2003]
Strength:

It makes the car sound a little louder. You can feel the increase in acceleration. The material made of feels very durable. The Iceman intake doesnt heat up as much as the metal /aluminum parts within the engine bay.

Weakness:

The only weakness is that you can switch from short ram to cold air, but it's not like you can do it in 5 minutes. Its not something u do very time its going to rain. Its more like something to do from season to season, if you would like.

Well after researching for months and months I decided that the Iceman intake is better than the Aem;1-Its made of plastic instead of aluminum [self explanatory].2- you can switch from short ram to cold air. 3. it has a decreasing diameter size from the filter to the throttle body increasing the speed of the air.

Similar Products Used: N O N E, the Aem and injen is close but no cigar!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Larry   [Nov 17, 2002]
Model Reviewed: VW Jetta 1.8L Torbo
Strength:

noticable performance increase. excellent customer service.

Weakness:

Poor instalation instructions.

Vary Nice product, Improved throttle response and feels like it increased HP through out the power band. Installation instructions where hard to understand! but it was easy to install anyway. Nice sound and not to loud. I would recommend this product to anyone.

Similar Products Used: Stock
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
alldone   [Nov 16, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 1996
Strength:

Horse Power & torque. No wonder most of the TOP 10, ten-second ALL MOTOR honda Civics use the Air Force and/or competition kit. The product is durable and can withstand, removing and installing, when working on my engine. NOS fittings are stabble and have never pulled out or stripped, unlike thin wall systems, i have tried. The material is strong and is made of the same material as dirt bike motorcycle tanks. The air temps stays cooler with min bottle necking, if you know anything about heat transfer and heat surface conductors, you will know that alumimum conducts more heat than most material, that is why it cools down quicker and used for heat sink conductors. Made in the USA.

Weakness:

ALL GO and NO SHOW. They sell to my competition!!!

This product was an engineered product that went in flawless and performed as they claim. Excellent throttle response and very good torque. I have the AIR FORCE RAM AIR SYSTEM, it works awsome for competition.

Similar Products Used: AEM
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com