KYB GR-2 Gas Shocks Shocks

KYB GR-2 Gas Shocks Shocks 

DESCRIPTION

KYB GR-2 gas shock absorbers feature lower pressure for riding comfort, along with the improved handling and response only gas shocks can provide.. even for smaller cars! KYB GR-2 gas shock absorbers are the economical way to step up from hydraulic shocks to the quality ride and control of gas... and they're available for compact, mid-sized and full sized cars, as well as vans and mini-trucks

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 49  
[Jul 11, 2013]
Sweet
Model Reviewed: Eclipse rs

Strength:

Seems better than stock struts

Weakness:

Somewhat good for lowering

I have an eclipse rs and when I bought it was already lowered but suspension in front was bad. I did not know much about suspension for performance so I bought eibach pro kit springs (1.2 drop) with two front kyb excel g (gr2) shocks. I was thrilled with how well the car was riding at speeds about 55 mph on side streets but when riding over deep crowns or dips in a road or doing about 70 on the freeway and hitting dips, the shocks give pretty easy. These are mainly meant for stock ride height. They have not went bad yet but when I get a gst, im def going with tokico illumina or koni shocks

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 04, 2012]
Wayne Watt
Model Reviewed: Honda OdYssey

Strength:

Look like a decent product.

Weakness:

Front shocks way too soft. Lousy warranty.

Installed new excel g on front and rear. After install tried the Bounce test and was very suprised to see how easy it was to move the front end of the van with little effort. Performed road test on sleeping police felt like used and not new shocks up front. The rears felt OK. I called KYB and they state these shock are 10% stiffer than OEM. NOT EVEN CLOSE. I purchase the honda Odyessy due to its sportier feel compared to Chrysler town and county, Toyota sienna. These shocks due not feel as stiff as OEM and I do not recommend them if you want to restore performance. Now I believe Monroe or Gabieral might have been a better choice. They are probably just as soft but they at least have life time warranty. KYB does not.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Oct 25, 2010]
roberto
Model Reviewed: Gr2

Strength:

Firm ride. Excellent fit. Heavier build than what was stock.

Weakness:

None yet.

I put these on my 2007 Maxima SE. The car had 75000 miles on it and the old ones were toast. These shocks brought back the crisp handling and excellent ride the car had when new. Im pretty sure they are a bit firmer than the stock Nissan shocks but not at all harsh. Im SO glad I bought these over the Monroe gasmatics. I have learned those Monroe shocks are real squishy. Buy these, you wont be disappointed.

Similar Products Used:

Stock Nissan

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 09, 2010]
cduchar
Model Reviewed: Toyota Echo

Strength:

Cheap, good fitting

Weakness:

To soft! It was softier than OE.

I would not recommand it to somebody who's seeking for an upgrade.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 25, 2009]
Jerry Lingefelt
Model Reviewed: Nissan Sentra SE-R Spec-V

Strength:

Cheap

Weakness:

Doesn't come with dust covers.
Not durable nor stiff.

I put them on and 9 months and 8k miles later 3 shocks are completly blown and the fourth is almost there. I am very disapointed in these and would not recommend them.

Similar Products Used:

Tein, k-sports

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 07, 2009]
portishead_22
Model Reviewed: Nissan 350z Touring Coupe

Strength:

A very good set of shocks/struts at a great price, stiffer and better made than oem. Smooth ride without harsh jolting.

Weakness:

Not a race ride, not stiff enough for extreme handling.

These shocks are definitely a little bit better than oem, although I am told by guys at all the shops that they are made far better than oem. If you want a stiffer ride, definitely go with tokico, or another adjustable performance shock. For a daily driver, these work well though, basically a step above oem shocks/struts, but with a smooth feel to them. I wanted the harsh performance of racing struts/shocks and wanted to get tokico, but I remember how that ride is, and I want a comfortable ride, not one that is excellent performance but no comfort. I would recommend these for people who want a little better ride quality than oem, but much higher quality of product. I see lots of reviews for older trucks and cars, but on a 2004 350z these work well.

Similar Products Used:

oem 350z shocks/struts

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 01, 2009]
John
Model Reviewed: Ford Probe

Strength:

Cool looken sticker with "GR-2" on each strut

Weakness:

no rally roaden recomended, only smooth easy low speed roads, like Grand Ma used to drive

I installed 4 GR-2 Struts. After approx 1 year and less then 4000 miles( to be fare, I drive over pot holes and some ruff roads) I now have 4 blown struts( oil seals). If you are looking for something heavy duty, look at anther product product.

Similar Products Used:

Gabrial, Monroe

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 13, 2009]
UTIgrad
Model Reviewed: Nissan Sentra SER SpecV

Strength:

Cheap, affordable, and straight stock replacements.

Weakness:

Not an upgrade from oem. Unless lowering car.

It's not bad for stock replacements.. Especially if you lower your car. Oem's have a hard time adjusting to shorter travel whereas these GR-2's are made for it. Cheap and affordable. Not made for racing by a long shot. Bouncy and sometimes a bit unpredictable. I thought I'd try them out on an AutoX race. Bad decision. Part of the course was a bit rough and found myself straying close to the cones.

Similar Products Used:

Koni Yellows. Tokico Blues.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 26, 2009]
JAe
Model Reviewed: acura integra

Strength:

rides like stock with performance depending on how much your car is dropped.

Weakness:

dies out after a 1.5 inch drop.

Had these on my 99 integra gsr and Then i combined the struts with a set of skunk2 lowering springs and right after i finished putting the springs on. Completely different ride. Ride Quality was BAD and shocks died out right away. So just to let Tuners who like their car slamed! Dont buy these struts if you plan on going any lower than 1.5 inches. my drop is 2.5 and the struts arent made to handle that!

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 25, 2008]
joeyazsun
Model Reviewed: 240SX

Strength:

Great price and great reviews.

Weakness:

Unknown at this point

Just bought these KYB's and read the posts. Obviously, with the warranty specifying 1.5" or less drop is a condition, why would anyone expect stellar performance otherwise. After I install them, I will post again. For now, I like what I read.

Similar Products Used:

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 49  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com