H & R Sport Springs Springs

H & R Sport Springs Springs 

DESCRIPTION

Each spring is tuned for that elusive combination of shifter-kart handling and a controlled, yet comfortable ride (about 25-30% stiffer than stock).

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 51  
[Apr 20, 2018]
wurpy


Strength:

Rubbish. Yvonne mazenbach is awful companyrepresentative. Stay away from this company they will send you wrong parts as their incompetent as a company BE WARNED! Do not buy from this garbage

Weakness:

All round weakness

Price Paid:
450
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2012
OVERALL
RATING
1
[Feb 18, 2013]
Dan Lantz
Model Reviewed: Ford Thunderbird

Purchased HR lowering springs. Rear dropped one inch or close as advertised. Front DID NOT drop any. Contacted HR techs by phone, then email twice. Sent pictures. Never heard back. Would not recommend HR springs mostly because I could not receive any help. I'll take them off and be out about $800.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 31, 2009]
Aric Larson
Model Reviewed: Subaru STi

Strength:

Car looks good, with better than factory ride.

Weakness:

A little too soft for sporty driving .

Quality product with a very clean appearance. Rides better than stock. Slightly better handling than stock.

Similar Products Used:

Eibach sportline springs and Nex coilovers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 21, 2008]
treme
Model Reviewed: H&R Sport Springs

Strength:

Lowered car.
Smooth ride, almost too smooth, has way to much movement.

Weakness:

Beware!
Lowered car too much!
They were advertised to lower my accord 1.75"-1.5" and went much lower. Before I put them on I had a gap between my wheel & fender of about 3", now I have a gap of .5"-.25". This means that the car was lowered much more than advertised. I scrape on everything; to the point that when I go over a bump on the freeway I scrape on the ground. I can't drive my car with more than 3 people b/c I can't turn my wheels as they rub on the fenders. I have even called the company and am getting the run around. First they want before/after pics, once I sent them the pics they asked for before/after measurements (which I did not have) then they said since I had aftermarket struts/wheels/tires (16's but have the same oe diamater) they blamed the issues on those products, now they want me to measure my car from bottom of spring perch to bottom of shock mount and then do the same on a stock 94 honda accord, 4dr ex that has stock springs/struts wheels & tires. I am currently looking for a new product to replace these! Beware!

I purchased these springs along with some GR2 struts and have been overall unpleased. At first glance they look really good, out of the box, but once I put them on it all started going down hill.

Similar Products Used:

n/a

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 15, 2006]
zoomie888
Model Reviewed: Toyota Rav4 4WD

Strength:

Product performs as it claims at a price more competitive than other brands.

Weakness:

None

I assume the difference with these springs installed would be more apparent on a car with stock suspension. Given that my ride already had Koni yellows, the difference wasn't as clear. I've driven the same car with Eibach's installed and the H&R's were more comfortable in terms of bounce. That also means they are less stiff and therefore cornering isn't as effective. The product however is superior for its purpose of a stiffer ride compromised with comfort. Lowering your car? It lowers a bit, but not that much. My Rav4 had a height stock height so I assumed with the H&R's the difference in height would be more obvious. It isn't as obvious which is a good thing. I didn't want the slammed look. The springs do sag a bit after initial use. I can sense that it wasn't as stiff as before. This can be a good thing or bad thing depending on what you're looking for. I'm glad H&R chose to paint this set black. It's much more subtle to onlookers.

Similar Products Used:

Stock Springs Eibach

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 13, 2005]
SovXietday
Model Reviewed: Honda Civic EX

Strength:

-Great responsiveness -Great stability -Car looks great, and I can still lower it more -Installation was easy, barring I had the correct equipment to do it. -Alignment was barely off, making them just about bolt on. (Quick fix, longer bolts and a few washers for the camber and you're golden). -Relatively cheap, and just as good as coilovers! -Car glides around hard corners with ease, even in bad weather. -Ride is enhanced, less bouncing on loping roads. (The roads that have constant dips and rises)

Weakness:

-You know what a pothole felt like in the early 1920s. :P -Really short bumps are a bit harsh. -Gotta watch the front bumper a bit more, I've found that it's not as bad as I first expected though.

Wonderful, I couldn't be happier. The drop is almost perfect, and H&R gives you options in the instructions to further lower the vehicle if ~1.75-2" isn't enough for you. Really smooths out the ride, especially over those quick dips that stock springs leave you bouncing on. The night that I put them on I went to my highschool during a steady rain just to have some fun. Did some tight radius turns around the big light poles (as in, a full turn of the wheel tight) at 60 mph. I was expecting the car to just slide a great deal, esp in the rain. Nothing, the car stayed completely stable with very little cage roll. My friend couldn't believe it, he literally had to get out of the car and watch me because he couldn't believe how well it handle the wet conditions. The springs are so stable, I feel so much safer driving with them, and paired with my Yokohama ES100s the car REALLY sticks to the road. I had my dad help me install them (honda mechanic) so the installation was no problem with all of the tools. My alignment is only off on the rear tires, and even that is slight. Overall I was left stunned by the responsiveness and stability of the car. Rides a little bumpy, but it's either soft springs and horrible handling or a bumpy ride with impecible handling, I'll take the latter thank you very much.

Similar Products Used:

Stock Ridden in car with Eibach (really harsh and not as low)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 12, 2004]
thea5rida
Model Reviewed: civic ex

Strength:

drop, handling

Weakness:

install was a biatch but its all worth it in the end

great springs, perfect amount of drop and greatly improved handling.

Similar Products Used:

stock

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 18, 2004]
bryandamatrix
Model Reviewed: Honda/Accord

Strength:

1.)not bouncy works good with stock shocks not like a coilover that bounce like hell. 2.)Agressive look....the drop is awesome i think i got about 2F and 1.70R. 3.)i did a plus 3 on rim/tire so it works good igot 17's rims machine lip. 4.)easy installation 2 hours... compressing the stock spring is a beep! ... 5.)the price is awesome

Weakness:

none so far ...hey its a high quality spring! not adjustable thats it.

H&R sports spring are awesome they gave me about (agressive drop) 2.0 drop Front (1.7 as advertised). but it was ok not to low not to high. great improvement on acceleration and handling.

Similar Products Used:

stock sucks to high

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 01, 2004]
hansel
Model Reviewed: Honda Civic EX

Strength:

Great handling and ride.

Weakness:

Drop lower than advertised. Would have been pissed if I didn't have my height adjustable struts because my 17" rims rub against my fender.

Nice drop. Smooth ride compared to my generic Maxspeed coilovers. Great handling. Minimizes body roll. The advertised drop was 1.75" in the front but looks more like 2.25".

Similar Products Used:

Maxspeed coilovers = BAD You get what you pay for!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 01, 2004]
jajimo
Model Reviewed: Honda Accord EX Sedan

Strength:

Excellent Look. Inexpensive. Quality. Improved Handling.

Weakness:

Slightly Bouncy on Stock Shocks. Aftermarket Shocks semi-recommended.

I just installed these myself, and although getting the stock springs off sucked, installation of the H&Rs was great. The car looks excellent, although I think it was dropped more than the 2" advertised. The ride is okay, but kind of bumpy for me. I will probably replace the struts in the future. I would highly recommend these springs to anyone with an Accord.

Similar Products Used:

Stock Springs! Yay!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 51  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com